Customer Reviews for

The Old Willis Place: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST BOOK EVER!

I'm an 11 year old girl, and I loved this book! It was a ghost story, a super scary one at that! It was also filled with adventure. In give this book 2 huge thumbs up!!

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book

This books seems like a good book. I'm about to read it now. I love ghost bools and mystery books.

posted by NerdSwagga1243 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!

    I'm an 11 year old girl, and I loved this book! It was a ghost story, a super scary one at that! It was also filled with adventure. In give this book 2 huge thumbs up!!

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    awesome book must read

    Diana and Georgie have been living in Oak Hill Manor better known as The Old Willis Place, left by Lillian Willis over 10 years ago. Rules and re gulations have kept them locked up there ever since the bad thing happened. When new caretakers arrive Diana is willing to break the rules for once in her life, to finally find a friend. Can she do it or will the rules interfere once again. ¿The Old Willis Place¿ by Mary Downing Hahn, is a spooky fantasy story with spin chilling flashbacks. This book is a cliff hanger, can¿t wait to read, page turner. The theme of this book is trust, regret, forgiveness, hope, perseverance and love. It will change your complete point of view on people but most importantly love and how precious it is. Over 2 million copies sold this book is great, and over ten awards won for just this book some of the names of the awards are the ALA reviewers choice award and a other award is Best book Library of Children¿s Congress Mary is a professional spooky book writer. This isn¿t Mary¿s only book there are several more she has written four of them are Wait Till Helen Comes, Time for Andrew, Deep and Dark and Dangerous and last but not least The Ghost of Crutchfield Hall. Mary¿s most famous quote is ¿you look back on some little decision you made it could be whether you sit or stand but no what you will reflect on that decision for the rest of your life. Mary Downing Hahn gets the idea for her books by previous experiences in her life, stories passed down for friends and family and by movies and people that have given her inspiration. She has been writing scary books for over 20 years, but has been writing books for 40 years. Mary is currently retired living in Maryland and has 2 grown up daughters. Her last book was made in 2010, it was also a ginormous hit and won many awards. Mary Downing Hahn uses lots of colorful language for example, the front lawn was a field of knee high weeds and thistles the size of small trees. Paint peeled from the front door and wood trim. The steps and porch had rotted long ago. Shutters hung crooked from the boarded windows; some had fallen off and leaned against the house. Slates from the roof littered the yard. Two tall double chimneys tilted to the right, giving the place an un-stable look, as if it might topple over at any moment in a tumble of bricks. I would recommend this book too detectives like me who love a good mystery. It will leave an impression on you for the rest of your life. If you like this book you will like The Old Willis Place you will also like the book The Hunger Games. I think this book is an amazing, fast passed thriller that will make you never want to put down the book. It has a shocking surprise twist that will lock you up with thoughts that you will never forget.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    One of my favorite authors!

    Mary Downing Hahn is one of my favorite authors! Her books have amazing twists and turns. This book is an amazing book that ends in a way you will never expect. If you like this book I also recommend Deep and Dark and Dangerous, Wait Till Helen Comes, All the Lovely Bad Ones, and The Ghost at Crutchfield Hall ( all by Mary Downing Hahn also). I have read all of these books too. They are great as well.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Hello

    It's the coolest book I've heard of in the whole universe and I think the texture is great too!!!! I love to sort my fav books and then tell them that I don't so they don't think I'm a maniac! It's also fun to make funny words out of it and draw pictures that you think might happen!! Thanks for listening!! Have a great day!!!!!!

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    it was a very good book and don't worry, it wasn't scary!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    A Chilling Ghost Story

    This was a great ghost story that was very suspenseful. The author does a great job at dropping subtle clues to the reader that the two children are ghosts and not real children! I couldn't put it down! Exciting until the very end!

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good

    Good read couldn't put it down

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    This book wasnt the general spooky.

    I like it better when mary downing hahns books just chill u 2 the bone.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    scary

    This was the first book of hers that i had read and i loved it so much that i went online and bought all of her books. She is my favorite author and im currently reading witch catcher.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    I absolutley love this book. It will be worth your money!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    "The Old Willis Place" by Mary Downing Hahn was a very interesting, suspenseful, and scary . well there are many ways to describe this amazing book and when I was reading it I kept thinking in my head "what's going to happen next". Even when my eyes were so tired from reading I could not put it down, when I was finally finished with this book I actually did not really want it to end, I wanted the story to go on. I recommend this book to anyone that loves a good mystery that always leaves you hanging and constantly leaves you asking questions. One of the main questions I really wanted to be answered was what is the "bad thing" that Diana and Georgie would never speak of? For example in the book Georgie asked Diana to tell him the story about the two of them, Diana told him how they were very happy and they lived on a farm. She also told him that they had their own bicycles, lots of books, warm beds and plenty of sweets to eat. And then she started telling him about their parents how their father always used to take them fishing and their mother used to read to them every night, Georgie was enjoying the story of their past until Diana said "those were the best times, except for Miss Lilian". Then Georgie freaked out, covered his ears and said "stop Diana! Don't tell the bad part "and then ran off. This book has personally taught me that when you have people like your friends and family you have to cherish them because they could be gone one day and you will not have them anymore.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    4TH GRADERS READ TOO

    Its an amazing book. Im almost 10 and i love it. The person who said shes almost 11 and she doesnt like it grow up and quit crying ya baby. Stupid girl. Shes an amazin author. Youve got to read her books. I say if you not a stupid baby like her and youre in lets say 2nd grade or up you should like totally read her terrific wonderful amazing works of art of books. If this was art shed be someone like Vermeer or Van gouh or Warhal or you know sombody really smart and extremely good at what they do. This author has an exciting fantastic great terrific amazing fine excuzine beautiful taste in books. YOU HAVE TO READ HER BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I swear to you they are terrific. Gotta love them.

    I

    K
    N
    O
    W

    I

    T
    O
    T
    A
    L
    L
    Y

    D
    O

    A
    N
    D

    S
    O

    W
    I
    L
    L

    Y
    O
    U
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    A really great story with many twists. Once you start reading you won't want to stop.

    It is about a boy and girl who seem lost in time. They live in a community full of elderly people called Oak Hill Manor, and their names are Georgie and Diana. They don't seem to remember much of their past, but they live by these mysterious rules: don't come into contact with the people of Oak Hill Manor, and don't ever go near the Old Willis Place. Then a new girl moves there with her father the new caretaker. They meet the girl and become friends with her. She likes to do new things and explore. So this is where it all starts to take a twist. I thought it was a great book, and if you like a chilling story this is the one for you. It's truly a great book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    What A Book!

    Brother and Sister, Diana and Georgie are two kids living alone in their woods. They have been together for years and have seen many caretakers come and go, and the world age, and change around them. Bound by 'the rules' Diana and Georgie is band from leaving the Willis Place land. Then one day a new caretaker, Mr. Morrison and his daughter Lissa move in and Diana starts to question the rules. For Lissa is Diana's age and they are both so desperate for a friend. A new caretaker moves in and he has a daughter that is the same age as Diana. Lissa, the new caretaker's daughter is the perfect friend for Diana but Diana is not allowed to be seen by others. Georgie tries to stop Diana but she introduces herself to Lissa anyways. Diana has never been happier on the Willis land but she knows that there are consequences to what she has done. Lissa is extremely interested in Mrs. Willis's house. The house is old and rundown. Plus that's the house that Mrs. Willis died in. Forced by Lissa, Diana and Lissa go into the old home and release Mrs. Willis's ghost from the house.
    The Old Willis Place is probably one of the most incredible books I have ever read. I could never put it down. It was scary, sad, heartwarming and suspenseful. The character s were so well done. You literally felt as if you knew them personally. You lived their lives, you experienced what they experienced. Their fear became your own. By the time the book ended you were shocked, glad, and also sad that the book had to end and that you had to part with your precious characters. The book changed the way I thought and looked at things. It's hard to say more without giving anything away, so I will just say that this book was absolutely incredible!
    The characters in the end learned to love, forgive, and forget. I cried and the outcome and was so incredibly shocked at the truth behind it all. I loved this book so much that I have recommended it to almost all of my friends and I recommend it to anyone else that reads this. It will change the way you look at things without a doubt. It will teach you a lesson like no other. And you will certainly not forget it. This book is like no other, and really enjoyed it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    mysterous

    I thought this book is awsome cause i thought it was mysterous and entertaing and at the end mysterous

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    RWAD IT IF YOU LIKE MARY XDD

    I read the first few pages then put it down. I needed something to read so i picked it back up. I DO NOT REGRET IT! its been a while since ive read this book, but i remember that i loved it so then i bought a copy from the school library three years later! XD

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    This

    This is sooooooooo good my teacher read it to the class in forth grade soooooooo good the best book ever and i mean it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good book not scary more like mystery

    I read this a while ago but it was really good.not scary at all just mysterious.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<3

    Best book of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    We Don't Need Any Stinking Rules!

    The Old Willis place by Mary Downing is a very good book that you won't be able to put down. This book is about two kids a brother and a sister. These two kids live in the woods on a farm in a shed. These kids have rules that just appear like magic that they have to follow. They also have a very big secret that can't tell anyone. One day a girl named Lisa moves in and the two kids decide to break a rule and talk to her. Since they broke one rule they kept breaking more rules and weird stuff was happening to them, and may kept happening to them if they don't do something. So who are these to mysterious kids, why do they have mysterious rules, where are they from, what is there big secret, what can and will they do to stop all the weird stuff from happening. This is a very good book I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12