Customer Reviews for

Old Yeller

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(297)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Check it out!

This book is about a dog and his owner who go through many encounters of danger. The boy in this story Travis had a dog before old yeller but that dog died. The boy Travis his dad is going out West to find work and travis must be the man of the house. He has to do all...
This book is about a dog and his owner who go through many encounters of danger. The boy in this story Travis had a dog before old yeller but that dog died. The boy Travis his dad is going out West to find work and travis must be the man of the house. He has to do all the jobs his father did and take care of his little brother and put food on the table. When Travis gets this new dog he doesn't think he will like it because it reminds him of his old dog. But as time time goes by you will find out that Travis really loves this dog and will do anything to make sure its alright and is not harmed. The ending will bring tears to your eyes.
I am judging this book to other books. This book Is a classic book that you would really enjoy if you like books about adventure and sorrow.
This book reaches its goals of trying to get you to keep flipping the pages. This is a great book
This would be a great book for you and your family that if you would read it im sure you would enjoy

posted by 7532194 on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Old yeller rocks!

This book is a sad emotional story but i have got to say it was great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 409 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Check it out!

    This book is about a dog and his owner who go through many encounters of danger. The boy in this story Travis had a dog before old yeller but that dog died. The boy Travis his dad is going out West to find work and travis must be the man of the house. He has to do all the jobs his father did and take care of his little brother and put food on the table. When Travis gets this new dog he doesn't think he will like it because it reminds him of his old dog. But as time time goes by you will find out that Travis really loves this dog and will do anything to make sure its alright and is not harmed. The ending will bring tears to your eyes.
    I am judging this book to other books. This book Is a classic book that you would really enjoy if you like books about adventure and sorrow.
    This book reaches its goals of trying to get you to keep flipping the pages. This is a great book
    This would be a great book for you and your family that if you would read it im sure you would enjoy

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Classic

    This is a very good book thats about love and friendship i love it one of my favorites ever

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Old Yeller

    Who was Old Yeller? Old Yeller is a stray, ugly, and a thieving dog. Old Yeller protected Travis' family. Travis' dad is away for 4 months. Old Yeller and Travis developed a very special bond.
    Travis is not Yellers real owner. His family found him at their house chasing their horses. He was a strong and courageous dog. Yeller was a big help on the wild Texas frontier.
    Old Yeller protected Travis' family from any kind of danger. He protected them from a coyote. Yeller was my favorite character. He was an excellent guard dog.
    I connect to this book because Old Yeller is just like my dog dog Emma. They both steal things. I love Emma just the way Travis loved Yeller.
    I recommend you to read this book by Fred Gipson to people of all ages. It is a very classical book. The book is about a dog that helps a family. I think people will enjoy it the same way I did.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Sad but good

    Sad!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Feb 11 2012

    I just love this book! It is sad that they have to put him down.
    :( I do recommed this book.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great book

    But old yeller had to stay there while Travis went to get the donkey to carry him out. This Old yeller is about a boy named Travis who wants a horse but gets a dog he can hardly stand to look at sight.
    Description and summary of main points
    Introduction
    Old yeller willingly risks his life countless times for Travis, and they become best pals.
    Evaluation
    Most other people will say the same about this book.
    Conclusion
    I enjoyed this book and I think you will to.
    Your final review
    Old yeller is about a boy named Travis. Who wants a horse and gets a dog he can hardly stand to look at at first site his dad leaves to go out west for a little bit. They go hunting e few times and old yeller risks his life countless times for Travis.
    One time a bear comes around the house and old yeller saves Travis’s life. Another time they get into a fight with a boar and they both get badly cut up.
    book ends very sadly so do NOT read it if you don’t like sad books.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Sad but i love it

    This book is sad. It one of my fav books. Now all i have to do is find the movie. Soooooooooooo sad but good. It is a classic. My mom and dad never read this book. I love it. Now that i have a nook i am a bookworm. Read this book if you r not afrid to cry.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Read it. Right now.

    I've read this book quite a bit, and I never get tired of reading it. Its a real tearjerker... but I love the compassion and the love that Travis feels for Yeller. Travis had to hold down the job of being man of the house while his dad is gone, and one day Yeller showed up. In the beginning, Travis had no patience for Yeller. But as Yeller became part of the family, he protected Arliss from wild animals. I must say that I found it hilarious that the youngster threw rocks at Travis when he kicked the dog. I didnt find the kicking very funny, but the fact that Arliss got angry and went after Travis with rocks and later a stick (one of the ones from the old days that was used to beat the dirt out of clothing) made me chuckle. The story flow was smooth. The language actually makes you visualize whats happening as you read along. Yeller was called Yeller for 2 reasons. Firstly, yeller is actually a color- kind of a dirty yellow. And the second reason is that whenever he barked, he sounded like he was yelling. Its a very heartwarming story, and I recommend it for all ages. The first time I read it was when I was in 3rd grade. I'm a freshman in highschool now, and Ive reread it many times. Absolute favorite book ever. READ IT. NOW. :3

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Old Yeller is a story of hope, adventure, and heart.

    “We call him Old Yeller. The name had a sort of double meaning. One part meant that his short hair was a dingy yellow, a color that we called “yeller” in those days. The other meant that when he opened his head, the sound he let out came closer to being a yell than a bark.” That is the dog that has been through everything, Old Yeller. Old Yeller is a dog of adventure. He is always getting into trouble, but is a wonderful dog to the family. There is so much that happens with Old Yeller around. For example, “The man’s name was Burn Sanderson. He told Mama who he was. He said that he had come from down San Antonio.” Burn Sanderson came looking for Old Yeller. Old Yeller supposedly was his lost dog, and he wanted him back. In this book you go through the crazy life of Old Yeller. At the end of the book, I was so connected to Old Yeller I cried. It was like letting a best friend go. Every page was full of great detail. The book takes you back in time when things were a lot different. I felt like I was on all the adventures of that “yeller” colored dog. Old Yeller shows that letting things go always comes in life, it doesn’t just happen to one person it happens to everyone. Old Yeller is a story of hope, adventure, and heart.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Old yeller rocks!

    This book is a sad emotional story but i have got to say it was great.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Thise book is awsome but sad too i just got on page10

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    The Good Book

    It was a good book but itbwas sad. But made a goodblife point and it made alot of ppl cry

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    So sad but so good

    Old Yeller is about a dog that has a very loving family. He helps protect the whole family and while doing it he gets very sick. Good story but ending in very sad. Worth reading.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Sad ):

    A great book but sad ):

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Old Yeller

    A really good book that expresses love for animals and how u can come to love them just as if theh were part of your family!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Love it

    This is one my favorites..... the first time i read it was with my nana.... the next day she passed away. :( the book i read with her now lays on her grave in Fort Lauderdale Florida..... Great book. I definetly recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Luv it!!

    I love this book. It was really sad, but I still love it. I held back my tears when Travis shot Old Yeller. And when your 9 years old, it's really hard to do!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Sad

    So sad!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    O Yes I LOVEEEEE IT <3333

    It made me cry when they had to put him down. This story make me very emotional. I give it 5 stars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Really heart warming book

    This is a great book if you love dogs. It had me crying too. Great book and also has a hood laugh! Totally reccomended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 409 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21