Customer Reviews for

Old Yeller

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Check it out!

This book is about a dog and his owner who go through many encounters of danger. The boy in this story Travis had a dog before old yeller but that dog died. The boy Travis his dad is going out West to find work and travis must be the man of the house. He has to do all...
This book is about a dog and his owner who go through many encounters of danger. The boy in this story Travis had a dog before old yeller but that dog died. The boy Travis his dad is going out West to find work and travis must be the man of the house. He has to do all the jobs his father did and take care of his little brother and put food on the table. When Travis gets this new dog he doesn't think he will like it because it reminds him of his old dog. But as time time goes by you will find out that Travis really loves this dog and will do anything to make sure its alright and is not harmed. The ending will bring tears to your eyes.
I am judging this book to other books. This book Is a classic book that you would really enjoy if you like books about adventure and sorrow.
This book reaches its goals of trying to get you to keep flipping the pages. This is a great book
This would be a great book for you and your family that if you would read it im sure you would enjoy

posted by 7532194 on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Old yeller rocks!

This book is a sad emotional story but i have got to say it was great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Sad but good

    Sad!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Foek

    It wad so goos

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    good

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Old Yeller Fred Gipson
    Title of review: Great book
    Number of stars (1 to 5): ****

    Introduction When you start to read the book it is boring. But if you keep reading then it turns into a exciting book. When they find old yeller at first he has stolen the meat. Travis wants to get rid of him but momma wants to keep him for Arliss.

    Description and summary of main points Some main points of the book were when Arliss almost got attacked by a momma bear. And another one is when Travis and old yeller get attacked by hogs.

    Evaluation I felt that it was a great book and should be read by everyone. One part that I really like is when Travis's mom said "Well have to try to figure some way to keep him from prowling. Everyone in the settlement will be made at use if we don't.

    Conclusion You might ; at first, think the book is a boring book. But if you keep reading the book then you will change your mind. But if you don't then you don't like the book.

    Your final review I loved it!!!!!! ?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    bn nbhvjvb

    this book is truly amzing and im ten too

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    old yeller

    The Old Yeller book is about a very brave and nice dog. He is a black mouth cur. Most people would not guess that that is what kind he is. That is quite a popular dog in dead. But everyone should read the book.

    The old yeller dog was very protective of his family. Especially the boy he spent most time with. The dog was very courageous. He stood by his family through thick and thin. He would die for the people he loved and I think that's great.

    The book is highly recommended. It is a book that everyone has to read at least once in their life. It is a good book for all ages. I myself read it when I was little and to this very day it is one of my all time favorite book. It's good because it keeps you entertained on your seat in the moment. All of those things and more it's got happy sad almost every emotion one could think of. So if your looking for a good novel it is a good one.

    This is a good book to read. It is worth the time in my opinion. You should spend time with a good book and this is the one that I think that you will enjoy very much. So in conclusion you should definitely read the book.

    I gave the book four stars because of the detail of the great story. It ended up sad witch I didn't like. It disappointed me very much so. So to tell you the absolute truth about the great book you will have to read it and find out how good the book is yourself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Cool book

    Old yeller is the best book ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    by cd

    Read this book before and loved it. I can't wait till I read it gain. Sad book but so worth the tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Response

    I cried :'S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Old yeller

    Very good book so far i am at th part where little arliss is cluching a baby black bears leg and doent know what to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Is this the whole book?

    It seems kinda short to me. Love it but why is it free? Respond to Teylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Old Yeller Spoiler alert

    Sweet..Sad when Yeller gets shot at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Awsome in a sad way

    Sad but good....tear jerker for dog lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    It was a book about loyalty,courage and a boy and his love for his dog!

    It is a great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Help n review

    Pretty good but didnt like endibg! Can someone give me a summary?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Old yeller

    This book is so sad.I wish i haven't read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    SO GOOD

    Such a good book! It is a classic book too! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A really nice story

    My daughter likes stories that have a good moral tone and a life's lesson. This book was very sweet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Old Yeller

    Old Yeller is a great book. It is about a stray dog who comes around to a families cabin. At first the oldest boy Travis didn't like the dog, but his little brother Ollis did. He named the dog Yeller because the dogs fur was very yellow in color. Old Yeller was the best hunting dog there ever was in the west. After a while Travis started to like Yeller. Travis took Yeller everywhere, and Ollis even took Yeller fishing and caught a catfish. But one day Travis took Yeller hog hunting. When Travis looped a small hog, he fell in to a big herd of boar. Travis got a deep gash in his right leg. Yeller tried to save him but the hogs ate him up to. Travis got his mother and Ollis to help Yeller. A few days later a man came by their cabin. He said Yeller was his. But Ollis didn't like that so he started rockin that man with stones and sticks. The man said that he would trade Ollis the dog for a horn toad. It turns out Ollis had a horn toad in his pocket. The mother fed the man and off he went. That night while a bonfire was going on a wolf tried to jump the mother and a friend. Yeller was fighting that wolf with everything he had. She yelled at Travis to get his gun. When he got out there Old Yeller was giving his all. Travis had to wait for a good shot to kill the wolf. POW... Travis got the wolf. After the next few days Yeller was acting funny. He had hydrophobie or rabies. Travis pinned him up in a chiken coop. Then that night the mother told Ollis not to mess with Yeller because he was sick. But sure enough Ollis being and eager beaver he tried to let yeller out. Luckily Travis cought him in time. Poor Yeller was suffering. So Travis had to something very heartbreaking. He shot Old Yeller to put him out of his missery. They burried him on a hill not to far from the house. I really liked this story. It is one of my favs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Old Yeller

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Old Yeller by: Fred Gipson
    Title of review: Old Yeller
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 to 5

    Introduction
    This book is about a boy named Travis, and his little brother who wanted a dog. At first Travis didn't want anything to do with him, until he got hooked on to him, by hunting and providing food for his family. Travis loved Old Yeller and would probably kill for him.

    Description and summary of main points
    Travis always was doing chores for his family as well as hunting and fishing, while his little brother plays around doing the small chores. Travis's mom would always cook and clean the house, while Travis's dad works, making money for the family.

    Evaluation
    The setting in this book would be the old western times, when their wasn't any electricity, and when there were horses as travel, lakes to wash clothes in, and all the clothes had to be hand made by their moms. Some of the main characters are Travis and his parents, Arliss his little brother, and old Yeller. The problem in the story is when Old Yeller tries to fight off a hungry wolf and gets bitten. Travis and his mom then realize that Old Yeller has rabies, and is forced to stay in an old shed near the house, since there aren't any veterinarians. Soon when the rabies get worst Travis is forced to shoot his best friend .Old Yeller.

    Conclusion
    In conclusion Travis loves Old Yeller and would kill for him. They do just about every thing together, like hunting fishing, and even some little things around the house his mother asks him to do.
    Until the tragic event, when a hungry wolf comes by and bites Old Yeller. Soon enough the family finds out that Old Yeller has rabies, and Travis, his best friend, is forced to shoot and kill Old Yeller.

    Your final review
    This touching story about a dog named Old Yeller and his beloved best friend, Travis. At first Travis couldn't stand the ugly dog until Old Yeller helped the family by, proving he could defend for all of them no matter what. And that is when Travis realizes that Old Yeller can be trusted, and eventually they start hunting, fishing, and doing everything together.
    Until one night a hungry wolf comes on the Texas Frontier were Travis and his family lives, and attacks Old Yeller, biting him I the neck. Then Travis's mom then realizes that Old Yeller has rabies and Travis is forced to shoot and kill his best friend.

    My overall comments on this toughing story about mans best friend is that it should be read for anyone the age 10 and up. I would give it a 4 out of 5 rating. I also believe that it could be an educational, yet humorous book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Old Yeller

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Old Yeller, Fred Gibson

    Title of review: Old Yeller

    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction: A young boy, Travis gets attached to an old yeller dog. They hunt and play and sleep together, what would he do if he lost him?

    Description and summary of main plots: He got old yeller, then he taught him to hunt, he helped him in every way, he would kill for Travis. One day he was protecting his family and got bit by a wolf that had rabies, Travis had to shoot him; he was devastated.

    Evaluation: Travis loves his dog, and he never wanted to lose him, but he had to do what he had to do.

    Conclusion: Travis wanted a horse and when his father came home he brought him a horse, but Travis was so devastated over old yeller he couldn't show the real emotion he felt for the horse.

    Your final review: This was a really good book. It had exciting points and very sad ones; it was very good over all.

    Lydia Murray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3