Customer Reviews for

The Old Folks At Home

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

GOOD READ

I really liked this book. It is an easy-to-read mystery with a little humor thrown in. I am 22 and although the main character is 79, I felt like I was there beside him. This book is very well written with few gramatical errors and few dull moments. A must read!

posted by Victoria89 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I am finding this book to be just okay. Not boring enough for me

I am finding this book to be just okay. Not boring enough for me to put it down, but certainly not that entertaining either. There doesn't seem to be much of a plot other than an elderly couple moves into an retirement complex and the husband is suspicious that somethin...
I am finding this book to be just okay. Not boring enough for me to put it down, but certainly not that entertaining either. There doesn't seem to be much of a plot other than an elderly couple moves into an retirement complex and the husband is suspicious that something is not right in the Assisted Living and Care Center Wings. I am almost through with the book and I am just now at the point where I am mildly curious to see how it will end.  If you are looking for truly engrossing reading, this isn't it.

posted by Torisaunt on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    For Lovers of Cozy Mystery Sci Fi.

    As lighthearted as a mystery can be and still include death, dying, and elder care problems. Seriously. Enjoyable, effortless reading experience disguises real and potential societal problems with a cozy veneer. If you're a true mystery fan, try it, you'll like it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Delighful story

    Enjoyed it and recomend it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Good read

    This was a good story. I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, because it went in a direction which I hadn't expected. There was great closure to the book as well. Some stories leave you wanting more and leave you wondering, but not this one! Highly recommend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Cute and quick

    Easy read, some good laughs and slightly predictable mystery, but worth the time to enjoy the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Good read

    Great little story with a fun twist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great book

    I got it to see if I would like it but when i started reading it I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Enjoyed it.

    It went from a cute story about aging adults to a mystery and
    then went a bit bizaar at the end. But all in all was enjoyable.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    An enjoyable read, well written and well edited. I'm ready for

    An enjoyable read, well written and well edited. I'm ready for my next Barry Friedman book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Fun

    While predictable, this is an enjoyable, quick read. I enjoyed Henry's sarcastic wit. I would read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Good

    Great story - almost believable! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    I love Henry is a pistol. For an elderly gentleman he is full o

    I love Henry is a pistol. For an elderly gentleman he is full of questions until he gets to the bottom of things. If you like mysteries this is a good book. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Hillarious!

    I went into medicine as a unitclerk in a hospital 30 years ago. This guy reminds me of the old school docs from way back then. Funny antedotes told in a voice that makes you feel like an insider to what happens on the other side of the stethescope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great mystery story for senior citizens.

    This was a great mystery for seniors (like me), although it does substantiate fear of going to a retirement center. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Quick read..

    This was a fun read .. really made you think about retirement homes..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Makes me think twice

    I tought a retirement community might be nice. I may have to rethink it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Please bring back Henry!

    This was a wonderful read. Very light hearted and funny considering the ending. The main character is interesting and easy to relate to. this would make for a wonderful series. RMG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    recommend

    It was a fun easy book, very entertaining. A nice quick read. Really enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Smb

    Good light reading. Predictable but amusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    lighthearted and entertaining.

    Being in "that age group" I found the author's view quite humorous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Somewhat scarry considering Obamacare.

    The book was an easy day read. The sci fi is essily overlooked as the story line deals with Seniors. The facility could easily be construed with the "death squads" that have been discussed in length. Just wonder if things will get this bad as medical treatment can get very scarce for the terminally ill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2