Customer Reviews for

Oliver Twist: (200th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Charles Dickens and the poor

Charles Dickens uses the novel Oliver Twist similarly to his many other novels to portray the life of the poor through the struggle of the main character. Oliver Twist is a bast@rd child who is forced into an orphanage (workhouse) for the poor. He eventually runs off an...
Charles Dickens uses the novel Oliver Twist similarly to his many other novels to portray the life of the poor through the struggle of the main character. Oliver Twist is a bast@rd child who is forced into an orphanage (workhouse) for the poor. He eventually runs off and gets tangled up with a group of other poor children who steal for their leader in crime Fagin. While there, he learns the tricks of the trade and also discovers that it is not the life for him and struggles to get out. Charles Dickens does an excellent job of ridiculing the upper and middle class for their treatment of the poor, while delivering an excellent story about the adventures of Oliver Twist.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not the whole book

This version is only the first half of the book, I believe.

posted by 9910707 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Charles Dickens and the poor

    Charles Dickens uses the novel Oliver Twist similarly to his many other novels to portray the life of the poor through the struggle of the main character. Oliver Twist is a bast@rd child who is forced into an orphanage (workhouse) for the poor. He eventually runs off and gets tangled up with a group of other poor children who steal for their leader in crime Fagin. While there, he learns the tricks of the trade and also discovers that it is not the life for him and struggles to get out. Charles Dickens does an excellent job of ridiculing the upper and middle class for their treatment of the poor, while delivering an excellent story about the adventures of Oliver Twist.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    A young boy born in a filthy English work house.

    This story is about a young boy named Oliver Twist born in a work house in the mid 1800's. A work house is like todays orphange. This work house was very dirty and their was never enough to eat. Oliver is just a shy boy who can not take the harsh conditions of the work house. Oliver runs to London only to fall in with a croud of a youth pickpocket gang led by the crimnal Mr. Fagin. Oliver befriends some one in the gang, and finds his true identity, and gets his long over due inhairtence. This book is a classic Dickens book filled with action and suspence. I would give it 4 stars.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I <3 Charles Dickens

    My second Dickens work was not quite the ecstatic experience my first was, but it was still amazing. He does have a different sentence structure and they do tend to run on, but when you're done and you reflect on what you just read ... it was well worth the effort!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Oliver Twist

    This story is a pretty much unabriged story compared to all the other Oliver Twist books I've read. A great book. Makes sense and does not have the word sense of Charles Dickens. I recommend this book for readers ages 9-23. As soon as you pick up this book you will not want to put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    America

    She pulled away and grabbed his hand, going to their book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    You

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    lil                                              where r u from?

    lil                                              where r u from? its almost 1 in cali so im just starting to get tired... :P cali benefits! * pulls out a drink wishing it wasnt virtual*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    America

    "It's good. And you?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Stables/Arena and Pet park

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    A b c d e f g h i j

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good book

    I am a middle school boy with the attention span of a squirrel so this book was a PAIN to read for enlish clas but once it males sense i wiuld reccomwnd it folater teenagers than i. Overall amazing book amd D ickens never fails bit if youre honna buy it be preparedto devote some time to it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Oliver Twist

    Charles Dickens is a truly incredible writer, with his insatiable detail to character and plots, but I would only recommend this book to somebody with spare time on their hands and a large vocabulary (or to someone who doesnt mind constantly tending to their dictionary). It is truly a great story, but I personally believe it's a little before our time. The plot twists and turns are great though; you never seem to know what, exactly, is going to happen next. The book in itself is very moving, pity for poor Oliver tends to overcome the reader. It also lets you experience life as a pauper in England in the 1830's, and the industrial revolution. Not only this, but how could the poor orphan, Oliver, make his life come together, after being rattled ever since birth? The only way to find out is to read the book (should you have the time and vocabulary) or perhaps watch the movie, which I would recommend for younger fans of Dickens... Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Blissful Life

    A classic literature novel that must be on your lifelong reading list. Oliver, the main character, is used to show the life of an orphan longing for a home to have a blissful life with a loving family. From the time he is born till the end, he is facing dramatic obstacles some rare and some incredible. He had a place in life but he did not know it from the beginning. All he was known as was a naughty boy, which he was not able to conceive of why. He let himself settle anyway he could in any part of his life that would let him. He knew the meaning of yearning for a comfortable home and he wants to find his place in this life time. He was unfortunately subjected to a life of a thief, but with his good intentions he tried to run away from it. Yet one has to remember that Oliver is the protagonist of the story, he only has good intentions and he wants to find the right people that will lead his life to the right path. The famous quote ¿please sir I want some more¿ is the line that makes us distinguish what book this is. I am sure many people have heard this. Why not find out what this classical literature quote is about. Remember though, if you are not very fond of the 1800¿s language it might not be the right book for you. I struggled a little bit trying to understand the chronological order of events that were happening during the book. Just remember to keep your characters straight you will be able to get through the book with delight and an additional experience for a reader¿s mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    A great book

    I thought that Oliver Twist was a great book. It is set in England in the 1830¿s (the industrial revolution). It is about a boy named Oliver Twist whose mother died right after giving birth. He is put into a baby orphanage where they make them work hard and don¿t give then a lot of food. He eventually escapes and joins a group of pickpockets. I don¿t want to give away anymore of the book so I am going to leave you with one thought, what would you if you were a young kid and had to deal with people watching your every move and makes sure you are loyal to them? Well with that said, I hope that you will read this book. Don¿t worry you won¿t regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Please sir, I want some more

    More polemical than Hard Times, the characters are well-developed and its protagonist, the young Oliver, multi-dimensional. A must read for any serious student of literature. My professor, Andrew Elfenbein (Byron and the Victorians), actually spent a summer visiting a workhouse in Cambridge during the 1980s. This book will, like Uncle Tom's Cabin, make you think...and FEEL...as you read about the sordid history of Victorian England's attempts at what were deemed by its adherents as 'progressive' reforms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    An easy read after A Tale of Two Cities.

    I liked Oliver Twist much more than A Tale of Two Cities because it was smoother to read and didn't seem as long. Dickens' reined in his use of endless descriptions that were so common in Two Cities. I could see Oliver and the other charaters as they went about doing what they did during the story. I loved the fact that Dickens kept his theme of redemption throughout the story. Even if it was a bit different from previous characters from other books of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Good

    this book was slow in parts but other than that it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2