Customer Reviews for

Oliver Twist (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3285)

4 Star

(500)

3 Star

(257)

2 Star

(135)

1 Star

(224)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Oliver Twist lives up to it's name.

After years of people telling me how great this book was I decided to read it to see what all the fuss was about. It turned out that it lived up to my expectations. This book is well written and a classic story about an orphan and his surrounding characters. There is...
After years of people telling me how great this book was I decided to read it to see what all the fuss was about. It turned out that it lived up to my expectations. This book is well written and a classic story about an orphan and his surrounding characters. There is drama, fear, compasion, and so many more emotions Dickens put into this novel. It's a good read; you won't be disapointed!

posted by readingissexy23 on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I am a good, fast reader but the thing is with this book the senetences are paragraphs, so you know it is pretty hard to read. However this book is really good. It teaches good lessons and stuff like that. I would totaly recommend it (as long as you can read the LONGEST...
I am a good, fast reader but the thing is with this book the senetences are paragraphs, so you know it is pretty hard to read. However this book is really good. It teaches good lessons and stuff like that. I would totaly recommend it (as long as you can read the LONGEST sentences in THE world)! If you are into good books with long sentences try The Adventures and the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. Just simply amazing books try Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Twilight (good higher level vocabulary).
Note I am a 11 year old so the vocab is higher level for me!

posted by SimplyAmazing on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    I am a good, fast reader but the thing is with this book the senetences are paragraphs, so you know it is pretty hard to read. However this book is really good. It teaches good lessons and stuff like that. I would totaly recommend it (as long as you can read the LONGEST sentences in THE world)! If you are into good books with long sentences try The Adventures and the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. Just simply amazing books try Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Twilight (good higher level vocabulary).<BR/>Note I am a 11 year old so the vocab is higher level for me!

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Oliver Twist

    I liked this book very much. I love Oliver; I feel so much sympathy for him. He had such

    a terrible life growing up. I felt like I wanted to just jump into the book and give Oliver a hug. I

    also love how surprising the ending is. I was not expecting to find out that Monks was Oliver¿s

    half brother. I had no clue at all. It was amazing how all of the people in the story matched up in

    some way. I was not expecting Rose to be the sister of Oliver¿s mother at all! Rose did

    say something about how she had a strange background, but I was not thinking that she was

    related to Oliver. What I didn¿t like was that all the surprising things happened so close together

    at the end of the book. It was kind of hard to take each shock one after another.

    One of my favorite parts of this book was the romance between Rose and Harry Maylie. I

    was not expecting this to be in a book about an orphan. I loved how it was worked into the story,

    because I am always attracted to books and movies that have a love story. It was a pleasant

    surprise to see it in this book.

    My favorite characters were Mr. Brownlow and Oliver. I loved Oliver because he is just

    such a sweet human being and he always does what he thinks is right. Even when he did attack

    Noah, he did it for a justified reason! No one should be talking badly about someone else¿s

    mother; especially when that person¿s mother is not alive and the person never got to meet their

    mother.

    I loved Mr. Brownlow because he saw the good in Oliver. Mr. Brownlow took Oliver in

    and nursed him to health, even though he was the suspect for stealing a handkerchief that

    belonged to him. He saw that Oliver was an innocent little boy and a good person. When Oliver

    was kidnapped, Mr. Brownlow still wanted to find Oliver. He wanted to get proof that Oliver

    was the good person that he thought he was. He eventually did find him. Overall, I really liked

    this book. It was nothing like I expected it to be, full of so many surprises.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    from nothing to something...

    Oliver Twist is a novel about a boy who is born an orphan and grows up in an unknown city in London around the 1820's. Oliver Twist is a character vs. character and character vs. society based novel. Its main conflict is that Oliver grows up surrounded by poverty but still tries to overcome the expectations and find his true identity. He encounters many people such as: Nancy a young, alcoholic, prostitute; who protects Oliver, which leads to her death, Jack "the Dodger" Dawkins who finds Oliver and introduces him to Fagin; the leader of a gang of thieves,who tries to teach Oliver to pickpocket, Monks who turns out to be Oliver's older half brother and tries to distroy Oliver's chances of inheriting his fair share of money from their family and Mr. Brownlow a whealthy man who takes Oliver in and discovers his true parentage. A rising action scene is when Oliver Twist is taken in by the gang, but refuses to participate in one of their crimes of pickpoketing; this causing a bit of an uproar and Monks and the gang of theives try to hunt young Oliver down while he is being taken care for by Mr. Brownlow and his family. Another is when Nancy meets Mr. Brownlow and Mrs. Maylie at London's bridge to tell them of Monk's plans towards Oliver. I enjoyed reading this novel, and it being one of Charles Dickens' first social protests. It's idea of that people were not born with bad in them, it didn't matter where you were born in; including setting and family social rank. That anybody is capable of becoming anybody and are not immediately evil or a criminal because of where they came from. Oliver Twist's setting, plot, and all around idea was very good but it lacked realism, in my opinion. Oliver's character was unreal as well, he was very sensitive, polite, and likable; but seemed to already know what was right from wrong and he spoke almost properly, considering he was raised uneducated and with little humane respect. However, I still recommend this classical novel to others who are into the dreams coming true genre. It is an uplifting and inspirational story of the underdog being able to fulfill theirs dreams.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Salem to Zane

    Points his pe<e>nis at Zane and squirts urine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Salem

    Tried to poop in a teacup while a chihuahua barks and chews his butt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Salem

    Tried to poop in a teacup while a chihuahua barks and chews his butt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    To Bane

    Ur chest has been sliced open. Godmoder

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Jack the Ripper

    He held up his kn<_>ife. "And l."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Jack blinked warily, 'I guess.' Then tossed a glance at Serena.

    Jack blinked warily, 'I guess.' Then tossed a glance at Serena. 'Can we talk...' He closed His eyes tightly. 'Email, please? It's annoying having to make up B&amp;N Accs...Just..Please? Can we talk. Then you never have to hear from me again.' 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Yes, Zero. My mom knows. Thanks to my siblings. T.T Raz, if you

    Yes, Zero. My mom knows. Thanks to my siblings. T.T Raz, if you see this, I miss you. I gotta go. Maybe I'll post later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    *Lucy sauntered in miserably, her gaze dull.* Why can't my mothe

    *Lucy sauntered in miserably, her gaze dull.* Why can't my mother accept i enjoy roleplaying?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    McKenzie's OOTD for 06/09/14

    TOP: A billowy red and pink floral print spaghetti strap shirt<p>
    BOTTOMS: A pair of denim jean shorts with lace on the pockets<p>
    SHOES: Pink wedge sandals<p>
    HAIR: In gentle curls<p>
    MAKEUP: Mascara, and quiet pink lip gloss<p>
    OTHER: Her gold ring with a pale pink rosebud

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    The Ninja - Kova

    -He shrugged and hung onto Sin's leg as he climbed up the tree.-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Maroon 5 - Daleks (Parody by Umbreo) PLEASE READ!!!

    Here I am waiting, <br>
    I'll have to leave soon, <br>
    Why do I <br>
    Deja vu? <p>
    I knew this day would come, <br>
    I knew they'd follow soon, <br>
    How did they <br>
    Go so fast? <p>
    This could be <br>
    Last chance, <br>
    To survive, <br>
    But you don't even seem to know, <br>
    They are here. <br>
    When they land, <br>
    They will kill every last human. <p>
    And when the DALEKS <br>
    Come I'll have to go. <br>
    To protect the foolish human race. <br>
    And with the DALEKS, <br>
    You'll be on your own, <br>
    So tonight I'm gonna try to save you. <p>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate! <br>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate! <p>
    Here I am staring. <br>
    At the Earth's surface, <br>
    Far below, <br>
    So beautiful. <p>
    The ship is growing near. <br>
    The fleet is closing in, <br>
    I know I, <br>
    Should slow it down. <p>
    This is way, <br>
    Too hard, <br>
    'Cause I know, <br>
    When the ship arrives I will fight, <br>
    This is my, <br>
    Last glance, <br>
    That will soon be memory. <p>
    And when the DALEKS <br>
    Come I'll have to go, <br>
    To protect the foolish human race, <br>
    'Cause with the DALEKS, <br>
    You'll be on your own, <br>
    So tonight I'm going to try to save you. <p>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate! <br>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate. <p>
    I never want it to end, <br>
    Because you can't have to start all over, <br>
    Start all o-ver. <p>
    I was as free as a god, <br>
    But now it's all that I want, <br>
    All that I want, <br>
    All that I want... <p>
    And when the DALEKS come I'll have to go! <br>
    To protect the foolish human race! <br>
    'Cause with the DALEKS, you'll be on your own! <br>
    So tonight I'm gonna try to save you. <p>
    And when the DALEKS come I'll have to go! <br>
    To protect the foolish human race! <br>
    'Cause with the DALEKS, you'll be on your own! <br>
    So tonight I'm gonna try to save you! <p>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate! <br>
    Exterminate! Exterminate! Ex-ter-min-ay-ay-ay-ay-ate! <p>
    The Doctor! The Doctor! The Doctor and his Tar-dis! <br>
    The Doctor! The Doctor! The Doctor and his Tar-dis! <p>
    Exterminate! (Doctor!) Exterminate! (Doctor!) Ex-ter-min-ate the human race! (No!) <br>
    Exterminate! (Doctor!) Exterminate! (Doctor!) Ex-ter-min-ate the human race! <p>
    --- “Daylight” by Maroon 5. Parody written by Umbreo. Please, tell me how I've done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Timber

    "Hi, Hush." She waddled in. The full-grown beaver waved a paw.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Samael - Baby Ridin' (Remix) -

    I'M GON' RIDE<BR>I'M GON' RIDE<BR>I'M GON' RIDE<BR>I'M-I'M GON' RIDE<BR>ON YOUR BABY, ITS FACE MAYBE<BR>ALL-LL-LL NIGHT, ALL-LL-LL NIGHT<BR>I'M GON' FIX YOUR BABY'S FACE, BUT I'LL BE GENTLE<BR>IGNORE THE SCREAMS<BR>HIS FACE GETTIN' SAT ON, I'LL IT SOFTER, SO SQUISHY<BR>OH, YOU'LL SEE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Carrie

    Srry. Ive been great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    To Kenny

    Have you heard anything from David?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Tanner to Caleb

    I promise l would never do that. I will tell you the book so you can keep tabs on me and Batman if you want. She's my best friend. I love Serenity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Matt P

    Walked in...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13