Customer Reviews for

Olive's Ocean

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

olives ocean!

I loved this book and now it is one of my new favorites! even though you never get to talk to olive, it fells like you know her as much as the main charecter, martha. it is a sweet book and i think it should be made into a movie!

posted by gymnast on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cute book

I like it a lot i read it over and over

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the best book ever

    this book inspired me in soooooooooooo many ways

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    olives ocean!

    I loved this book and now it is one of my new favorites! even though you never get to talk to olive, it fells like you know her as much as the main charecter, martha. it is a sweet book and i think it should be made into a movie!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Book

    Olive's Ocean is a realistic fiction book. It is written by the author, Kevin Henkes. This book is a great book. I hope you will learn enough so that u will want to read it.

    Olive's Ocean tells the story of a 13 year old girl named, Martha Boyle. Martha is struggling with the fact that a girl she never really knew but saw at school, was riding her bike when a car hit her and killed her on Monroe Street. The girls name was Olive Barstow.

    Things really took a turn when Martha and her family went on vacation at the ocean. Then Martha starts to like Jimmy Manning, a neighbor boy she used to despise. Martha starts to get mixed feelings but, the whole time she can't stop thinking about Olive Barstow. While at the beach to visit her aunt and uncle, Martha hangs out at the Manning's house a lot and gets to know Jimmy and Tate Manning. Martha's family is very loving at all times.

    During these tough and confusing times Martha, gets the time to find her true self. Kevin Henkes does a fantastic job in writing this book. Henkes involves all the characters well. Henkes also does a great job of describing the characters personality. I have and will continue to tell everyone about this book because if anyone is looking for a good book to read they should try Olive's Ocean.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    A must read!

    I loved this book. I'm 11years old. I think kids in 4th or 5th grade will love it. It really shows how a girl will feel with all going on in her life. Even some of the feelings were same as how i would've felt. Again, i thought this book was great!!!! You must read it!!!i also really hope that we can read this book at school with my friends. it makes you think a lot!

    A MUST READ IS RIGHT HERE!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I had a hard time putting this book down.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best BOOK Ever

    OLIVE'S OCEAN ; Kevin Henkes
    Martha boyle and Olive Barstow were class mates.They could have been friends but they weren't.
    One day Martha's door bell rang it was Olive's mother with a journal page in her hand.Olive's mother said
    Olives died in a car wreck. I found something I think you should have this.It was a journal page Martha
    Opened the sheet of paper and begin to read it the note said ( I wish I could get to know Martha Boyle).After that Martha begin to get up set because was so young to die and Martha really didn't know
    Olive at all.But thaid at their in the same class together Martha father walked in the room and said who was that Martha just no one.
    Martha thought about it all that day but she know she had to pack to go her grandmother's for the summer she was a little bit happer because of that.She walked up stairs and begin to pack some of her things.The next day Martha got in the car begin to travel.Hours went by final she got there.Her grandpa said that every day that she is there is has to tell something about her.
    If you won't to know more you will have to read it .I read this book 2 times and I never got sick of this book.i would recommend this book this is one of the best books I ever read.This book is for all ages .

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    awesome!! totally recommend it!!

    i had to choose a book for school, and said why not choose this? i LOVE it! The day i bought it is the day a finished it! i absolutely LOVE the cover and how it feels. i recommend you buy it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Its a really good read, but it's hard to find the Theme

    Its a really great book and I can see why Kevin Henkes won the medal-thingie on the front of the book. All the characters are believeable, and you can make them out in your mind (even Olive Barthstrow getting hit by a car) by all the detail. Although, even though the theme is stated right on the backcover, it was kinda hard to figure out the theme of Olive's Ocean. I mean, you can see why they called it this if you read the whole book, but you have to really think, to figure out the theme.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    Really good!

    i really liked this book, i thought that the plot was very suspenseful, i definitely recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Very good

    I love this book lots of nice detail the characters are alsorts of kinds of different ways too describe them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good Book for School and/or Fun Reading

    I bought this book for my grandson to read as an assigned summer reading book. He did not think he was going to like it from the title. He thought it would be about dumb girl stuff. He read it in a very short span of time during the last few weeks of summer vacation and said he really liked it. From what I heard from him, it was a really good book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Olives Ocean IB

    I loved Olive¿s Ocean. I thought it was a very good book. It is one of my favorite books. It is the best book in the world. I would recommend this book to girls who are in middle school. I recommend this to them because I think it is a very appropriate book for people that age. I liked it because it was a very detailed book and it was descriptive witch made it very interesting. Also it kind of had a romantic thing going on in the middleish, end part of the book. It was really good. Also the book was kind of sad because of what happened to Olive. It made me upset when she told, what had happened to Olive. I felt bad for Martha because she was never friends with Olive, but she could not stop thinking about Olive. But still overall it was very go even if it was sad. I think that is what made the book so much better is because; it had so many different things in it. Such as romance, sympathy, and humor. I would defiantly read this book it is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Olive's Ocean

    This book was good. Also you would love it if you love oceans. This book is a sad book but with a romantic twist at the end. Kevin Henkes really makes you feel like you were there and experiencing it. I would recommend it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    A book on a young girls toughest year

    Olive's Ocean is written by Kevin Henkes and I rated it three stars. This is a book about a girl named Martha Boyle and she has toubles within her when a girl, named Olive, dies in a car accident while riding her bike. Olive's mother gives Martha a note that Olive had written saying that she wanted to be friends with her. Martha is shocked because she has never talked to this girl Olive. Olive had no friends and never talked much at all. Martha then realizes how many things they had in common. Martha now wishes she got to know Olive more, so that they could have been friends earlier. Included in the letter was also that Olive wishes she could see the ocean one day. Martha and her family then go on their trip to Martha's grandmohter's house down near the sea. While there Martha encounters many things. She wants to become a writer, she has her first kiss, and she becomes closer than ever to her grandmother. Martha in the end of the book ends up liking someone else rather than the boy who kissed her. This book is very like modern familys today as in how brothers and sisters talk to eachother and have conflicts between eachother like Martha has with her brother, Vince. I rated this book three stars because this was a pretty good book. I don't really like this style of writing but I really enjoyed this book. So if you are a person who really likes this style of writing, you should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    Okay but didn't understand it

    I read this book and just didn't really understand it.~6th grader~ Then my mom read it and told me to read it in a couple years. I think it might be aproved for 8th, 9th, 10th graders and beyond.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Good Novel

    It's not a bad book. I'm a mother who read this to her 14, 10yr children. If you read the paragraph of what the publisher wrote about this story, that about covers it. There is nothing more than that. It's a plain, ole story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Boring Book

    There were some funny parts about a baby throwing a fit, but really it wasn't a funny story. It was a ho hum story with a disappointing ending. Some girls may identify with Martha's negative first kiss experience, but I don't think sludging through the rest of the book is worth the time. Thank goodness it was a short book. Now I can move on to something more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Seawing character

    I am Dolphin. I am light blue and has no mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Silverpaw is being help captive.

    Go forcemate her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Best book ever

    Sad but great book!!! ENJOY:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6