Customer Reviews for

Olivia Helps with Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

'NOT A PIGLET WAS STIRRING'

Many young readers have already met and fallen in love with Olivia, the perkiest porker to be found. If your favorite school-ager hasn't had the pleasure yet, now is a perfect time as Olivia gets into the spirit of the holiday season. Ian Falconer's illustrations a...
Many young readers have already met and fallen in love with Olivia, the perkiest porker to be found. If your favorite school-ager hasn't had the pleasure yet, now is a perfect time as Olivia gets into the spirit of the holiday season. Ian Falconer's illustrations are irresistible as is his text which is liberally sprinkled with quips. Who could resist smiling when Olivia gets soot on her snout as she peers up the chimney looking for Santa? Her family goes through the traditional pre-Christmas rituals, singing carols, trimming the tree (as Olivia tangles herself in strings of lights), and leaving a snack for St. Nick. We're treated to both visual and verbal gifts from the irrepressible Mr. Falconer on the night when 'not a piglet was stirring' (supposedly). - Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

ha ha

i loved this fun filled book jk i didnt

posted by 6001091 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Deck the hall's with Olivia!

    Fa la la la la la!Olivia has made her way into town! Watching for Santa out the window, setting the table, and sticking her snout up the chimney!Who could not resist the soot on her snout? Untangling light's! Get ready, Olivia is ready for Christmas!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'NOT A PIGLET WAS STIRRING'

    Many young readers have already met and fallen in love with Olivia, the perkiest porker to be found. If your favorite school-ager hasn't had the pleasure yet, now is a perfect time as Olivia gets into the spirit of the holiday season. Ian Falconer's illustrations are irresistible as is his text which is liberally sprinkled with quips. Who could resist smiling when Olivia gets soot on her snout as she peers up the chimney looking for Santa? Her family goes through the traditional pre-Christmas rituals, singing carols, trimming the tree (as Olivia tangles herself in strings of lights), and leaving a snack for St. Nick. We're treated to both visual and verbal gifts from the irrepressible Mr. Falconer on the night when 'not a piglet was stirring' (supposedly). - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    ho ho ho

    Olivia is decking the hall's! Ian Falconer has made other funny books, but this one is his best yet!!!!If it's untangling lights,to setting the table, or watching Santa Claus, Olivia well make your Christmas a holly jolly one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Over the Top!

    Ian Falconer is brilliant! This book captures 'the most wonderful time of the year' in the most wonderful writing and illustrating of the year. His mixed media illustrations are especially delightful. A 'must read' for the holiday season, and absolutely a 'must have' for Olivia fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Delightful reading for the whole family!

    5 stars
    Great fun. Dame Edna's voice adds to the excitement of the season. Worth listening to!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    ha ha

    i loved this fun filled book jk i didnt

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Olivia is magical at Christmass too

    Gave to a grandchild with an "Olivia " quilt and read it on Cristmas day, what a memory.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Olivia Helps With Christmas is my favorite Olivia book.

    I love the Olivia character because she is very precocious. The books have a lot of layers to them. There is always some infering that goes on. My favorite part of Olivia Helps with Christmas is when the dad goes to build a fire and Olivia stops him until after Santa's visit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Classic Olivia...

    As always Olivia is good for a hearty laugh... If you like children's books, Olivia is a must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    My daughter loved this book, she loves to have me read it over and over again. I've also noticed that she shares it with all of her cousins and friends. It's so funny to hear her compare how she helps out the same way Olivia does. The pictures are amazing and so realistic, it's a great way to spark the imagination and interest in books at an early age. My daughter loves reading and she really enjoyed the Olivia collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    You've Got to Love Olivia!

    Another in a truly classic character - - to be read again and again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Excellent Story

    This is a very excellent Christmas story! This story is about little Olivia helping with Christmas to make it enjoyable for everyone. It's such a cute and touching story that everyone can enjoy reading together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Lovein it

    This is so freakin awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Great book once again about Olivia!

    I haven't brought it back to my daughter who is now living with her mother in MD. Actually, we decide hold it until next Xmas to have it given as part of the present. We do like the book and are sure our daughter will, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2