Customer Reviews for

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Should make a movie

    I loved this. It's a really fun read. I would love to see this be made into a movie. I think Emily Blunt would be great as Olivia!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Cute Easy Read

    Good book, super fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    So funny!

    If you like Bridget Jones, youll love Olivia. Funny and unvomfortable all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Spy Fiction - Chick Lit

    If you love spy fiction and chick lit, then this is the book for you. It's a fun read and takes you around the world and back again as Olivia's overactive imagination gets the best of her and saves the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    What Happened?

    Bridget Jones in spy games! Should have been the title. Really disappointing, with current events distasteful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Cute and funny

    I am not a fan of Chick lit (similar concept to a chick flick), but if you're looking for a cute, light read then this book is a good choice. It was funny and enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Don't listen to the haters

    I enjoyed the Bridget Jones movie, but never read the books so I can't compare it to the author's other titles. This book, however, is a smart and fun read. The story line is engaging and, at times, quite thrilling. Yes, it is a more complicated plot than Bridget Jones, but I don't think the intention was to make this chick lit lite. It's a good read--don't pass it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Bring back Bridget

    Fielding did herself a disservice with this book. I found it silly and boring. It seemed that the author was trying to recapture the essence of her successful character and just named her 'Joules'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was very disappointed in this novel by Helen Fielding. I absolutely loved the Bridget Jones books, but this one was slow and lacked an interesting storyline. It took me forever to finish it but forced myself because I purchased it when it came out. I plan on donating it to my public library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Just an 'eh'...

    I could definitely take or leave this book. I was interested to read it through the end, but the characters confused me, I didn't feel they were developed very well, and the overall theme of the book went to some strange places. I definitely like the 'female hero' idea, but this just didn't come through. And as a NYC resident, I didn't enjoy reading about 9/11 in my 'chick lit'. Pretty disappointing after Bridget's Diary...I don't think I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    I love this book!

    I have read and enjoyed all of Helen Fielding's books and this one did not disappoint, I absolutely loved it! The writing is entertaining, the plot intriguing and Helen Fielding has created another wonderful character in Olivia Joules, I look forward to a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Great Book. Fun Reading

    This book was definitely as good as Bridget Jones. This book should be made into a movie .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    may cause boredom

    After reading the reviews from other readers, I was looking forward to testing this one out. After reading half of it I was really bored and unamused. After finishing it I will not pick up another book from this writer again. There was way too much about terrorists and the middle east, post 9/11, etc... If I wanted to read about that, I would gladly pick up Time magazine. If you want a truely entertaining chick lit book, read Sophie Kinsella books. They are more entertaining and better suited for light, fun and enjoyable summer reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    this was great

    I really loved this book, it's so funny and such an easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Loved it!

    Okay, so this wasn't Bridget Jones, but it was great nonetheless. Fielding has a style I love and her pace is fast and her prose funny. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    An amusing tale for a long drive

    This isn't the next Bridget Jones and honestly I think that's an unrealistic expectation. Olivia Joules is a different type of woman, first of all. I'm not sure how to describe her except as a woman who's trying to be in control of the situation she's in rather than having the situation control her. Definitely an admirable idea in an unpredictable world. The reader on the CDs was extremely easy to listen to and very enjoyable. I did a 13 hour drive over two days with this book on cd and it definitely kept me going. Its also a CD that I could imagine listening to while working out just to relax. Olivia isn't Bridget. But she's not boring either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    As funny as ever

    Fielding is a brilliant writer with a clean style and a great sense of humor. Bridget Jones was great, but with Olivia Joules, Fielding tells a great story while also doing a wicked send-up of adventure-James Bond type adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Disappointing

    I was looking for a book as enjoyable, humerous, and original as Bridget Jones Diary. Instead, I slogged through a book with a sketchy plot, undeveloped characters, and lackluster writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    I miss Bridgett Jones!

    This book had some parts that were great, but overall, it lacked a connection with the main character. It is semi-serious which I didn't expect from the author. You're better off reading this at bits of a time because you not might want to sit and read it whole seeing how you won't be able to keep turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Finally, Not just a LOVE story

    If you like adventure along with a bit of twisted romance...who is the right man? You'll not be able to put this one down...now I need a new great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3