Customer Reviews for

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Should make a movie

    I loved this. It's a really fun read. I would love to see this be made into a movie. I think Emily Blunt would be great as Olivia!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Spy Fiction - Chick Lit

    If you love spy fiction and chick lit, then this is the book for you. It's a fun read and takes you around the world and back again as Olivia's overactive imagination gets the best of her and saves the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    I love this book!

    I have read and enjoyed all of Helen Fielding's books and this one did not disappoint, I absolutely loved it! The writing is entertaining, the plot intriguing and Helen Fielding has created another wonderful character in Olivia Joules, I look forward to a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Great Book. Fun Reading

    This book was definitely as good as Bridget Jones. This book should be made into a movie .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    this was great

    I really loved this book, it's so funny and such an easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Loved it!

    Okay, so this wasn't Bridget Jones, but it was great nonetheless. Fielding has a style I love and her pace is fast and her prose funny. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    An amusing tale for a long drive

    This isn't the next Bridget Jones and honestly I think that's an unrealistic expectation. Olivia Joules is a different type of woman, first of all. I'm not sure how to describe her except as a woman who's trying to be in control of the situation she's in rather than having the situation control her. Definitely an admirable idea in an unpredictable world. The reader on the CDs was extremely easy to listen to and very enjoyable. I did a 13 hour drive over two days with this book on cd and it definitely kept me going. Its also a CD that I could imagine listening to while working out just to relax. Olivia isn't Bridget. But she's not boring either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Finally, Not just a LOVE story

    If you like adventure along with a bit of twisted romance...who is the right man? You'll not be able to put this one down...now I need a new great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Perfect!

    This book has everything it needs to make it the best. It's got humor, suspense, and feelings that you can actually relate to! Helen Fielding, in my opinion, is one of the best contemporary authors. If you thought Bridget Jones was great, get ready to meet a character who exceeds her at least five times over! She is the greatest heroine I have ever come across!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Fun and Frothy

    A great summer read! Books should release your imagination and this one does. Kudos to you, Ms. Fielding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    A STELLAR, SPIRITED READING

    Native Londoner Josephine Bailey gives a spirited reading to Olivia Joules, the latest incarnation from Helen Fielding who created a young woman to whom most could relate and therefore loved - Bridget Jones. Whether Olivia is falling in love or enmeshed in international intrigue, Bailey is right there with the proper inflections. At times reserved, at other times ebullient, the reader becomes Olivia. Let's say up front that Olivia Joules is not a Bridget Jones - far from it. Olivia is a fearless modern miss with a unique underwire bra and boundless imagination. Of course, she's drawn to handsome, wealthy, Pierre Ferramo. However, she does not believe he is the worldly tycoon he purports to be but rather a terrorist in disguise. Nonetheless, this woman's in love and she follows him all over the globe, which gives listeners entree to some of the world's most exotic locations. When the Brits hire Olivia to track Ferramo, she quickly becomes a female James Bond. All of which makes for fast paced listening and high adventure. Fantastic plot? Yes, at times it surely is. However, it's also great listening as we accompany our heroine from one hot spot to another and from out of the proverbial frying pan into some surprising conflagrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1