Customer Reviews for

The Omen Machine (Richard and Kahlan Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Faster paced book than previous and a very fun read

I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little ear...
I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little early yesterday and was able to dig in and read most of last night and today.

It's a quick read, with a great pace. About 2/3 the size of previous of books, which I think is a very good thing. The story is awesome with a great sense of danger and a truly unbelievable finale. A great setup for more things to come.

Everything about the book feels like a refreshed take on the world I love, but now with a very contemporary feel. It's the right formula for Terry and I believe, like me, his fans are going to be very pleased with what they find here.

I'd still recommend this book even to people that have never read a prior Sword of Truth series novel because this one stands well on its own and feels like the start to a new series. While it helps knowing the backstories of these characters a little more, it's definitely not required and really won't lessen your satisfaction with the book.

Overall, I give The Omen Machine a solid 5/5 stars for being a great read, with a very enjoyable plot, wrapped around an excellent, refreshing pace with a terrific new direction for the characters. Great book.

posted by BorderConvert on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time!

Mr. Goodkind obviously is in dire need of $$$$. He has started out this new series the way he ended the last.....stretching for dollars. The story line is interesting enough but since he is paid by the word he has added way too many. It DRAGS and DRAGS so much that you ...
Mr. Goodkind obviously is in dire need of $$$$. He has started out this new series the way he ended the last.....stretching for dollars. The story line is interesting enough but since he is paid by the word he has added way too many. It DRAGS and DRAGS so much that you can scan and skip whole pages at a time. I noticed this in the last 4 "Sword of Truth" novels. Repetition and boredom. I promised I would never buy another of his books but lo and behold....I did. If I could get a refund I would. Terry.....you are a talented author. Don't cheat us.

posted by avidreader1942 on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Where is the rest of the book?

    I pre-ordered this book sometime last year when it was first announced. To say that I was excited that Terry Goodkind was returning with another story based in the SOT realm would be an understatement. After reading it (in like 4 hours...), I was left with the feeling that this new trilogy is really one book that they split into three.

    First off, the font is ridiculously large. We are talking 16 point. I pulled out one of the other hardcover's I have in the series to verify that my eyes were not deceiving me. It is night and day difference. Even with the bloated font size, the book barely hits 500 pages.

    Secondly, there is a certain repetitiveness in this book that I have never seen out of this author. Do I really need 8 chapters in a book describing the same scenery with different characters viewpoints? That is literally almost 10% of the book devoted to a chase scene - twice!

    TG has done a great job in the past developing characters. He doesn't need to spend a lot of time in new books rehashing what they stand for, why they make the decisions they do, blah blah blah. Even with the villains in the book, he did a good job building why they were evil. With this book (TOM), I almost feel as though he dumb-ed (Not a word i know) down all of the returning characters that you know and love. He may have spent a total of 3 or 4 chapters dealing with this books villain and perhaps a couple more than that on the villain from future books (or later on in the rest of this book that is missing).

    Maybe this "trilogy" will get better as more books are released. If you are a big fan of TG or the SOT series, by all means, take an afternoon or lunch break to read this short story. If you are new to the realm, pick up one of the first three books before attempting this. As a standalone novel, this book would probably turn you off to the whole series.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    disappointed

    I love love Terry Goodkind!, I'm looking forward to reading this. But because of arthritis in my hands I have a hard time holding larger hardcovers. I'm really bummed this isn't available for the nook...

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Over-hyped.

    As I read I wondered who wrote this book. Is NOT Terry Goodkind's best work by far!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    I'm sure it'll be a good book but....

    I love the SoT Series and I'm sure I'll enjoy this book just as much - but why does the nook version come out 6 months after the hardcover version ?! I'm sorry but that really does not seem very fair to me. I bought the nook so that I wouldn't have to go buy more books and apparently if I want to read this one when it comes out I'll have no choice. Not happy.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Meh

    For such powerful characters they sure are easily beaten. He is a Rahl for crissakes and was so easily stymied. Not up to the original series standards. Repetitive beyond belief.. sorry I was surprised too..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Ok, but not to the level of previous Goodkind works

    I liked returning to the world of Richard and Kaylan; however I was disappointed in this effort. The characters had less depth and the logic flaws in the plot left the story well short of what I expect from Goodkind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Disapointing

    As others have posted the book was very predictable/simplistic. I hope the next book is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Disappointing

    I fell in love with these characters throughout the sword of truth series. I was really excited to read this new book as i figured this story was over. However this book was very simplistic to me and i knew what was going to happen long before it did. Very unlike the sword of truth series which kept me guessing. I would highly recommend First Confessor though. I hope the next book in this series is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I have to agree with the poor reviews here. I don't know if the

    I have to agree with the poor reviews here. I don't know if the author is paid by the word, but it would make sense since the dialogue is repetitive and boring.  I enjoyed the first books of the series, but it seems the author is going to beat a dead horse just to make more money. Very annoying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I can't quite put my finger on it. I loved the sword of truth se

    I can't quite put my finger on it. I loved the sword of truth series. And while I felt that the last couple of books in the SoT series were not as strong, I accept that we can't always be 100% happy with the way a story ends. I still enjoyed those books and was excited to see another "Richard and Kahlan" story. However, Omen Machine was just painful to read. The story was generic and while the other SoT books took me (at most) a week to read, this story literally took me months. It simply failed to keep me interested. It tries to build up to this big conflict but it never really gets there and it's like Mr. Goodkind realizes it twenty pages before the end and just decides to stop trying, tacking on a very convenient resolution. The beginning was probably the strongest, it starts where the last one left off and we get to see what life is like for everyone after the war, Cara gets married (not a spoiler it's on the back cover) and you get to see the characters interact a bit. Then stuff happens and (like usual) everyone is against Richard and Kahlan, oh noes. I got bored. The conflict Mr. Goodkind tries to create never really occurs. You get to the end and you're just like "really that was it"? "That was the big bad witch that we were warned against?" Ugh. Simply put, this story lacks imagination and it lacks adventure. It fails to engage the mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Not as good as the others

    Beginning was slow, end was rushed...the first three were the best and the series has steadily gotten worse. Its like goodkind has forgotten his own characters....richard would not put up with the junk he put up with in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Not impressed-spoilers in comments

    I paid the most for this and got little in return. The ending was terrible and rushed. It was unfinished what about hannis arc? The abbott? All the leaders that are no longer loyal to richard? As i was reading, i was thinking, how are things going to get wrapped up in so few pages? Answer- they dont. Not a happy camper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Eh

    I wanted to purchase this as an ebook, however it was decided we could not do this until the middle of November. So I simply borrowed a book and saved my money. This is not a horrible book, but it is not one of Mr. Goodkinds better works. He clearly was not that into it and it reflects in the story. Ive learned a lesson and am glad this was not offered until the middle of Nov. I will save my money for a new book that is released in print and ebook at the same time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1