Customer Reviews for

The Omen Machine (Richard and Kahlan Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Faster paced book than previous and a very fun read

I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little ear...
I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little early yesterday and was able to dig in and read most of last night and today.

It's a quick read, with a great pace. About 2/3 the size of previous of books, which I think is a very good thing. The story is awesome with a great sense of danger and a truly unbelievable finale. A great setup for more things to come.

Everything about the book feels like a refreshed take on the world I love, but now with a very contemporary feel. It's the right formula for Terry and I believe, like me, his fans are going to be very pleased with what they find here.

I'd still recommend this book even to people that have never read a prior Sword of Truth series novel because this one stands well on its own and feels like the start to a new series. While it helps knowing the backstories of these characters a little more, it's definitely not required and really won't lessen your satisfaction with the book.

Overall, I give The Omen Machine a solid 5/5 stars for being a great read, with a very enjoyable plot, wrapped around an excellent, refreshing pace with a terrific new direction for the characters. Great book.

posted by BorderConvert on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Where is the rest of the book?

I pre-ordered this book sometime last year when it was first announced. To say that I was excited that Terry Goodkind was returning with another story based in the SOT realm would be an understatement. After reading it (in like 4 hours...), I was left with the feeling...
I pre-ordered this book sometime last year when it was first announced. To say that I was excited that Terry Goodkind was returning with another story based in the SOT realm would be an understatement. After reading it (in like 4 hours...), I was left with the feeling that this new trilogy is really one book that they split into three.

First off, the font is ridiculously large. We are talking 16 point. I pulled out one of the other hardcover's I have in the series to verify that my eyes were not deceiving me. It is night and day difference. Even with the bloated font size, the book barely hits 500 pages.

Secondly, there is a certain repetitiveness in this book that I have never seen out of this author. Do I really need 8 chapters in a book describing the same scenery with different characters viewpoints? That is literally almost 10% of the book devoted to a chase scene - twice!

TG has done a great job in the past developing characters. He doesn't need to spend a lot of time in new books rehashing what they stand for, why they make the decisions they do, blah blah blah. Even with the villains in the book, he did a good job building why they were evil. With this book (TOM), I almost feel as though he dumb-ed (Not a word i know) down all of the returning characters that you know and love. He may have spent a total of 3 or 4 chapters dealing with this books villain and perhaps a couple more than that on the villain from future books (or later on in the rest of this book that is missing).

Maybe this "trilogy" will get better as more books are released. If you are a big fan of TG or the SOT series, by all means, take an afternoon or lunch break to read this short story. If you are new to the realm, pick up one of the first three books before attempting this. As a standalone novel, this book would probably turn you off to the whole series.

posted by jbayness on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    I could buy it for the Kindle...

    Why on earth can't I buy this as a nook book??

    20 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Enjoyable, but not Terry's best

    First of all I must say shame on TOR for pushing the release of the ebook back to Feb. 2012. As for the book itself, it was great to continue to read the story of Richard and Kahlan following Confesor. The story, however, was both uneventful and rushed at the same time compared to his other books. Too much time was spent in dialog saying the same thing that we read in a previous conversation 50 pages earlier. The plot had major flow problems, taking to long to advance at times, while rushing through key points at others. I may be being a little too critical, but only because my expectations for Goodkind's books are so high. I've enjoyed the series so much up to this point that Im disapointed that the book is merely good instead of great. I'd recomend the book to anyone that enjoyed the original series, just don't expect it to be on the level of Faith of the Fallen or Wizard's First Rule.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Ummmm.... love the sword of truth series, however.....

    As much as I loved the sword of trthu series I think it was good to end the series when it did. I really enjoyed Law of Nines and was looking forward to the supposed two additional books that were to make it a trilogy. Apparently Tor threw enough $$$$ into Goodkinds face to convice him to come back despite him saying it was done and over and he had moved on. Im sure it will be a good book and I am not ragging on him because he is a great writer, I was just at the point of looking forward to the Law of Nines series and apparently it has been left with a permanent cliffhanger (of sorts). This is just my thoughts. I will be of course buying this book it is released. Also for a good replacement to Terry Goodkind I have been reading the amazingly good and funny series by Jim Butcher "The Dresden Files". Its another great series by a very talented writer......

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! Go and Read..:)

    Fantastic figures (the Hedgewitch as well as Hannis Arc are fantastic), extremely entertaining scheme, action-packed, exhilarating read, as well as a really great start to something totally new. General, I actually give this book a straightforward highly recommend. In a bizarre manner, it really is most likely an excellent kick off point even for somebody that hasn't already read any other thing by Goodkind. It is every bit a much more pleasurable read than a number of the longer, even bigger books in the past collection.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Looking forward to it.

    I am a Richard and Kahlan fan and altho I am looking forward to reading The Omen Machine, I can tell that Mr. Goodkind continues on with his overly worded sentences just from the brief description.

    In the absense of SOT - I picked up George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire! Fantastic series! I just can't put it down.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Release date

    Why is the release date for this Hardcover set at July 19th, while the CD audio book is set for March? How is that even possible?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good

    Good not great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Fast and On track

    The title itself will captivate your mind and give you an inkling as to how good this book is, then if you see the author you might not have double thoughts about buying it. The story revolves around a machine that can foresee the future. The plot is very fast paced and will keep you on your feet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    If you've read 'The Sword of Truth' saga, you'll want this!

    I was in the eighth grade when I got Wizard's First Rule. I was intoxicated by it, and I never lost intrigue with any of the series. I actually purchased the first six in paperback for the convenience of sliding them in my high school bookbag. I graduated in June, 2000, and switched to buying hardback copies so that I may save them for the children that I should one day have. Anyway, I would just like to have proof when I insist that people who lived in the 20th century...(yes, like how I was born in 1982) could write some awesome, fantasy/fiction!! They were all awesome and beautiful beyond words. I wrote a book inspired by Mr. Terry Goodkind and the late Mr. Gene Rodenberry. The book was lost to me when I was in a car accident: I had brain damage, so there's little hope it'll ever be found. Sorry. Back to the topic: I didn't believe it could, but 'The Omen Machine' lives up to 'the Sword of Truth' saga beautifully.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Fast-paced and Superb!

    I had been waiting for a few months already for this book and when I actually bought it I did not have second thoughts. From the introduction until the end the book is very well thought of, the characters very dynamic and there is no boring scene in the novel. Fast and straight to the point. Now that is what I call FUN!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Excellent Book

    I thought it was definetely faster paced than many of the others in the series, but it was a little dark and depressing. I felt scared, nervous, and helpless for alot of the book- and I thought he moved a little too fast. I would've preferred a little more happy, but it still rocked.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Good restart

    A new series for richard set after the sword of truth ends and a worthy successor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Love all of his books and would give this a five star, but the ending feels forced and abrupt. Very entertaining read that does continue the epic, and introduces a new arch villain. Can't wait to see what he does with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    A good book, but not his best

    I'm only going to give my basic opinion of the book, as anything else usually deals with going into too much detail, giving away too much of the story line. Suffice it to say, it truly is a new story line. I was really glad to FINALLY read something not dealing with "The Order". That struggle was old after so many books. While this was a good story in and of itself, it's not his best work. I still say Wizards First Rule is the best of the original series. The Omen Machine, in and of itself, however, does make for a decent read, and is the beginning of a new story line for Richard and the gang. If done right, it will make for a good story line with one caveat - (slight spoiler here) now that we are dealing with the dead (double spoiler) tying itself now to First Confessor)) please please please don't go on the zombie bandwagon with everyone else. I like a good zombie movie (huge fan of George's stuff), but I can't stand when someone has to do what everyone else is doing just because it's "mainstream" right now :( *rant off* I'm glad I picked up the book, I'm glad I read it, I'm waiting for the next part. One last thing I will say - while I understand that Mr. Goodkind was so repetitive in his other books so each book could be read as a separate story, it made it very infuriating to read for those of us that read all the books. I think he got the idea, and yes, though he did it again with this book, he was much more brief with his "rehash" of things, making it much easier to read than previous books. If you read the original series only to "complete" it, then don't pick this up as it has nothing to do with that series. This really is a new story line with the same characters. However, if you liked the original Sword series, and you are looking forward to new adventures for Richard Rhal, then this I will say again, while not his best, is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Richard and Kahlan are back!!!!

    The adventures of the Seeker and Mother Confessor continue. While I am happy these characters are back, I do have reservations about continuing their story. The Sword of Truth series was so well done, can further adventures hold up to that standard? This first step is good but not great. Overall, there is hope that continuing the story will end up well for everyone - the characters, the author, and the fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I've been worried about this series since "Pillars of Creat

    I've been worried about this series since "Pillars of Creation" and more so since the powerful conclusion of "Confessor," but this book has shown that I need not fear. Richard and Kahlan are not untouchable. Power is never enough. Puzzles abound. Emotions are invoked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3