Customer Reviews for

The Omen Machine (Richard and Kahlan Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Faster paced book than previous and a very fun read

I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little ear...
I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little early yesterday and was able to dig in and read most of last night and today.

It's a quick read, with a great pace. About 2/3 the size of previous of books, which I think is a very good thing. The story is awesome with a great sense of danger and a truly unbelievable finale. A great setup for more things to come.

Everything about the book feels like a refreshed take on the world I love, but now with a very contemporary feel. It's the right formula for Terry and I believe, like me, his fans are going to be very pleased with what they find here.

I'd still recommend this book even to people that have never read a prior Sword of Truth series novel because this one stands well on its own and feels like the start to a new series. While it helps knowing the backstories of these characters a little more, it's definitely not required and really won't lessen your satisfaction with the book.

Overall, I give The Omen Machine a solid 5/5 stars for being a great read, with a very enjoyable plot, wrapped around an excellent, refreshing pace with a terrific new direction for the characters. Great book.

posted by BorderConvert on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Where is the rest of the book?

I pre-ordered this book sometime last year when it was first announced. To say that I was excited that Terry Goodkind was returning with another story based in the SOT realm would be an understatement. After reading it (in like 4 hours...), I was left with the feeling...
I pre-ordered this book sometime last year when it was first announced. To say that I was excited that Terry Goodkind was returning with another story based in the SOT realm would be an understatement. After reading it (in like 4 hours...), I was left with the feeling that this new trilogy is really one book that they split into three.

First off, the font is ridiculously large. We are talking 16 point. I pulled out one of the other hardcover's I have in the series to verify that my eyes were not deceiving me. It is night and day difference. Even with the bloated font size, the book barely hits 500 pages.

Secondly, there is a certain repetitiveness in this book that I have never seen out of this author. Do I really need 8 chapters in a book describing the same scenery with different characters viewpoints? That is literally almost 10% of the book devoted to a chase scene - twice!

TG has done a great job in the past developing characters. He doesn't need to spend a lot of time in new books rehashing what they stand for, why they make the decisions they do, blah blah blah. Even with the villains in the book, he did a good job building why they were evil. With this book (TOM), I almost feel as though he dumb-ed (Not a word i know) down all of the returning characters that you know and love. He may have spent a total of 3 or 4 chapters dealing with this books villain and perhaps a couple more than that on the villain from future books (or later on in the rest of this book that is missing).

Maybe this "trilogy" will get better as more books are released. If you are a big fan of TG or the SOT series, by all means, take an afternoon or lunch break to read this short story. If you are new to the realm, pick up one of the first three books before attempting this. As a standalone novel, this book would probably turn you off to the whole series.

posted by jbayness on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Faster paced book than previous and a very fun read

    I am a fan of the earlier books in the Sword of Truth series and will always love the characters Kahlan and Richard, but I fell off a bit during the later series books when things became a little too preachy. I received my copy of The Omen Machine from B&N a little early yesterday and was able to dig in and read most of last night and today.

    It's a quick read, with a great pace. About 2/3 the size of previous of books, which I think is a very good thing. The story is awesome with a great sense of danger and a truly unbelievable finale. A great setup for more things to come.

    Everything about the book feels like a refreshed take on the world I love, but now with a very contemporary feel. It's the right formula for Terry and I believe, like me, his fans are going to be very pleased with what they find here.

    I'd still recommend this book even to people that have never read a prior Sword of Truth series novel because this one stands well on its own and feels like the start to a new series. While it helps knowing the backstories of these characters a little more, it's definitely not required and really won't lessen your satisfaction with the book.

    Overall, I give The Omen Machine a solid 5/5 stars for being a great read, with a very enjoyable plot, wrapped around an excellent, refreshing pace with a terrific new direction for the characters. Great book.

    40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Fast Paced & Magnificent!

    Goodkind brings us another brilliant escape into the lives of fantasy, magic, love, and relationships. Richard & Kahlan are back and as good as ever... Another Goodkind classic. I couldn't put it down.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    GET THIS BOOK...COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!! :)

    Was lucky enough to get my copy last night, and could not put it down, THE OMEN MACHINE is faster-paced and more exciting than previous books. I won't spoil it for all you TGoodkind fans but I know you will fall in love with the story! Happy reading :)

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Very Fun Read

    Great characters (the Hedgewitch and Hannis Arc are amazing), very fun plot, fast paced, thrilling read, and a really good beginning to something new. Overall, I give this book an easy recommend. In a weird way, it's probably a great starting place even for someone that hasn't read anything else by Goodkind. It's just a more enjoyable read than some of the longer, bigger books in the past series.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Absolutely adored the Sword of Truth series!

    I can't wait for this book to come out! Terry Goodkind is a masterful writer, and his books have been some of the best I've ever read. This one appears to be shorter than his other novels, but I'm sure it will be just as good.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very excited for this book

    It's the 14th book by Terry Goodkind and it begins immediately following the end of the Sword of Truth series, apparently within hours of Confessor ending. That alone makes this a can't miss. Knowing it is a "Richard and Kahlan novel" makes this one of the most exciting releases of the year. I've been following this book ever since it was announced last year. It's been an agonizing year and a half or so but finally, the book is just a couple weeks away. Won't miss.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Must check this out!

    Can't wait for this to come out. Love the Sword of Truth series!!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    A must read!

    Once you pick it up its hard to put down. As always Terry Goodkind tells an amazing story of Richard and Kahlan. This book is full of action, romance and suspenseful moments. Love the ending! One question still remains... Will there be another???

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    LOOOOOVE THIS BOOK

    Wow what a nice surprise. You never know what to expect when an author returns to a hugely popular series like this. I love the new style of writing. Faster paced is good! The Hedge Witch is terrifying. Like nightmare style scary. LOVED IT!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Great book and a fun read

    Just finished! This is a really great book. Only took about two days to get from cover to cover but that's alright because I enjoyed every page. Very cool, dark ending. Can't wait to read what's next. A++

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    terry goodkind

    i cant what to read the new book i love terry books

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Way too expensive when unabridged

    it is a great culmination to an amazing series if given the chance read all of the sword of truth books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Makes you want more....

    I recently started reading Terry Goodkind novels when my neice brought me the first 5 books in the Sword of Truth series. I purchased the remaining books before I finished Wizard's First Rule.

    I hope to see another in this series soon.

    This is the only series that has kept me in anticipation since Stephen King's Dark Tower.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I've actually read this book...

    I did not realize how good Terry Goodkind really is, but after reading a bunch of other fantasy (ya I call it fantasy Terry!) after I finished the SOT, I now know what I've been missing; great characters, great story, great magic, plot, ect, ect. This story was fast paced and of course had some of the greatest characters in the genre. Please oh please Terry write another and fast, no more law of poo, we want Richard, Kahlan, Nicci, Zedd, Cara, ect.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Another fine example of true story telling

    I have read every single book Terry has written and have enjoyed each and every one of them. Of course, I have my favorites and The Omen Machine just made the top five list.
    The story itself is fast paced and easy to follow while maintaining its intelligence and attention to detail. The Omen Machine picks up shortly after the events that took place during the extensive Sword of Truth series. However, it is not necessary to read the series to enjoy The Omen Machine as it is a true stand alone story. With that said, if you find you enjoy The Omen Machine, I would highly recommend reading Wizards First Rule, Terry Goodkind's first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Great start to a new series

    This book was a great start to a new series of books about Richard and Kahlan. We are introduced to the overall storyline that will be going on and there is a major plot point that is developed and resloved in this book. For people complainig about the story not being finished? I honestly do not think you read any of Terry's books. This is how he has always written. There is the overall arc of a series,then there is a story in the book that gets resolved by the end.

    The characters were great to read about again. It was wonderful to see how the characters relationships develope when they are not separated or in the middle of a huge battle. The little touches of what it is like for the characters to be a couple and be around each other is well developed and great to see.

    Yes the book was a but shorter then past novels, but that is not a bad thing. With shorter novels we may see books come out faster. People always complain that authors take too long to write a book. Well you can't have it both ways. You get a long book and wait for it, or you get a shorter book and you get them faster. The book being shorter does not affect the story or quality.

    Sorry for no details about plot, but I hate reviews that spoil the book.

    It was a great story and a great start to a new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Highly recommended- you have to read this book!

    This book by Terry Goodkind is a must have. You will not want to put this book down until you finish the last page, even then you will want to re-read the book again and again. Mr. Goodkind put his foot in this book. GO GET THIS BOOK NOW, RUN AND GET IT NOW!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not available for Kindle or Nook!

    After my first review of how I was upset that the Kindle had this book and the nook didn't - I actually went back to the kindle site and read the text below the book - it states in small text

    "Available for Pre-order. This item will be released on November 15, 2011."

    so those who thought they would be reading this if they had a Kindle (like me) are wrong - we are both waiting - just like if you were to wait for the soft back. I guess if you really want this book get it in hard back. After some of the reviews I don't mind waiting until then - so until them I keep re-reading Dean Koontz's "Watchers" :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Back to the Great story line.

    I have enjoyed the Sword of Truth series from the start. The last book from the end of the war was a let down but Terry Goodkind is back in the groove with this one. Look forward to following Richard through many more pages of his tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Outstanding!!!

    Thank you for telling "The Rest of The Story". I have missed Richard & Kahlan. I must admit I was glad when the first series ended. I was ready for the war to end and for everyone to get on with their lives. I am so glad that Mr. Goodkind is telling it. Please ignore anyone that complains that the books are too long. When the story is as well done as these all are why gripe? He could have made three times the money by writing a 300 or 400 page novel. I have paid the same for novels 1/4th the size of some of Mr. Goodkinds novels. Quality and quanity! That is what you can expect from Terry Goodkind.
    I read "The Law Of Nines". That was the last book before my e-reader. I enjoyed it. However I am thrilled with this new series. Thank You!
    Sanna7125

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6