Customer Reviews for

Omens: A Cainsville Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Great start to a new series:  OMENS is the first storyline in Ke

    Great start to a new series:  OMENS is the first storyline in Kelley Armstrong’s new contemporary mystery (slightly paranormal) CAINSVILLE series focusing on Olivia Taylor and her fight to prove, one way or another, that her birth parents Pam and Todd Larsen may or may not be the notorious serial killers who murdered eight people over two decades earlier.  
    Olivia Taylor-Jones has just discovered that she was adopted as a child and her life is making headline news around the world. Needing to leave town, her parents and her fiancé behind, Olivia, also known as Eden Larsen, finds herself penniless in a small, cloistered town known as Cainsville and things have gone from bad to down right strange.  Hoping to uncover the details about the twenty year old murders, Olivia enlists the help of her parent’s former lawyer -Gabriel Walsh-only to discover he is out for one thing and money is the bottom line.  
    Kelley Armstrong takes the reader on a mysterious journey that will see our heroine Olivia aka Eden on the run and settling in a strange town.   ‘Reading’ omens and symbols that give warning of danger and death at every turn, Olivia begins to wonder who or what is determined to keep her from discovering the truth behind her parent’s conviction and the real people behind the murders.  With a town full of ‘gifted’ seers and prophetic elders, Cainsville can only be considered a town with a paranormal undertone of Celtic ancestry.  
    The writing style grabs the reader’s attention and keeps you on the edge. There is the mystery of the crime of murder; a town of strangers who know more about Eden Larsen than does Olivia Jones; and a lawyer whose motives are questionable and the bottom line always reverts back to money. There is intrigue, suspense, mystery and betrayal and when the truth about Olivia’s birth parents is revealed she will discover who are her real friends and just how lonely life can be without the support of parents and family.  
    Kelley Armstrong is a proven winner with her Women of the Otherworld series and she has introduced another strong female character in Eden Larsen/Olivia Jones that drives the storyline and the series into another paranormal dimension.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book, but thought it was a little underdeveloped at times. Can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Can't wait for the next book

    I'm sure this series is going to be one of my new favorites. Love how strong main female character is in this book. Every character is interesting. That City of Cainsville May be the best character. I can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommended

    It was a great read, held my interest from page one all the way to the end. It is extremely well written, keeps the reader guessing, has lots of twists and turns. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Awesome fast paced read!!

    If you like mysteries with a supernatural twist you can't go wrong with this new series from Kelley Armstrong! I couldn't put it down and was wishing for more at the end. Eagerly awaiting the next episode in this series. FYI - all of Kelley's books are worth reading if supernatural fiction is your genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    I loved this book! I was hesitant about reading the book at

    I loved this book! I was hesitant about reading the book at first because I loved her Otherworld series so much but I really enjoyed it. It is a wonderful mystery that keeps you guessing and has me looking forward to the next installment. I really enjoy the characters and look forward to finding out what the future books hold for them. Armstrong is a wonderful writer and I can’t wait to read more!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Ms. Armstrong writes that she was nervous about writing a new se

    Ms. Armstrong writes that she was nervous about writing a new series.  I can't imagine why.  In my opinion, this may be her best story yet!  The characters are unusual and fascinating, the fantasy setting is original, and the mystery is fresh and exciting.  I found this to be a great read, and strongly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I loved the book.  A great mystery.  Can't wait for the next ins

    I loved the book.  A great mystery.  Can't wait for the next installment.  Unlike other authors who never leave the cash cow of a popular series long after they have nothing new to add.  Ms. Armstrong builds a new and enchanting world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great book

    I loved it. Kept me on the edge of my seat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing story of relationships and an intuition that appears

    An amazing story of relationships and an intuition that appears stronger in some people.  We all, as children, surely are inundated with ‘old wives tales’ or superstitions and sometimes those stories go deeply inside us.  As we grow older, we ignore those feelings and eventually if they become strong enough and if coincidences happen, we embrace them.  They become signs, either happy signs, or warning signs.  We continue to learn!  The characters are so well written, that, perhaps you know them or someone like them. Ah, that explains everything. . .or, does it!  Intrigue and masterful story telling. Definitely a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

     I have read Armstrong's other works. So when I heard about Omen

     I have read Armstrong's other works. So when I heard about Omens, and read what it is about, I got interested. I have read her paranormal Otherworld Series, and her fiction about Nadia Stafford. But to me Omens, seems to have lost balance the balance that her other supernatural books have. This needed to either have more supernatural, or be just plain fiction.
         At points, the book gets really interesting. I did like the segue's into character thoughts after something happened. The characters are interesting. The story has potential and to be honest, I had trouble at times, wanting to get back into the story. I wasn't even sure I wanted to read the next one, till it hinted at being more supernatural, so I probably will give a try. 
         I really hope the next one is more like her other works. I won't say I was completely disappointed. It was just I could see subtracting the supernatural, and tweaking a few things, and it could be a good mystery.Or tweak a few things another way, and it would be a better supernatural tale.
        

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Sad

    So disappointing. Shallow vapid characters and unrealistic stilted dialogue, reads more like a first novel than an experienced writer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    EPIC READ

    I kniw kelley has a Really good potential. Byt reading this was like a wake up call.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Great charecters, love the angle this books has taken and look forward to my nexr visit to Cainsville

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Really good read

    Sometimes I had to really think about who some of the characters were, Patrick and Veronica may have needed better intros. The story was great though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Awesome New Series

    I really enjoyed this first Cainsville book and cannot wait for Number two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Awesome Book

    Aweome beginning to a new series from Kelley Armstrong. Omens kept me interested from page one. Definitely a must read. I can't wait for the next book in tbe series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Better than the Otherworld

    I was a huge fan of Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and was immensely disappointed when she decided to end it. So it was with great apprehension that I delved into Omens. The apprehension was quickly put to rest as I quickly plunged into Cainsville. I was sad to see this book come to its end and cannot wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    I can't stress enough how good this book is. Once you start reading you won't want to stop. The characters are fleshed out well and the mystery about the town is very interesting. I love Oliva and I think she was a very strong character. And Gabriel is the jerk you just can't help but love by the end of the book. I read on her website that she was finished with book 3 in the series....it is such a pity we have to wait for book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Another hit!

    I think this was a great set up for her new series. If you love her books, it can't be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2