Customer Reviews for

Omerta

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good book

    I read this several years ago, way before I enjoyed reading. Good for those who do not read much, keeps you interested, doesn't lose you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    BUY THIS BOOK!

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK. MARIO WILL DEFINATLY BE MISSED. THIS IS A MUST OWN FOR ANY BOOK READER. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND BUYING THIS AND ALL OF MARIO PUZO'S BOOKS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    keepyourmouthshut

    This is A story of how the Mafia's rules are not what they were back in the old country.Todays younger Mobsters Tell real quick to save there own skin.All the old timmers are all gone.And when they left so did Omerta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Puzo at his finest!

    This is the final of Mario Puzo's tree mafia books, and it is magnificent. You will find yourself turning page after page just to find out what happens. I actually blew off my friends one night just to finish this book! A must read for fans of Puzo and fans of the mafia genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK!!

    Its the best book I've read ever and the first from Puzo and now am back on buying more from him I suggest you all read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    Exceptional Novel

    I think that Omerta is an excellent book. Puzo definitley has a way of capturing the reader from start to finish. This book is just another example of his talent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    The Most Interesting for the Non-Interested

    I never liked to read books my whole life. But one day my cousin gave me the books Omerta and the Godfather. I read Omerta first because it looked shorter, and I was astonished. I hated books until I read this action/drama packed novel. It gave me a new taste for reading and that taste has stuck with me. Omerta opened up the flood gates for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2001

    A great Mafia novel

    I just finished Omerta..I have to say I loved it!!! I am Italian and have my entire family in Sicily, while my mother and I are here in the states...this just brings back memories of my family and the way of life my family has led. I Loved it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2001

    Operation 'Omerta'

    A posthumous publication by a major literary figure presupposes these questions in the reader's mind: Did this author write this book? If so, how much of the book? Did this author receive any help in its writing? If so, then what was the form of this help? Without doubt, master storyteller Mario Puzo has placed the capstone of his life's work in 'Omerta,' the final tale of the Godfather saga. At first glance, 'Omerta' appears to be a continuation of the struggles between older and younger generations, between traditions of Sicily and America, between alleged crime families and law enforcement agencies. Early on, the story seems to collapse on itself because the narrator deprives the reader of the suspense of whodunit. Nevertheless, the Puzo signature of larger-than-life characters is stamped on every page of 'Omerta.' When Don Raymonde is murdered, his adopted Sicilian son, Astorre Viola, steps up to enforce the Don's last wishes. Astorre is confronted by Don Aprile's daughter, Nicole, a corporate attorney who happens to oppose the death penalty. The 'no mercy' tenet of Don Aprile is counterbalanced by the mercy obtained by Nicole Aprile through her pro bono work. The text of 'Omerta' is threaded with Italianate imagery and aphorism: 'when one changes one's country, one must always change one's hat.' The usual cast of characters appears, including Roman Catholic cardinals and priests. A close reading of the text will reward one with glimpses of Puzo's dark humor. Beyond his use of irony, one can sense self-parody, which is a hallmark of Puzo's inimitable style. However, there are some textual clues in 'Omerta' that do lead one to suspect that Puzo may have changed his narrative style partway through the novel. After the early revelation of the identities of the shooters and their contractor, the novel takes on an uncanny resemblance to a police procedural. Indeed, the director of the Bureau asks, 'And how is our operation 'Omerta'?' Further, the frontispiece defines 'Omerta,' using the 'World Book Dictionary.' A final quibble concerns the hardback book cover, which is a minimalist European-style design: black letters shadowed onto a white background, with an oval of metallic red to dot the 'i' in 'Mario.' My question is: where is the written accent for 'Omertà?' Without reading too much into this omission, I do find it to be an appropriate symbol of how '[t]he great Dons had accomplished their goals and blended gracefully into society.' Naturally, one cannot read this book without envisioning the sights and sounds of a major motion picture. Bravo, Signor Puzo e mille grazie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Superb Finally for the old country Don of Dons'

    Mario Puzo couldn't put any better than this! We all hear how the mafia is 'asleep' or even long gone, but Omerta gave us a glimpse that the Mob is very alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    Omerta right on the Mark

    As someone who was born and raised in New York's Little Italy and who lived there for 48 years, I found Puzo's last novel Omerta quite entertaining and right on the mark as far as the credibility of the characters.It's a shame Puzo's brilliant voice is now stilled by his death. But his fans won't be disappointed in his brilliant portrayal of the family members of Mafioso Don Raymonde Aprile. Reread The Godfather before you read Omerta. You be pleasantly pleased how Puzo's spare prose and brilliant plotting remained steady thoughout the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2000

    Smashing... a definate page turner

    I read this book and it had me turning the pages so quick. Interesting look into the mafia world in this day. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2