Customer Reviews for

The Omnivore's Dilemma: The Secrets behind What You Eat

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great for Kids

I gave this to my 9 and 11 year old for Christmas. They weren't very thrilled and wouldn't read it themselves. So I started reading it at bedtime to them and now they are really into it. We've had quite a few dicussions about the ideas and issue presented.

posted by jupitermom on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Pollan's is not appropriate for children as it is full of lies and untruths. Not science just fiction for the new religion of the animal rights movement a cult and nothing more.

Mr. Pollan deceived the family farmer he stayed with and then he deceives the public with this cult nonsense. The assertions he makes are not grounded in science nor does he write truthfully about the process. I would not recommend this book to anyone as it is full of...
Mr. Pollan deceived the family farmer he stayed with and then he deceives the public with this cult nonsense. The assertions he makes are not grounded in science nor does he write truthfully about the process. I would not recommend this book to anyone as it is full of unsubstantiated fiction put out by a true believer of a new cult called animal rights. A book written by someone who knows nothing about animals, agriculture or the truth.

posted by Ethics_is_necessary on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    To the person who write i look great

    Uh thats great and all but it was weird for you to put that on here bcs it has nothing to do with the bookw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    I look great!!!

    Ive been taking dance lessons gymnastics and soccer for over 5 years. I gotta say im only 13 years old and im already getting a six pack. Its crazy. And im a girl for u guy out there that think that girls cant be strong or cant get a sixpack. Im not lying to u either. U can ask anyone of the people i no. I also exercise a lot

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    J

    K

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Bad and gross

    No one sould have to read this I hate it and so does every one in my class. It is so diskusting it makes people want to not eat.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    God

    Looks cool ;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Alright Book

    This book is about Micheal Pollan's journey to find out the contents of a typical dinner. the origin, ingredients, and the process the food that people eat goes through before they get to the grocery stores, and supermarkets. If you don't know what is in the food you eat this book will help you understand the types of things you're eating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Must Read

    I never knew about a true omnivores dilemma until I read the book about it. When I ate food, I did not really take it that seriously. I never took a glance at the ingrediences inside the food.

    When I read the book, Micahel Pollan informed me about a whole new world. I had finally seen how unhealthy a food could be produced or consumed. Certain things were just plain old nasty. However, it was the truth held back from big agricultural companies.

    There are different high amounts of various types of corn in our diet. It is in almost everything we eat. It can be in the form of cornstarch, high fructose corn syrup, or just regular corn. Corn has become a cheap commodity in this society. The government pays a fortune to have farmers grow just straight corn and become monocultures. Whats worse is the way its brought up.

    Corn has been GMO’d, (genetically modified object). Industrial farms grow this crop and it is sprayed with fertilizer and pesticides that are very dangerous to our health. Pesticides can kill you and fertilizers can make you very ill.

    The term organic was truthfully defined, and also compared to super organic foods and junk foods such as McDoanalds. I wouldn’t want to spoil the theme to much for you, the reader.

    The basic theme of this fun fact filled novel is to inform. Inform the public of what they’re really consuming without even knowing it.

    Getting sick, contracting diseases. All these things need to be know to the public so that they may stop purchasing food just because it’s cheap as the government may set it up to be. The more consumers know, the more knowledge they can use to form their own opinion on the decisions they make on the food they purchase.

    This book shows the life of the farmers now of days and the whole nine yards. It is very much so up to date and I encourage you to read it. If you are a knowledgeable person who enjoys new wisdom and fun facts to stay healthy, I would very much so encourage this astounding book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    The Omnivore's Dilemma is a good book , and it informs you about

    The Omnivore's Dilemma is a good book , and it informs you about what's in your food and your eating habits. It also gave me new information too. It also helps you know about chermicals used in farms. Overall it's a good book and good for young readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    I’ve never had the experience of hunting and living on a


    I’ve never had the experience of hunting and living on a farm, but Michael Pollan made me feel as though I was there on the farm with him, learning things about farmers who use chemicals to help their plants or vegetables grow and how farm life can really be tiring and complicated at times ,as he explained the process it takes to farm and raise livestock.
    Pollan’s book explains to us the secrets behind what we buy in our supermarkets or anywhere. It tells us about the meat we ate, and its life on the farm whether it was good or bad, and how is made the way we see it in our grocery store’s or markets. It also gives us tips on healthy choices and warns us about the way the industrial food chain and other well known companies are trying to get you to purchase their product , when they aren’t using natural products as they say in the ingredients.
    From this book I’ve learned that there are still farmers who farm the right way, instead of the easy way. I also learned about how fast food companies such as ‘Yum’ supersize their product to make a bigger profit by selling it for less . If you want to find out more about the secrets behind what we eat….I Think You Should Read The BOOK!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    If you've always been one to know what's really in or behind the

    If you've always been one to know what's really in or behind the food you eat, then Pollan's book is the answer to your prayers. He gives you an inside look on the foods you eat; like where there from, how their made, what their made with, and much more insight. Although, reading this book may leave you thinking, "What can I eat then?", but that's not the point. The point he's trying to make is to inform you that not everything that looks good on the outside's good on the inside and that's why you should read labels and research where it came from and all that good stuff. Its better to know more than less, as Pollan would say.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. This would help you make good, healthy and delicious food choices. Some people became vegetarians some stopped being vegetarians; this book had help me understand organic food originality and how it is better for you than the supermarket brand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Must Read

    I bought both Omnivore's Deliema and the young reader's edition. I first read the young reader's and now my 11 year old daughter is. It is a very eye opening book. I heard of it from the movie, Food Inc.(must see). I tell everyone to read it. You will think about everything you eat in a different way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4