Customer Reviews for

On a Night Like This

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The sample worked fine for me. I already bought and read the boo

The sample worked fine for me. I already bought and read the book. I loved it! I'm so excited that Barbara Freethy is writing a new series. The Callways are an intriguing family and  Aiden and Sara are an awesome couple. If you love romance, connected books and lots of ...
The sample worked fine for me. I already bought and read the book. I loved it! I'm so excited that Barbara Freethy is writing a new series. The Callways are an intriguing family and  Aiden and Sara are an awesome couple. If you love romance, connected books and lots of emotion, you'll love this book!

posted by Didi476 on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love Barbara Freethy but...

I LOVE her books, but this was amateur compared to her other ones. Rather disappointed.

posted by 4222924 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    The sample worked fine for me. I already bought and read the boo

    The sample worked fine for me. I already bought and read the book. I loved it! I'm so excited that Barbara Freethy is writing a new series. The Callways are an intriguing family and  Aiden and Sara are an awesome couple. If you love romance, connected books and lots of emotion, you'll love this book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Romantic with a touch of mystery and I loved all the emotion tha

    Romantic with a touch of mystery and I loved all the emotion that Barbara put into the story. The characters really come to life. Already looking forward to the second book in the series!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    4.5 stars! I love Barbara Freethy's books, she is an excellent s

    4.5 stars! I love Barbara Freethy's books, she is an excellent story teller and keeps you engaged from beginning to end.  I am so excited for a new series. I loved the Callaway family! Sara and Aiden were fun and interesting, as individuals and as a couple. I am excited to read about the rest of the Callaway family.  Freethy did a great job of giving enough of a glimpse of each family member but still focusing on Aiden and Sara. Loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story that has lots of twists and turns. Love that Barbara

    Great story that has lots of twists and turns.
    Love that Barbara is doing another connected family book series. Absolutely loved the Angel's Bay books and am looking forward to more stories about the Callaway clan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    Terrific story. I liked the mystery as well as the romance. Kept

    Terrific story. I liked the mystery as well as the romance. Kept me guessing. I can't wait to read the next book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Love it

    This book is great I cannot wait to read it all!! Definately something I would recommend to my friends even family!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Love Barbara Freethy but...

    I LOVE her books, but this was amateur compared to her other ones. Rather disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    Wonderful! Loved it! This new series is off to a great start. Th

    Wonderful! Loved it! This new series is off to a great start. The family is really interesting. I liked the family dynamics and this author always brings great emotion to every story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    was a great book 

    was a great book 

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Fantastic story! Once I started reading, I couldn't put this boo

    Fantastic story! Once I started reading, I couldn't put this book down. So excited that Barbara is writing a new series. I already love the Callaways!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    WARNING! this book is Pornography!  very disappointed.   No resp

    WARNING! this book is Pornography!  very disappointed.   No respect for a writer who thinks they need that stuff to sell a book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Are you kidding me?

    Completely shocked at how many people like this book. It reads like a young teen wrote it. Unrealistic conversations, ridiculous details that I couldn't even try to be interested in... I'm just befuddled over all the likes. Are there THAT many readers with such little intelligence??

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Genevive51@gmail.com

    Add ne

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No name

    Not very impressed. Good story. Too redundant. How many times do we need to be told how smart Sara is or how handsome Aiden is. We get it . Just get on with the story. Hopefully will get better as the series goes along. Plan on reading the second book since the story is a good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Wonderful!!!

    Love this book. Can't wait to read more of Barbara Freethy's books. I have read several and loved all of them. I recommend all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Book...as always!

    Barbara Freethy is one of the best. If you haven't read her other books, try them too. This is the beginning of a new series and I can't wait for #2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was really a great book that deserves 10 stars. Barbara Fre

    This was really a great book that deserves 10 stars. Barbara Freethy never disappoints. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2015

    Before I started reading On a Night Like this by Barbara Freeth

    Before I started reading On a Night Like this by Barbara Freethy I assumed that it would be a standard love story. I could not have been more wrong. Book 1 in the Callaways series tells the love story of Aiden and Sara. It also follows the two characters as they search for answers within their own personal lives. Aiden is searching for the answers surrounding circumstances of the death of a close friend and Sara is trying to figure out her relationship with her last living relative. Her father. Their quest for answers causes Aiden and Sara to confront their feelings for each other. But are their feelings for each other strong enough to conquer the answers they find? Or will it tear them apart? On a Night Like This is a contemporary love story with suspense thrown in. I found this book to be an entertaining and emotionally charged read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    A latecomer as always, I¿ve been devouring this series at the ra

    A latecomer as always, I’ve been devouring this series at the rate of a book a night for the past short while:
    since I have eight to catch up on, that’s plenty of reading. This first in the Callaways series from Barbara Freethy
    had me intrigued and curious about the family and just where the story could go.

     Aiden is a smokejumper, a  firefighter that jumps out of airplanes. A dangerous profession, and one that is a
     sort of family legacy, Aiden’s career and life were going fine until his best friend Kyle was killed in the last fire
    of the season. Everyone, including Aiden blames him for the loss, one which he barely escaped alive, and the
    stress and trauma, not to mention grief and guilt are weighing heavily on him.

     Sara lived next door to the Callaways, a large, loud and boisterous family very different from her own
    emotionally absent lawyer father and loving mother. After her mother’s death when she was in university,
     Sara rarely returned home from New York, and her work in a law firm as she follows the track to partner, there
     isn’t time for the uncomfortable visits. But, she has returned home to make one last attempt to repair the
    relationship.

     From an emotional and harsh response, a family secret and a fire in which rescue just happens to
     be facilitated by Aiden, the story winds through moments with backstory and memories, introduction and a bit
    of an ongoing mystery as Sara and Aiden deal with the changes that have happened.

    Sara’s return provides
     the objective voice and perspective that Aiden needs. Not realizing that her crush from years ago is easily
    sparked anew, he also finds that his feelings for her just may be something special.

    Winding through their ‘getting to know you again’ story of these two dented and damaged people is a
     wonderful read: each has the right words and is able to support the other, shoring up their confidence as their
     relationship grows. While they deal with the family secret that Sara has discovered, clues are appearing
    about the fire that killed Kyle, and it just may not be exactly random. Mixing in other characters introduced as
    couples and singles show the depth and breadth of the family connections in the Callaways, and gives readers
    glimpses of more to come.

     The relationship between Sara and Aiden is lovely: they are truly a friends to lovers couple, and their
    backstories and information help in adding nuance and depth to both their relationship and the story.

     I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review with a Novel Publicity Blog Tour. I was
    not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2015

    Loved it

    Not bad at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9