Customer Reviews for

On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    I enjoy this whole series. All are available from Baen Books as

    I enjoy this whole series. All are available from Baen Books as e books for less than $6 each and some are on their free e library. Most of the books on my nook are from Baen.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    great book, but available for free from either Amazon or Apple a

    great book, but available for free from either Amazon or Apple as an ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    A Hard to put down series!!

    I love this series and reread the books all the time. Strong characters whose story lines I can't wait to continue in new books when they come out. David Weber builds a great world. I can just picture the action and scenes easily from his description. On Basilisk Station is a great start to Honor's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was quite impressed with this book. It did remind me of Phule'

    I was quite impressed with this book. It did remind me of Phule's Company by Robert Aspirin in many ways, but without the humor. I like the 'universe' Weber built his story around. But, the long descriptions of some of the more psuedo-technical aspects kind of turned me off (a little too much like trying to describe dilithium crystals or Jefferies Tubes for my liking). The interactions of the crew struck me as honest portrayals of how people in a hierarchical organization relate to one another. I really liked it.

    The eBook was formatted well with no obvious spelling or grammatical errors. There was the matter of no distinct separation between scenes within a chapter, but I think this might have to due with me converting to epub off of the Baen promotional CD files.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Came in good condition, good book.

    I really enjoyed this book because of it's take on the whole historical context of British naval terms from the early 19th century.
    Alas, that era is now over. But this book depicts what might happen if we were to carry on the ideals and type of speech of those people.
    It also paints a political scheme very well (if you can keep up with the numerous names of the societies and their characters!).

    I give it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    Enjoyed it from start to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Definitely a must read!

    This is one of those books that I have read many, many times and enjoy every single time! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Female Hornblower in Space

    The Honor Harrington series is space opera at its best with brave, loyal characters, incredible spaceships, and detailed space battles. Honor Harrington is Manticoran Navy to the core. The Manticoran system has three habitable planets - Manticore, Gryphon, and Sphinx. While the system is governed by a Queen and has a hereditary aristocracy, Honor is from yeoman stalk. She is a native of Sphinx and her parents are doctors. She doesn't have the patronage that many of her fellow Navy officers have. Fortunately, she is both more competent and luckier than most other officers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend this one!!

    This book has been hanging around in my library for a while staring at me just screaming at me to read it. Now that I have I wonder what took me so long! Well written with superb characters the story had enough real physics weaved into it to make it not only believable but flat out exciting. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves sci fact/fiction. For myself im looking forward to the next in line!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic Military Sci-Fi story!

    From the beginning the plot and the pace of "On Basilisk Station" was set and the story picks up and never stopped holding my interest. Honor Harrington is assigned to a large space command. Basilisk Station is the end of the line in the Navy - only those that have brought discredit to the Navy are sent there. But in Harrington's mind, all she believes is that she is being punished for doing her best in a very difficult situation. I was expecting a so-so read, not a great book, but was I pleasantly surprised, for this novel was fabulous - I couldn't put it down. If you enjoy military Sci-Fi I would recommend this book. So Long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Woot Woo

    Not quite as good as Ender's Game but dang . . . Honor Harrington sure comes close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun introduction to an exciting series

    "Commander Honor Harrington has enemies and she's about to make more of them!" That's what it says on the cover of this very traditional looking science fiction paperback. The slightly stern face of a young, female, naval captain stares out, dressed in smart uniform, obviously in charge, with fierce-looking cat on her arm.

    Well, given that this is science fiction, it's probably not a cat. Which explains the teeth. And the eyes.

    This is really my husband's sort of book. Naval battles in space. Formations, rules, regulations. Science, mathematics, space. Yes, definitely my husband's sort of book, except that the hero's a heroine.

    To be fair, I read all my husband's favorite books long ago and loved them. The only trouble with good old-fashioned science fiction was that the heroes were nearly always male. The same goes for good old-fashioned historical warfare books. Captain Sharpe. Midshipman Hornblower. Even in Star Wars it was the guys that got to do all the good stuff.

    So here's Honor Harrington in an imaginary world of the future, a solidly scientific world, a rigorously military world, and a man's world still, but one in which she excels. Wise decisions, clever intuition, assiduous willingness to trust in friends and turn enemies into allies.

    Okay, the politics got a bit much in places. Why make the enemies "evil" socialists instead of just failed ones? But even so, I was hooked by the story; a cleverly designed plot, intelligently designed science, cool spaceships and fascinating situations. I'll hope to read more, but On Basilisk Station is certainly a fun introduction to an exciting new character and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I read this book before listening to the audiobook version. The story is even better. Allyson gives personality to the story and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Find

    Although a long-time Sci-Fi fan, I had not read much in the past 20 years. Webber brought me back. After reading his brilliant "Off Armageddon Reef" (first of the Safehold series), I decided to read more of his work and was led to the Honor Harrington series, of which "On Basilisk Station" is the first.

    I was instantly enthralled and within a matter of weeks had purchased and read the entire eleven-book series.

    Webber's command of societies, philosophy, politics, and military matters makes for a sweeping, epic story. His skills with character development are everywhere but no more evident than in the enduring Harrington herself. The plots are expansive and deep.

    It is not necessary to love Sci-Fi to enjoy the Harrington odyssey. This is not a story made by the technology - it is simply a rich story set far in the future when technology has advanced. This is evidenced by the casual, offhand, and natural manner in which the technology is employed by the denzions of the "Honorverse."

    The story gains strength as the series progresses. However, if you have not read the Honor Harrington series, do yourself a favor and start with the first. You'll enjoy it even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Best Military SciFi in Print

    Honor Harrington kicks Butt! This character combines the best of Sigorney Weaver in Aliens plus C.S.Forester and Robert Heinlein. She has brains, luck and courage, and she refuses to give up no matter what the odds. She is a natural leader and attracts others who believe in the military 'ethos' that honor is the most important personal trait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Great book

    If you read this book, plan on buying the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    Military SF at its best

    I discovered Honor Harrington in the Baen Free Library...an expensive freebie since I went on to buy all the books. I'm not a big military genre fan and for many years rarely would read books by men, especially with female protaganists(so many male writers have such odd ideas about women). However, Weber portrays a woman who is neither madonna nor whore, who is neither soft and gooey nor hard and cold. What he portrays is a woman. Furthermore, the stories have depth, good characterizations of all the characters, and the storylines are sensible. The battle scenes are graphic and incredibly violent, but that is how it should be. If people only read sanitized violence in fiction, they'll think that violence is sanitary. All the books in this series are great but I will say that some of the later books have a lot of exposition, particularly about politics and technology. Technical explanations are in OBS but less politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    All women, All Hornblower, All Great

    I have read most of David Weber's books and recommend you start here. I love Honor Harrington and have completed the entire series TWICE and may soon read them again. Action, strong characters, great plots...Ok, so its a rip off of Hornblower but who cares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    An author among authors

    David Weber has succeeded in doing what all writers dream about doing: 'Keeping you entranced and enthralled.' You will find yourself reading no matter what the time and entranced regardless of what is going on around you. Having read all of the Honor Harrington series, to date, I find myself waiting anxiously for the next volume to hit the shelves. David Weber forces you to relate to the characters because they are lifelike. His background and research are indepth. You will find yourself in the midst of all the action as if you were actually living it. Fabulous author and fabulous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Excellent Book

    This book was excellent. An excellent book to open up a new series! Weber defined the character's to a perfection. Great story line! I already bought books two and three. Only thing I DIDNT like was when Harrington was running the training excersises that supposedly got her 'banished' to Basilisk Station. That part was very vague to me. Nevertheless, this book gets five stars. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4