Customer Reviews for

On Becoming Babywise

Average Rating 3.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Gift of Sanity to New Mothers

There is not enough space to write how grateful I am that someone took the time to research the wake, eat, sleep cycles of infants and wrote a book on it. Babywise is a must have for all new moms! I can tell you through personal experience that every method the Ezzos wr...
There is not enough space to write how grateful I am that someone took the time to research the wake, eat, sleep cycles of infants and wrote a book on it. Babywise is a must have for all new moms! I can tell you through personal experience that every method the Ezzos write on in this book works!! The argument that children whose wake, eat, sleep cycles are decided by their parents, are psychologically damaged is preposterous. Both of my children weighed 10 lbs. plus at birth and were heavy eaters and both were sleeping through the night by 10 weeks of age. This was no miracle. It was the intelligence of their mother to use the wisdom in this book and apply it's principles on scheduling her child's eating patterns, thus stabilizing the child's metabolism. Can this book be misused by legalist minds??? Yes, it can. But those who heed the warning in this book not to be legalistic about scheduling their child's day can have amazing things happening in their homes. The gift of sleep for a nursing mother/baby are priceless. Knowing why your baby is crying when they cry is incredible! Teaching your children at a later age to eat without pitching their food into the floor is a life skill. Training your children to have self-control and to be content to play alone for a small time each day is giving them opportunities to teach themselves. My children are amazing! But I have to give credit to the Ezzos and others who worked with them on publishing these books. Had I been made to feel guilty if I did not feed my child around the clock, share my bed, hold my baby every second of the day, rock him/her to sleep (which is beautiful, but unnecessary) I would have never had baby number two. Babywise gave me the gift of wanting to bring another precious being into this world, without fear of being burned out within the first four months of her life.
To all new mothers out there, read this book, it will bring you peace and sanity!

posted by JanieinTexas on February 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WORTHLESS! DO NOT USE THIS BOOK TO RAISE YOUR CHILD!

I found so many FALSE scientific statements in this book, it is appalling. This book offers advice that could cause physical and pyschological damage to your child. PLEASE do not follow the advice given in this book. Even the AAP stands against many of the statements in...
I found so many FALSE scientific statements in this book, it is appalling. This book offers advice that could cause physical and pyschological damage to your child. PLEASE do not follow the advice given in this book. Even the AAP stands against many of the statements in this book. I cry for the children whose parents believe this garbage! WHEN YOUR CHILD STOPS CRYING AT NIGHT, THAT MEANS THEY HAVE GIVEN UP AND KNOW YOU ARE NOT COMING. THIS IS PSYCHOLOGICALLY DAMAGING! NEW RESEARCH SHOWS THAT THIS ACTUALLY CAUSES BRAIN DAMAGE, INSECURITY, AND A HOST OF EMOTIONAL ISSUES! If you want to know how to raise a secure, well-behaved, loving, independent and happy child, please read Baby Bond by Linda Folden Palmer, The No-Cry Sleep Solution, Attachment Parenting: A Commonsense Guide to Understanding & Nurturing Your Baby, Mothering Magazine, or The Baby Sleep Book. These are MUCH more insightful and offer SCIENTIFIC documentation that is not taken out of context. Many of the so-called scientific excerpts from the experts in this book were taken out of context by the author. This book disgusts me and I cannot recommend it to ANY parent! PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

posted by Delanea on December 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Gift of Sanity to New Mothers

    There is not enough space to write how grateful I am that someone took the time to research the wake, eat, sleep cycles of infants and wrote a book on it. Babywise is a must have for all new moms! I can tell you through personal experience that every method the Ezzos write on in this book works!! The argument that children whose wake, eat, sleep cycles are decided by their parents, are psychologically damaged is preposterous. Both of my children weighed 10 lbs. plus at birth and were heavy eaters and both were sleeping through the night by 10 weeks of age. This was no miracle. It was the intelligence of their mother to use the wisdom in this book and apply it's principles on scheduling her child's eating patterns, thus stabilizing the child's metabolism. Can this book be misused by legalist minds??? Yes, it can. But those who heed the warning in this book not to be legalistic about scheduling their child's day can have amazing things happening in their homes. The gift of sleep for a nursing mother/baby are priceless. Knowing why your baby is crying when they cry is incredible! Teaching your children at a later age to eat without pitching their food into the floor is a life skill. Training your children to have self-control and to be content to play alone for a small time each day is giving them opportunities to teach themselves. My children are amazing! But I have to give credit to the Ezzos and others who worked with them on publishing these books. Had I been made to feel guilty if I did not feed my child around the clock, share my bed, hold my baby every second of the day, rock him/her to sleep (which is beautiful, but unnecessary) I would have never had baby number two. Babywise gave me the gift of wanting to bring another precious being into this world, without fear of being burned out within the first four months of her life.
    To all new mothers out there, read this book, it will bring you peace and sanity!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I read to prepare for baby!

    I purchased this book at the advice of my pediatrician and it was incredible. By following the advice in the book, my son started sleeping through the night at 7 weeks and 1 day! I have already started on the next book! A definite must by for anyone expecting a baby!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Got my son sleeping through the night at 2 months

    I cannot say enough good things about this book IF you read it from the first to the last page and use your own common sense. I was trying the 3 hour schedule at first and the day I changed to the 2,5 hour schedule, he slept from 11:30pm to 6am. He is now 9 months old, sleeps from 7:30 pm to 7 am, eats very well, is always content and is on the 80th percentile for weight and 90th for height. Just remember that at the beginning they are always hungry. I wish you luck!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    AWESOME BOOK

    I breastfed both of my babies and followed this book, adjusting it to our needs, and it gave me the sanity I needed to continue breastfeeding for so long. It's not for everyone, but it does indeed work for a breastfeeding mother. An overtired, extremely sleep deprived mother who feels like a pacifier due to on demand feedings and is considering 'giving it up' because of this would benefit from this method. We can't all be martyrs. Especially when we have older toddlers to take care of!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Worked great for us

    Although not a fan of his subsequent books, I applied this approach with my first child and kept my sanity while I breastfed her for 12 months. She was sleeping from 10pm to 5am by about 8 - 10 weeks. Another mother in my playgroup also applied his approach and had similar success. The three other gals were exhausted from the demand feedings and the unpredictable schedules... I did not abide by his recommendations so rigorously with my second child and she did not sleep through the night until 11 months old. We were miserable -- the whole year is blur. We're expecting our third in a month and I've already started re-reading this. I highly recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Extremely Happy

    This book was recommended to me by a friend before my son was born. By following the eat, wake, sleep pattern my son is now 3 months old and is sleeping 11-12 hours a night and has over doubled his birth weight. He is such a happy baby. He hardly ever cries. It is very cool to hear him cooing as he wakes up. This book also teaches you how to make sure your baby is growing healthy and how to understand what different cries mean and how best to help your child. It makes a lot of sense.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    A Huge Help

    My son is the happiest little man you could ever meet. He is in the top 90th percentile for his length and weight and started sleeping through the night when he was 6 weeks old. He is healthy and (as his doctors says) 'the picture of health'. My husband and I loved this book, it makes alot of sense. Our son doesn't rely on food to sooth him to sleep, we can put him down and he falls asleep on his own, with no help from us. He's a happy, independant 8 month old.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Try it yourself...

    When you meet children who are actually raised by these principles they are happy and well-adjusted and the parents are too! It's not a rigid schedule, there is flexibilty in it. It is kind and loving to raise a family this way.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    A must-read for parents!

    I highly recommend this book. Many of my friends used it successfully and I was sold before my son was born. I do think that one needs to be aware of what works for one's baby. Babywise emphasizes (correctly) that flexibility is important. Some babies need to eat more often than others. The examples are very helpful, as are the suggested time lines for when a baby should be sleeping a certain number of hours. It's not easy to schedule a baby at first, but the book also provides a context for why it is important to establish guidelines for a child from the very beginning. I refer to the book frequently and give it as a gift to every new mom I know. I know there is controversy about the book, but that doesn't change that when used wisely, this book is an invaluable resource for parents who refuse to accept the stress and emotional havoc of demand feeding. My mother demand-fed me and my brothers and she is so impressed with how easy my 8-month-old is to care for and how easy-going he is. I breast-fed exclusively and he went from the 50th percentile at birth to the 90th percentile at two months and has stayed in that range. He was sleeping six hours a night by seven weeks and has now been sleeping 11-12 hours a night since he was four months old and still takes three naps. He slept through the night on his own; he wasn't forced to do it. This book was a life-saver!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    IT REALLY WORKS!!

    It worked perfectly with my child. He slept through the night at 6 weeks. It really saved my worries. I read it before he was born. I started in the hospital immediately and it was great. Read the next Babywise, it is just as good too. Pass the book on to your friends. They will have peaceful nights too.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    READ THIS BOOK!!

    A friend recommended this book highly and we have benefitted greatly from the schedule the book outlines, as has our daughter. She went from a feed on demand sleeping schedule where we, and she, got little to no quality sleep to sleeping through the night 8 -10 hours in less than a week. Everyone we have talked to that followed this regimen was thoroughly pleased. You, your spouse, and your child will all reap the benefits. Read This Book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    A MUST FOR ALL PARENTS!

    I've used this book with both of my children & have never regretted it! They both slept through the night at 8 weeks, plus took 2 naps a day. They nursed on a flexible schedule, and developed wonderfully! There are some people who take some of the things in this book out of context, and that's a shame because Babywise families are Happy families. This book isn't about rigid rules or letting your baby scream for hours. It's about gradually, and naturally getting your baby on track so that he/she gets the sleep and food he needs. People forget that babies need a good nights sleep, too! All of the Babywise babies I know have developed wonderfully and are very content and happy babies! And children that are used to a normal routine do better in school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Highly Recommend - despite the negative reviews

    I am so disheartened to read the negative reviews that bash this book with claims like "child abuse" and "psychologically damaging." I am currently raising my third son using the principals in Babywise, and I couldn't be more pleased with the results! My twin sons (who are now 9 years old) slept through the night at 11 weeks, and continue to be excellent sleepers to this day. Our newest addition, nearly 6 weeks old now, has gradually increased to six hours of restful sleep at night. For naps and nighttime sleep, he falls asleep contentedly, sleeps peacefully, and wakes happy and ready to eat.

    I am saddened by the false and hideous claims that some reviewers have made that Babywise calls for parents to ignore their screaming babies, condemning them to simply lose hope as they wait in dark rooms for the attention that never comes. As a parent who has experienced first-hand the long-term benefits of implementing the eat-wake-sleep routine recommended by Babywise, I can surely say that any nighttime (or any other time, for that matter) screaming would certainly be met with loving attention.

    I will add that the first chapter of the book, which focuses largely on family values as determined by the authors, is take it or leave it. Honestly, you could skip the preface and first chapter entirely and get great value out of the rest of the book.

    I'm so grateful Babywise was recommended to me nearly a decade ago! I give it much credit for our happy and well-adjusted boys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Fabulous!

    This book helped me get my baby on a schedule, which was exactly what I was looking for! I read the negative reviews of this book and I think those readers completely ignored what the author wrote. He very clearly states that you should use the ADVICE that works best for you and your lifestyle. If there was anything in the book that you did not agree with, skip it. After reading this book and following the guidelines set forth, my child was on a flexible schedule and she was a very happy, healthy baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Sanity Saver! A must read for all parents.

    I am a mom of 3 and used this technique on all of them. I truly believe it helped to save my sanity. KNOWING that my baby was hungry instead of wondering what was wrong was such a comfort. I've seen moms struggle to comfort a crying baby by nursing them when they did not want to eat then the mom getting frustrated as well. It really helps to teach them day from night and without fail they were all sleeping through the night by 2 1/2 months. They were happy, I was happy, it was wonderful! Don't believe all the negativism out there. This works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I was given this book at my baby shower and it was suggested that I read it and take it with a grain of salt. She told me some things are good, some not so much. This was the ONLY book I read before my little man was born and boy howdy am I glad I did! It seems natural to want to feed them before they go to sleep but the schedule suggested in this book has worked fantastically. He got his days and nights figured out within days of coming home from the hospital. He is so happy all the time and only cries when he really wants something (eat, sleep or dirty diaper). There is no fussiness in our household and at five months he is still taking 3 naps during the day. When he wakes up and smiles big at me, I know the stuff I learned from this book has worked.

    As with any book, yes there are things that would not apply. But, take the basic principles and adjust them to your needs. If you learn nothing else from this book - please learn about the 45 minute intruder!It is absolutely real though it doesn't happen all the time.

    I am looking forward to reading book II and learning about 5-15 months and baby sign language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    SAVED OUR LIVES!!

    I LOVE this book! Sure there are some parts you wont like but honestly, that's any parenting theory etc. I didnt use this for my daughter and BOY DO I WISH I HAD! She was a TERRIBLE Sleeper. I did the demand feeding, bc I thought that's what I was suppose to do. And for SOME that is GREAT! But it wasn't going to work for me the 2nd time around. I had gone through "Growing Kids God's Way" The Ezzo's bible study for raising 2+ age, and really liked their philosophies. So a friend let us barrow Babywise and we are so thankful she did. Our son has been sleeping nearly 12 hrs since he was about 8 weeks old!!!! We didn't starve him, we did what the book said and used good judgment. That's the thing, this book requires GOOD JUDGEMENT! IF you lack that as a parent, DO NOT TRY THIS BOOK!! There were times I was frustrated cause he wasn't getting the hang of it, just yet but now he is 4 mths old and sleeps 10 hrs most nights with 3 naps during the day! I am recommending this book to everyone. Honestly, if you dont want to read through the beginning, just skip to the MEAT of it in the later chapters. But definitely go back and read the beginning later to fully understand what and why you are doing what you are doing. I am about to read the 2nd book!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    ONLY baby book I read while pregnant (aside from What To Expect).

    I HIGHLY recommend this book for expecting mom's and/or dad's. My husband and I read it together and made sure we were on the same page for the Parent-Led feedings before our first daughter was even born. I am SO grateful to my sister-in-law for giving me this book when I was pregnant because I feel it helped my husband and I start off on the right foot. The early weeks with a newborn are crazy enough, but getting the feeding schedule figured out from the very beginning is the best thing you could possibly do for yourself. Your sanity will thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Great Guideline!

    This book is wonderful! Many people who gave it negative reviews must not have read it carefully. It encourages parents to listen carefully to their child in order to determine their needs. As a breastfeeding mom, I found it a little difficult to follow in the first few weeks after baby's birth, but within a month or so everything fell right into place! I used this with both of my daughters, and it is a wonderful guide. This book is NOT telling people not to feed a hungry baby, nor does it encourage parents to have a rigid inflexible schedule. Regular meal times and nap times are important to children, and having some structure in a daily routine makes for a secure and confident child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    for NORMAL PARENTS!

    Well I happen to find most of these reviews so laughable! I am a mother of 5 girls 16, 13, 9, 7, 4,and I have an absolutly wonderful relationship with all of them. I have seen and witneesed the horrible effects of the so called La leche crazy moms who don't allow their child to become part of a healthly family but instead allow the child to dictate what and how the family does things. Divorce almost happens or does happen b/c of this. Fathers are pushed out of the bed to make room for the new boss of the family. It is not a healthy way of raising children. I have seen the chilren of these family's and I have cried out for them! They are hardly able to function with other people while their parents make excuses for why they miss school (b/c of attachment) or can't go to soccer practice with out running to mom and crying. You people call this healthy. They also tend to be very overwhelmed with fear of just about everything and sleep with their parent for far to long (like age 10). I really think the parents that raise their children in this way are the ones with the mental problem. I read this book with my fourth daughter and realized I was doing things in the proper manner already. I had just never been able to nurse my first three so I was looking for some other advise other then the demand feeding (which I tried with my third but she was so miserable and crabby never got any kind of good sleep) So my lack of understanding that she really had enough brest milk I switched to formula. But with my fourth I was determend to nurse the whole first year. So really this book just let me know to do thhe same thing I was already doing but using the breast at feedings rather than the bottle. I have always gotten complements on how HAPPY my babies are and I tell people that it really is because of the structure they have. To say that structure is cruel is stupidy. Structure is what gives stability and security. Children need parents for that not servants!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6