Customer Reviews for

On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is "the book" for any who's serious about cooking.

    This book covers everything from apples to zuchini. If you ever were curious about the why's of cooking, this book has the answers. Theres no recipes and very few pictures. It's not a cookbook. It is a definitive reference on anything and everything food related. You will have a greater understanding of food chemistry after reading this book. After the first few pages I learned how to pick out fresher eggs at the supermarket. It also dispels common food myths like searing steaks. Searing steaks only imparts flavors, it does nothing to seal in juices. If you find this interesting, don't hesitate any longer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    An Essential Guide

    Having read about this book in the Dallas Morning News, I paid little attention to it at first, but decided to pick it up regardless...and upon opening to a random page, immediately learned ten things I hadn't known before. As a novice in the field of cooking, I still find this book to be indispensable and can only imagine how much more it would be to professionals.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    . Foundational Work

    I am slowly learning how to cook. This work might almost overwhelm me. Sometimes it does, but the information informs television cooking programs and cookbooks. The format lets me access useful information quickly. Dr. McGee writes clearly. He explains complex technical matters in ways that I usually understand. I enjoy browsing this work. Dr. McGee makes me want to experiment. His work encourages me to take chances with cooking and to explore cookbooks. I have a revision of the "Joy of Cooking", "Galatoire's Cookbook", James E. McWilliams' "A Revolution in Eating: How the Quest for Food Shaped America", Alice Water's Chez Panisse Vegetables", Reader' Digest "Live Longer Cookbook", and several other books. The core work is Dr. McGee's work. I also have several old cookbooks that include some classic works, including some by Elizabeth David, James Beard, and M.F.K. Fisher, but those I listed are the ones now in my kitchen. I hope slowly to build a library of books on cooking and cookbooks. I want to add Dr. McGee's new book. The price is moderate for such a resource.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    An extremely detailed cooking reference like no other!

    I am currently a culinary student and I am enjoying every minute of school. I keep checking out the book stores to see any cooking books that I could add to my collection. I came across this book and had to have it. I glance at this book almost after every class or even while I'm studying the cooking books for our classes. This book has helped me learn more about the boiling points of sugar or yeast metabolism among many other facts. Having this book will allow me to become a more knowledgeable chef.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    An Excellent Food Science Reference Book - Completely Revised and Updated

    Harold McGee's On Food and Cooking is truly a classic volume in its field and a must have volume for anyone involved the food industry; whether, a food scientist, dietitian, professional chef, or just someone wondering how or why food is the way it is. As a high school chemistry teacher who also teaches food chemistry as part of a Design Technology Class, I have found it to be an invaluable resource. It is not a typical cookbook with a bunch of recipes and it was not intended to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    For those with a Serious Passion for food!

    This book has been my bible for the past 10 years. If you are really serious about being a great cook, this book is a must. I am not a professional chef and I have no formal training. Yet this book has given me an excellent education. It is one thing to learn the art of cooking, which may be something that can never be taught. This is the science of cooking and understanding the science will give you the base of knowledge you need to become a true and accomplished chef.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gift

    My mom read the whole book in 2 days. So I am pretty sure she liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    I cannot stop reading!

    As a scientist, I find this book terrifically well-written, engaging, and informative - it has given me a really enjoyable and knowledgeable take on my cooking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    on Food and Cooking

    very lovely book! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    F**king Amazing

    This book really is the ultimate collection of knowledge about food. I never thought so much about what goes on in my food until I read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Must have for all those foodies!

    Find out why some foods work with others, why you need water or milk in some recipes, what happens to proteins when you sear meat. This and so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2