Customer Reviews for

On Fortune's Wheel

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Amazing! One of my favs!

    This book got me into reading Voigt's other Novels of the Kingdom. I loved it so much. It touched my heart. I will be sad when I finish reading all the others. I will read this book again and again and I will pass it on to others!The others are good, but this one touched me in a special way. It is the best out of all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    It's hard to know why I love this book...

    When I first read this book I imidiately decided it was my favorite. This may have been because I was twelve and had just discovered romance. But, I've gotten over that and it's still great! Though there's no magic it definately reads like fantasy(which I've always been a sucker for). Yeah, it's romantic, but there's also plenty of adventure and other emotions involved. Recomended to all you girls out there who read to get your heart stolen by book characters and then laugh at yourself for it later :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIMES!!!

    I have to say that this book touched my heart. I couldn't put it down. I've read it 5 times and still want to read it again. If this was made into a movie I would watch it over and over again. Great characters! Great Story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    If I could, I'd give it ten stars!!

    One of the best books of all time! Full of adventure from the moment Birle is introduced. I highly reccomend this great story! Birle, Orien, Yul, and even the corrupt Corbell are believable, realistic charachters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    It was sooo good!I know I must have read it more than 5 times,and I could never put it down it was so great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Definitely Worth Your Time

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to any of you out there that like historical fiction/adventure. Though I admit that it took several chapters to get me completely immersed in this wonderful story, I couldn¿t have wanted a better book to read. It certainly was a captivating tale with beautiful descriptions and smooth wording that all flowed together beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    AN EXCELLENT PORTRAYAL OF A LOVE WHICH CANNOT BE BROKEN!

    Beryl follows the man she falls in love with from her dull life as Innkeeper's daughter to a fearful land where they are torn apart and kept as slaves and only united in war. The ending couldn't have been better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    On Foutune's Wheel was a wonderful book!

    I loved this book! Sometimes I was reading it before I went to bed I wouldn't be able to put it down and I stay up realy late. It is a very good book for people that like historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    the BEST book

    i thought this book was great. i don't usually like endings to books but this one i loved. i reall recomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    A Great Romance!

    If this book was boring anytime throughout the book( which it wasn't) the ending would make up for it all by itself! O that ending was such a wonderful ending. It was the best ending I have read in forever!Ok I thought the story was great...her time as a slave the escape. All was Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    the best

    i dont read much, but when i started readin this one, i couldnt put it down. its so descriptive and makes you get into the book with the characters. it was the best book ive ever read, and ive actually now read it three times! i recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Awesome book!

    I loved this book, and it soon became my favorite book of all time! I loved the suspense between Birle and Orien, if they were going to end up together or not. Great character development, and plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    I LUVED IT!

    I thought this book was great. Cynthia Voigt is a great writer and can write fantasies and romance and then also girls stuggle through life (the tillerman serries) All her books are great, but i think i like the Kingdoms serries the best! and especially on fortunes wheel! It has romance, adventure, and a girls struggle through life to find herself. After I was done I wish their was more to it! and i had to go out and get the next book in the serries, out of all of the books i think jackaroo and on fortunes wheel are the best but the others are really good too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    My absolute favourite book of all time!

    It's real and you feel like you have lived Birle's life. I have read it about 10 times and never get tired of it. I can not put it down. The begininng is might be slow if you need fast paced books, but once you get into it , it catches your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    IT WAS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book wasn't the best book I've read in a while because I've started reading Cynthia Voigt's other books and ALL ARE EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!! If you want an awsome read, read this!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I JUST GOT DONE READING IT AND I DIDN'T WANT TO LET GO OF IT.YOU FEEL LIKE YOUR BIRLE,AND YOUR IN LOVE WITH ORIEN YOURSELF.IT STARTS OUT SLOW,BUT ONCE YOU GET INTO IT YOU CAN'T PUT IT DOWN.AFTERWARDS I DIDN'T FEEL LIKE READING ANOTHER BOOK AFTER I READ THIS ONE. I'D DEFINATLY READ THIS BOOK AGAIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Not only for kids...

    I read this book as a senior in high school and now am 22years old. I still love it, as well as Jackaroo, and can't wait to own them. They are wonderful stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Legend of Experience

    I thought this was a great book surley an adventure for n-e one who reads it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    A beautiful, beautiful book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I fell in love with the characters and I couldn't put the book down. This book has mixed emotions that make you want to cry or shout for joy. I highly reccommend this book to teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    This is a really really good book

    I give this book five stars because it had adventure, romance,and real life situations all in one. It ended very happily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2