BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

On Gold Mountain: The One-Hundred-Year Odyssey of My Chinese-American Family

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Read

On Gold Mountain is a memoir of Lisa See's family over the last century. It is a work of non-fiction, however it reads very, very much like a fiction novel; thanks to Lisa See's writing. From a historical standpoint, it provides a history of immigration of the Chinese t...
On Gold Mountain is a memoir of Lisa See's family over the last century. It is a work of non-fiction, however it reads very, very much like a fiction novel; thanks to Lisa See's writing. From a historical standpoint, it provides a history of immigration of the Chinese to California,and the trials and obstacles for those who came to Gold Mountain. I am very surprised that there are so few reviews of this book. I would highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy an outstanding book. If you have read Lisa See's other books and liked them, I would definitely recommend this one. As you read this book, you can't help being drawn into the See family, and you establish an emotional connection with them. Heck, by the end of the book, I felt that I was a member of the See family. It was extremely helpful that Lisa See had a family tree in the front of the book; to delineate the numerous members of the family. It's truly a great read!

posted by 1530715 on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting view into early US/California history

Not well written but offers a unique and personal view of prejudices and early California/U.S. history. See's grandmother (or greatgrandmother-can't remember, it's been a while since i read it) must have been a fascinating and strong female in a time when women were not...
Not well written but offers a unique and personal view of prejudices and early California/U.S. history. See's grandmother (or greatgrandmother-can't remember, it's been a while since i read it) must have been a fascinating and strong female in a time when women were not expected to be smart, opinionated or strong-willed.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fantastic Read

    On Gold Mountain is a memoir of Lisa See's family over the last century. It is a work of non-fiction, however it reads very, very much like a fiction novel; thanks to Lisa See's writing. From a historical standpoint, it provides a history of immigration of the Chinese to California,and the trials and obstacles for those who came to Gold Mountain. I am very surprised that there are so few reviews of this book. I would highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy an outstanding book. If you have read Lisa See's other books and liked them, I would definitely recommend this one. As you read this book, you can't help being drawn into the See family, and you establish an emotional connection with them. Heck, by the end of the book, I felt that I was a member of the See family. It was extremely helpful that Lisa See had a family tree in the front of the book; to delineate the numerous members of the family. It's truly a great read!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My New Family

    On Gold Mountain is, without doubt, one of the best books I have read. After reading Shanghai Girls by Lisa See, I wanted to read the nonfiction story of Lisa's family. The book reads like a novel. She tells the good, the bad, and the ugly. By the end of the book, I felt that I had gained a new family. The book is long with itty-bitty print, but the story is so good, the reading time flies. The story is really genius! How difficult it must have been to start with one's great, great grandfather in the 19th century, find fascinating material, work with the two countries of China and the United States of America, and tell the story to well into the present. I truly grew to love the ancient and traditional Fong See and all of his children by Ticie. How times have changed since we were a land of politically incorrect laws! The famiy overcomes every adversity with a devotion to family, hard work, creativity, and an enjoyment of each other that delights the very soul. Every family has a story, but to tell it in detail and with the fascination of Ms. See's great writing ability is, as I said, "GENIUS!" The book is all heart and love. I hope there will be other memiors as her life progresses.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    History At It's Best

    Lisa See will answer a hundred questions you always wanted to know about the Chinese, their immigration to "Gold Mountain" and their wonderful culture. Never have I read a book so full of real people, their life and the world around them. This is a "can't put it down" piece of literature for sure!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    Wow! What a book!

    This book was so entertaining that I couldn't put it down. It offers a wonderfully vivid look into a period of our history that seems to be often overlooked. It give details of our country's past as well as that of Lisa's personal heritage. Lisa weaves history in with her story so well, you feel as if you have been there and know these people. Definitely five stars and two thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    great story

    This is a book about a chinese family in and around LA and SF. Great story and even more interesting if you are from CA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    On Gold Mountain

    I have read all of Lisa See's books and this is my favorite.
    If you enjoy reading about the histoty of the Chinese in America this book is for you. I couldn't put it down.
    Please consider putting this out in e book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT! I just love Lisa See's books, should have read this on

    LOVED IT!
    I just love Lisa See's books, should have read this one first, for me a story is more interesting when it involves real people, this is HER family history. The story reminded me that we should sit and listen to our elders tell their story so its not lost, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly Recommed

    I loved it! Interesting, full of history, exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2