Customer Reviews for

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend that you read this book and that you give it

    I highly recommend that you read this book and that you give it to others, as personal circumstances "dictate." Kubler Ross is a legend in the field of grief counseling (she passed away within the last year) and Kessler brings remarkable humanitarian credentials of his own to the writing task. Their combined efforts results in producing a highly readable, compassionate, insightful, and useful book, nothing short of superb. The book is very humane and compassionate and "teaches with short, clear and concrete stories" that analyze some of the many possible surrounding circumstances that others have faced in losing loved ones. Potentially, we and the people we know could face such circumstances as well. In addition, with these stories, the authors provide relevant and insightful advice and the reasons for that advice.This book does a wonderful job of exploring the flood of emotions you feel after you lose someone.      

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Excellent book!

    A most excellent source for the grieving. It was as though someone tapped into my mind and with gentle but specific clarity, conveyed in words I could not, exactly what I was feeling, and explaining the why to my reactions to my loss. There is a process to grieving and it is not only natural but necessary to healing which allows us the ability to grow from our experience and continue to live with new strengths.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Step by Step Day by Day, some clarity through the fog

    After I lost my son, I searched through the grief section of barnes and noble and found this and other books. This book gave me a base of clarity and sense that helped me and is helping me through the process of grief.

    It is different for everyone, but for me this book helped a lot and I recommend it to all who are interested in this subject.

    Thanks to the authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Dignity of grieving

    Not really about the stages, more about helping one realize some important truths by experiencing the grieving stories of others . Important truths that if you heard them you would say they are maybe obvious but after reading so many short stories of grieving you feel like you have permission to grieve. That it really is a sacred duty that is special and mundane at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    This book is very good for someone who lost a loved one

    My husband passed away almost two years ago unexpectedly while my mother was battling cancer and she died 7 months later. I read many different books on death and grief and dealing with it all. This was probably the one that made the most sense to me and I recommend it for anyone who has lost a love one and needs some reassurances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A most comforting and deeply empathic book for all those who grieve the loss of a loved one.

    When my father died of aortic stenosis four years ago, I was devastated. I had not anticipated my loss to be felt as intensely, for my grief to be so deeply experienced, so raw and debilitating. Having been a Masters-degreed level social worker for 28 years I knew, however, that reading books about grieving, seeking out grief counseling and attending bereavement groups would be profoundly healing experiences for me. Dr Kubler-Ross's and David Kessler's book ON GRIEF and GRIEVING has been the sixth book I have read about grieving and it has been the most helpful. Their stating "we believe with all our hearts that even in death, our loved one still exists..and that "the body is just a coat, a suit of clothes that we wear during our lifetime...a shell, a cocoon..." helped me like you would not believe. I had suffered a great deal of guilt about not being as helpful and supportive to my father as I wish I could have been in his final days. The book touched my core by giving me permission to forgive myself, that regret is a part of loss and that "no matter how much you did for your loved one, how much you cared for them and loved them, there will always be something else." The book concludes that "the pain of loss is so intense, so heartbreaking BECAUSE in loving we deeply connect with another human being and grief is the REFLECTION of the connection that has been lost. Grief is the healing process that ultimately brings us comfort in our pain. That pain and our love are connected forever. To avoid the pain of loss would be to avoid the love and life we shared." I, therefore, STRONGLY recommend this book to ALL who grieve the loss of a loved one and have a need to be comforted. The Bible itself says "Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted." This book IS one of the ways that one can feel that comfort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Excellent Book

    This book was recommended to me by two different people. I read several books on grief during a difficult time, and this was the best one. I bought another copy to give to my father in law who recently lost his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    On the ocean...

    I lost my father 6/18/09 and my mother 8/16/09, both this summer. I wrote this to my daughter this morning, three weeks to the day of my mom's passing:

    "If you do pick up a book, make sure you share it with close ones around you since many will not grieve or mourn like we do and as you can already see, some want things to move forward quickly in order to move beyond these very painful and uncomfortable feelings. This book may help give them insight into your experience. Some lack empathy. Some probably want 'the old Christina' back but that is not to be. You are changed forever. On one hand, if 'they' don't want you to share this material with them or are not interested, then they probably don't factor in to your long term future but on the other hand, don't force the material either. Everyone does it differently and not always the way we want or would like or would expect. I highly recommend the Elisabeth Kubler-Ross book because she is the one who developed the original theory of 5 stages of loss. It's an easy read and you will see a lot of yourself there."

    Love,

    Dad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    On Grief and Grieving

    I just recently lost my brother in a tragic accident and have been struggling to find answers to unanswerable questions. Death is difficult enough and when it comes unexpectedly and tragically it adds another painful dimension that's hard to fathom. This book provided me a strong sense of comfort by detailing the experiences and struggles of many that have already gone down this path. This book is a must for anyone who has lost a dear one. To know that we are not alone in this inevitable life experience is comforting and I am grateful to the authors for their sage words of wisdom. I have come out of this stronger and with a more compelling sense of living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Losing a Daughter

    I just cannot tell you how helpful this book was in assisting through my early grieving period after losing my daughter to breast cancer. I didn't understand why I felt so bereft but after reading the first couple of chapters, I understood that this was normal. I am buying this book for others to read when they lose a loved one. It was a lifesaver for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Helping your grieving to make sense...

    I lost my mother suddenly to cancer. Kubler-Ross' books have always helped me understand death ~ as an outsider. But, now I've needed help understanding it for myself. Her book is so comforting. It helps you to understand that what you are experiencing is 'normal' and that grieving is individual and personalized. Everyone should be handed this book when he/she loses a loved one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2