Customer Reviews for

On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On Hummingbird Wings

    It has been quite a while since I have read anything by Jauraine Snelling, but the cover of her newest book captured my attention, watching hummingbirds is one of my favorite summertime passtimes. So I chose this book based on its cover, and wasn't dissapointed.

    Allie and Gillian are sisters who are totally different or so it seems. While Allison always seemed to be the favored sister, she married had a family and stayed in California, close to home and has been helping her mother. Gillian on the other hand left home, moving to New York were she became a corperate executive. Its been five years since Gillian has been home, a fact that Allie quickly reminds her of, when she makes a call pleading for help with their mother, who has taken to her bed and refuses to eat. Gillian is annoyed at first with the intrusion into her day, but starts toying with the idea of going home, and in a move that even surprises herself, she tells her boss she is going out of town on a family emergency.What was supposed to be a weekend stay turns into something else, when she is told that her company has been bought out and she is out of a job. Will she return to New York, or will she realize that what she really wants is in California.




    I enjoyed this one. It really looks at the relationship between the two sisters, while Allie seems to have the perfect life, perfect husband, home and children, she isn't really content. The relationship between the two sisters seems very realistic, with each one believing that the other one was the mothers favorite. When Gillian comes home and finds everything a mess, it was easy to see that Allie had been overwhelmed with the responsibility of being her mothers caregiver while trying to do everything for her family.

    The sweet relationship that develops between Gillian and the next door neighbor Adam was nice, and Thor and Winnie the two canines in the story were a great addition.

    This was a smooth easy read, but not something that kept me turning the pages, for me it was a relaxing read, something I could put down and pick up again. While I didn't love the story I really liked it.Fans of contemporary christian fiction that deal with family issues should definatly give this one a look.

    I was provided a complimentary copy of this book (thanks Sarah) in exchange for an honest review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    A very good read

    This book was so fascinating. Not what I expected by the title, but it is a great read. I enjoyed it so much! Lauraine Snelling is such a gifted writer! I try and read every book she wrote. I doubt I have, but I have read so many of them. You can't go wrong with one of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    I loved this book. It was my first time reading anything by this

    I loved this book. It was my first time reading anything by this author and I absolutely loved it. Cant wait to read more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Courageous Growth!

    Gillian Ormsby is a powerful business executive whose world is about to come to a shrieking halt, with massive changes forcing her to review her entire life. She's used to the tension of her consuming job but is now about to undergo a true test of stamina. For her mother, Dorothy, has decided she is dying; and to make sure she gets the message across, she's not eating or talking. All she does is sleep. Gillian's sister, Allie, calls for desperately needed help because she just can't cope. At the same time, Gillian discovers on the news that her company has been bought out and she's out of a job, albeit with a severance package. So Gillian moves from Manhattan in New York to California to take care of her mother and to eventually plan for her very vague future. Huge stressors!

    But Gillian's life is about to be blessed through the friendship of Adam, a neighbor who shares her love of gardening, and Enzio who is a friend to Dorothy, even when he's not wanted. No one can figure out at first how to find out what's really wrong with Dorothy and how to get her living again.

    Little by little, without me providing a spoiler, Gillian learns to relax even though she's doing lots of physical things. Allie finally tells her, after pages and pages of snide remarks and alternative silence, what's really bugging her. A plan begins to emerge, but even Gillian isn't prepared for the shocking revelations she receives in a series of emails and is pleased to bits about the relationship with Adam that seems to be evolving in a wonderful way.

    On Hummingbird Wings is a novel about what's first and foremost, the blessings of family and friends, exactly as they are. These conflicts bring Gillian into a world of practical faith that stands the daily tests, simple or gigantic! People rather than work become the priority in her new world. This is a novel about growing, changing, and loving in a creative, accepting, inspiring, and real way. Very nicely done, Ms. Snelling!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    You must check this book out.

    I recommend this book to anybody. Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorite authors. I liked all the characters in this book. very enjoyable.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mother Daughter Relationships

    How nice to read a contemporary work. The protagonist, Gillian, is a successful New York businesswoman. She's climbed her way to the top of the corporate heap, but then, the bottom drops out of her world. Her sister, back home in California, calls for Gillian to come home because their mother is dying. During Gillian's weekend visit, she discovers that her company has been bought out, and she is out of a job! Gillian is left to figure out what she wants to do with the remainder of her life. Stay in California? Return to New York? Change careers?

    The author realistically paints the mother/daughter portrait and stress of the two sisters. Each sister thinks that the other is the one that "mother loved best." Each time the sisters communicate, the tension can be cut with a knife. This sure sounds familiar to me!

    However, a handsome neighbor sparks romance, causing Gillian's life to become even more complex.

    I connected to Gillian as she organizes and thinks through her options. She analyses much the same as me. This is a good read, and comes with a Reading Group Guide.

    Thank you to Sarah Reck at FaithWords for my copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Gym

    To get fit

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Glow

    Best book ever

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    A great book but then Lauraine Snelling writes fantastic books. The characters are so real that it makes you want to talk to the people in the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Loved it

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Real life and Real love. Christian love.

    I enjoyed the sweetness and love of this book very much. This is the fourth book by Lauraine that I have read, and I enjoyed them all. This book, in particular, reminds one to slow down in life occasionally, and remember God and the simple things that bring peace to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Plain

    This a very plain book. Has a good premise but does not go anywhere. It is like reading someone's daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Love love this book

    I loved this book. It kept me turning pages. Nice to read a good christian book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Ms

    I enjoyed this. Story was written from a woman's point of view. Kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Granted ~ The Beginning or the End?

    A usual day; that was what I thought today would be. Of course, it was anything but. Today, I became a beast of fire, my dreaded fear. Or more so, a beast of ice, so to speak. I am Blue Moon, but am I me? Or am I a scared animal just straining to be free and run rampant? Am I too scared to know the truth. I hope not. Because it just hit me full in the face. Believe what you might, but I swear on my brother's grave, dear Swift Flame, that every ounce of it is pure memory. No fantasy. But, look now, I am drifting from my main objective: my story of Dragons. Of a dragon in particular. A dragon called Moone. Me. I was a dragon. And it all started when I froze Ponyville out of spite. I let my anger slip away...

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    AL

    What?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Cat

    Does situps using a weight ball.

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Spirit

    She listins to music while doing everything in the gym

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2