Customer Reviews for

On My Honor

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

on my honor by Marion Dane Bauer a top book in my list

"On My Honor"
By: Marion ane Bauer

Joel and Tony were best friends sense they were little. This fictional book "On my Honor" by Marion Bauer is about a couple of friends wanting to have an outrageous time but when they decide to have dangerous fu...
"On My Honor"
By: Marion ane Bauer

Joel and Tony were best friends sense they were little. This fictional book "On my Honor" by Marion Bauer is about a couple of friends wanting to have an outrageous time but when they decide to have dangerous fun that's a whole different story. Joel and Tony decided that they wanted to race in the dangerous vermillion river when Joel suddenly runs into trouble of guilt and sorrow.
The main character Joel in this book "On My Honor" by Marion Bauer is a brave twelve year old boy who finds himself in many bad situations throughout this story. Joel effect's many others in this book like when he had to tell his parents the ugly truth about what they did instead of going to the park. That led to much melancholy and sorrow throughout the book from Joel and the parents. Joel looked like a boy that didn't deserve what he got and that parted haired, blue shirted, brown shoed boy thought that Tony wasn't like him at all that tony was a daredevil as he was the angel who just got burned. That kid had himself one heck of a day.
Marion displayed outstanding imagery throughout this story apart from the great visualization opportunities. "If I find him sitting on the bank I'm going to kill him" Joel said tells you that Marion was trying to describe anger but hope at the same time. Marion eliminates any non juicy words and replaces them with a nice set of amazing verbs that are an easy way of visualizing. You can imagine that Marion wanted the readers to know the relationship between Joel and Tony was opposed and an unlikely pair of good friends because as you know Tony was a daredevil while Joel is explained as the nice kid. Tony many times interrogates Joel to do things he doesn't want to "come on you baby lets just do one race". "Fine". Said Joel. Tony says a thing that insults Joel and he just has to agree to stop getting criticized.
Bauer also can display a various amount of amazing sorrow tone moments in this story. One of the most emotional parts of this book is when Joel has to tell the parents about what happened at the lake. "I looked for him but he went under I tried to find him" said Joel as misses Zabrinsky moaned and took a step backward". A horrible and sad moment in this heroic book. "It's your entire fault you shouldn't have let me go". Joel blurted out. Joel tried to hide his sadness with guilt and anger but those great feeling just could not be broken.
I would recommend this book to readers from 10 to 20 years old because it shows many experiences that you need to watch out for and to always don't do what you do not want to do. This book had many great turning points from the beginning to the end. People who like cliffhangers should read this book. I would rate this a 9 out of 10 for its display of the amazing plot and authors craft.

posted by Brian123ohya on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sad and understanding

This story is sad because tony a 12 year old boy dies while swimming in a race agaisnt joel, his best friend, joel is very sad and takes it hard and blames himself. It is understanding how he is takimg it like it is his fault because he is in grief for tony. I would rec...
This story is sad because tony a 12 year old boy dies while swimming in a race agaisnt joel, his best friend, joel is very sad and takes it hard and blames himself. It is understanding how he is takimg it like it is his fault because he is in grief for tony. I would recommend this to another person if they can understand how joel feels if they cannot i wouldnt recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    on my honor by Marion Dane Bauer a top book in my list

    "On My Honor"
    By: Marion ane Bauer

    Joel and Tony were best friends sense they were little. This fictional book "On my Honor" by Marion Bauer is about a couple of friends wanting to have an outrageous time but when they decide to have dangerous fun that's a whole different story. Joel and Tony decided that they wanted to race in the dangerous vermillion river when Joel suddenly runs into trouble of guilt and sorrow.
    The main character Joel in this book "On My Honor" by Marion Bauer is a brave twelve year old boy who finds himself in many bad situations throughout this story. Joel effect's many others in this book like when he had to tell his parents the ugly truth about what they did instead of going to the park. That led to much melancholy and sorrow throughout the book from Joel and the parents. Joel looked like a boy that didn't deserve what he got and that parted haired, blue shirted, brown shoed boy thought that Tony wasn't like him at all that tony was a daredevil as he was the angel who just got burned. That kid had himself one heck of a day.
    Marion displayed outstanding imagery throughout this story apart from the great visualization opportunities. "If I find him sitting on the bank I'm going to kill him" Joel said tells you that Marion was trying to describe anger but hope at the same time. Marion eliminates any non juicy words and replaces them with a nice set of amazing verbs that are an easy way of visualizing. You can imagine that Marion wanted the readers to know the relationship between Joel and Tony was opposed and an unlikely pair of good friends because as you know Tony was a daredevil while Joel is explained as the nice kid. Tony many times interrogates Joel to do things he doesn't want to "come on you baby lets just do one race". "Fine". Said Joel. Tony says a thing that insults Joel and he just has to agree to stop getting criticized.
    Bauer also can display a various amount of amazing sorrow tone moments in this story. One of the most emotional parts of this book is when Joel has to tell the parents about what happened at the lake. "I looked for him but he went under I tried to find him" said Joel as misses Zabrinsky moaned and took a step backward". A horrible and sad moment in this heroic book. "It's your entire fault you shouldn't have let me go". Joel blurted out. Joel tried to hide his sadness with guilt and anger but those great feeling just could not be broken.
    I would recommend this book to readers from 10 to 20 years old because it shows many experiences that you need to watch out for and to always don't do what you do not want to do. This book had many great turning points from the beginning to the end. People who like cliffhangers should read this book. I would rate this a 9 out of 10 for its display of the amazing plot and authors craft.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    D'Lee

    Was pretty good. I read it a couple years back (im a freshman) and saw it the other day at a book store. It was an interesting book, but it should have been longer and more detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Differant for everyone

    It is very sad and exciting for some people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Good Book

    I thought this book was fairly good. I don't suggest reading the back of the book though because I did so and it gave away the rest of the book. I think I would've liked it a lot more if I hadn't read the back of the book because while I was reading I was expecting some amazing twist but....it never came. The back of the book was a big spoiler to me and I knew what was going to happen through the entire book because of it. So my suggestion is to read the book, but don't read the back!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Great Book

    We read this book in class a while ago. It really grabbed my attention and always left me wondering what would happen next. I recommend this book for middle schoolers to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    On My Honor

    Full of moral choices, Joel searches for answers if he should tell the truth about the day him and Tony went swimming. Tony couldn't swim and they had been warned not to go near the river. But to keep Joel from thinking he was afraid, he jumped in. What will happen as the people begin to question what happened to Tony? Marion Bauer does a wonderful job with the story and has several others as well. I recommend this book the 4th or 5th grade reading level. Bauer, Marion. NY: Clarion Books. 1986.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Pictures

    My class is reading this book we can not figure out who is on the front page Is it tony or Joel we would like to know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    you WILL need tissues

    Hi eveyone Im a 5th grader that read on my honor.I thought the book was great Marion dane Bauer did a good job.When I read it I did need a tissue after we read it. So yes a tissue WILL be needed!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    It 's a great book but you'll need your tissues

    I really liked this book and I hope you do too. You may need a kleenex though. I recommend this book to pre-teens and up. I think that this book because it has many lessons and has alot of figurative language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Sad but recommended

    This book was really sad. It had a lot of details about what was happening. When Joel realized that Tony was gone, it told about Joel running for help. Joel's father is sad and has trouble dealing with it. I would recommend this book to readers around my age, 10 and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Best Book I've read this year!

    Loved it. Found it to be a great addition to American literature. The most outstanding book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Actually Good

    In my class we read this book and I figured it would be the same as the other books we have read.A little sad but still worth reading.(The other books were Tuck Everlasting((5 stars from me)) and Number The Stars((3 stars from me))While reading this book I could connect to it more than the other books. My teacher had us do double entry journals and my class could always end up writing 4 or 5 text to self connections. It is a great book and the death was good because it taught kids that breaking your promise isn't always fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    GOOD BOOK!!!!!!

    This was a good book. There was a lot of detail. It was a little sad,but good. I think it could have been longer. My whole class read it and I bet 23 out of 25 students liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    This Is A Great Book

    I would definitly recommend this book because it keeps you in suspense the whole time. I also thought that it didn't give away the ending. There wasn't really anything that I didn't like. It all starts out when two boys, Joel and Tony decied to go to Starved Rock park against Joel's better judgement. Will one of them get hurt? Read the book and find out what really happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1