Customer Reviews for

On My Honor: Why the American Values of the Boy Scouts Are Worth Fighting for

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thank God for the BSA

I am in the process of buying approximately 10 of these books to give as gifts for the recently Eagled Scouts in our troop. We have 4 sons who have earned the Eagle rank after many years of hard work, learning character building skills, having fun on many of the great t...
I am in the process of buying approximately 10 of these books to give as gifts for the recently Eagled Scouts in our troop. We have 4 sons who have earned the Eagle rank after many years of hard work, learning character building skills, having fun on many of the great trips they have taken, and learning about life. Our 5th son is close to earning his Eagle as well. We are proud of our Eagle Scouts everywhere, and hope that more people will embrace Scouting and its values. There is nothing wrong with teaching our young men about character and morals in today's society. Why can't negative people just mind their own business, and let Scouting lead the way to a better society for the future of the good ole USA.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

harmful to scouts

I am an eagle scout and an assitant scoutmaster, and proud of that. However, i am dissiponted to view the hypricoy in the boy scouts. we as an orginazaton give out religous medals for many different religions, yet we base our vaules on christian ones. if a religion a sc...
I am an eagle scout and an assitant scoutmaster, and proud of that. However, i am dissiponted to view the hypricoy in the boy scouts. we as an orginazaton give out religous medals for many different religions, yet we base our vaules on christian ones. if a religion a scoutmaster belongs to says that homosexuilty is not a sin, who are we to say he is inmoral? we either need to accept all religons and all different beliefs, or none at all. being gay does not make someone not morally straight, being hateful does.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Amazing

    This is a must read for all who have worn the Boy Scout uniform, or for those who want family values and morales to return to America. Governor Perry does a remarkable job reliving his Scouting experiance and has a number of interviews with former scouts that will put a smile on your face . Thank you Governor well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Thank God for the BSA

    I am in the process of buying approximately 10 of these books to give as gifts for the recently Eagled Scouts in our troop. We have 4 sons who have earned the Eagle rank after many years of hard work, learning character building skills, having fun on many of the great trips they have taken, and learning about life. Our 5th son is close to earning his Eagle as well. We are proud of our Eagle Scouts everywhere, and hope that more people will embrace Scouting and its values. There is nothing wrong with teaching our young men about character and morals in today's society. Why can't negative people just mind their own business, and let Scouting lead the way to a better society for the future of the good ole USA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    a defense of values

    Governor Perry's book is a must read for anyone wanting to defend traditional American values. Almost everything good that this country has stood for is under attack by the liberals. We need to draw a line in the sand and defend and preserve the institution of the Boy Scouts! I also applaude the Governor for sending all the proceeds to the Boy Scouts legal defense fund.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Perry gets it right

    I wasn't born in Texas, but I got here as quickly as I could. Leaders like Governor Perry are what make Texas different from other places I've lived. He shoots straight on the issues, no matter what polls or the shifting winds of political expediency might dictate. The frank honesty of this book stands in strong contrast to the endlessly nuanced 'ie. deceptive' arguments of the liberal left. God bless him for taking a stand for what's right when so many others in high places simply talk a good game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    This is a good book

    I read this whole book in 2 days and I enjoyed all of it. I am an adull leader in my troop after quitting after getting the rank of life. I think they boy scouts are under attack in everyway described in this book and I think they need to leave the boy scouts alone. Morally straight don't mean that you can have a gay scoutmaster for the boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    harmful to scouts

    I am an eagle scout and an assitant scoutmaster, and proud of that. However, i am dissiponted to view the hypricoy in the boy scouts. we as an orginazaton give out religous medals for many different religions, yet we base our vaules on christian ones. if a religion a scoutmaster belongs to says that homosexuilty is not a sin, who are we to say he is inmoral? we either need to accept all religons and all different beliefs, or none at all. being gay does not make someone not morally straight, being hateful does.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Support BSA

    ¿On My Honor¿ provides a clear description of the forces working for and against the Boy Scouts of America forces beyond the comprehension of my 5th grade son and his fellow scouts. The Hollywood ending is absent since the struggle continues. If you support BSA, this book should strengthen your resolve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    a boy scout with honor

    The dreams of many were paved through the boy scouts. Unfortunately those very values that were installed in so many of us is under attack. Cudos to this book for fighting off those attacks. It's a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Honor Must Be Based on Principals Given By The Creator

    Without these principals there cannot be any honor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    things that matter the most

    'on my honor' is a book that should have been writtion along time ago. the boy scouts are a fine organization that teachs values and responsibility and gives youth inner strength and character and ways to help others in the community. this bestseller documents how certain left wing and secular humanist organizations are trying to hurt and harm the boy scouts and their fine volunteer organization. this is a very remarkable book by governor rick perry and all of the profits go to the boy scouts organizations. I really apprieated the research that the arthur has done to make a stand for the scouts. great gift idea for friends and family and church friends and soldier serving over seas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    There is no honor in bigotry

    BSA is a quasi-religious organization run by the Mormons. It is the Mormon hierarchy that requires the organization to adhere to it's own bigoted policies. This is the same organization that had to be forced to accept blacks as full members.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1