BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

On Mystic Lake

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book

This is a very good book. the story keeps you interested and wanting more, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Even though you can see at times where it's heading you just want to jump in and be part of the story. The character are great and the setting is real...
This is a very good book. the story keeps you interested and wanting more, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Even though you can see at times where it's heading you just want to jump in and be part of the story. The character are great and the setting is really good. Kristin has a great way of telling a story that keeps the reader involved and wanting more. She uses a good story line and plot. It is a must have for any reader that enjoys a little mystery, a little drama, and a little romance all in one.

posted by 3368029 on April 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dissappppointed

Rich, beautiful women married to handsome workahalic cheating man....goes home to daddy....not home for about 20 years, town always loved her.....meets her highschool sweetheart, who has a wife that just died. Blah...blah....blah...REALLY....one kid, college bound.......
Rich, beautiful women married to handsome workahalic cheating man....goes home to daddy....not home for about 20 years, town always loved her.....meets her highschool sweetheart, who has a wife that just died. Blah...blah....blah...REALLY....one kid, college bound.....husband never home....and she shocked that her husband is cheating. Oh, shes a college graduate from stamford no less. I think that this author should start giving her female leads more spine and a little less whine.

posted by 7945972 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Great book

    This is a very good book. the story keeps you interested and wanting more, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Even though you can see at times where it's heading you just want to jump in and be part of the story. The character are great and the setting is really good. Kristin has a great way of telling a story that keeps the reader involved and wanting more. She uses a good story line and plot. It is a must have for any reader that enjoys a little mystery, a little drama, and a little romance all in one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Dissappppointed

    Rich, beautiful women married to handsome workahalic cheating man....goes home to daddy....not home for about 20 years, town always loved her.....meets her highschool sweetheart, who has a wife that just died. Blah...blah....blah...REALLY....one kid, college bound.....husband never home....and she shocked that her husband is cheating. Oh, shes a college graduate from stamford no less. I think that this author should start giving her female leads more spine and a little less whine.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Unsatisfied

    i loved this book from the beginning. I was hooked by page two, and crying by page forty. I kept telling all my reader friends that this was one of the best books i've read in a while.....until the end. After I read the last page, I was like are you kidding me! I was left so unsatisfied!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    great book

    I enjoyed the book. There were parts that were a bit predictable and I kept expecting a twist in the ending that didn't come, but overall a great story of love, grief, and hope. I enjoyed the book and found it hard to put down most nights.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    I really like her style of writing . . . .I read for escapism . . . .and love a good family story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Disappointing use of language

    This was my first Kristin Hannah book, and I must say that she is a talented writer, although the ending needed to be lengthened, but I was so disappointed in the vulgar language that was unnecessarily used in the book. The language definitely took away from the enjoyment of the reading, and added nothing at all to the story.

    Reading is my escape, but the vulgarity only brought more of what I try to separate myself from. It is sad that a writer with such creative talent had to taint her talent with such useless language. I am sad that "On Mystic Lake" will be my first, and last, Kristin Hannah book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    On Mystic Lake

    My first read by the author. Wonderful story. Many tears. Beautifully developed characters and a story of hope and strength. Tragic happenings that destroy families and beautiful beginnings that prove love is the greatest medicine for a broken heart. Annie is a beautiful heroine and Nick is every womans dream. Izzy at age six steals parts of the book and shows the resilience of children and their ability to love and trust again after their world collapses. Blake proves again that success and money "do not make a man" and after 20 years of marriage Annie finally understands that their are givers and takers and Blake is surely a taker in every sense. The best part of the story is that it is about people we have met in real life and the story and the characters become very real.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Ok

    I love kristins books but i hated the way this one ended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    C

    W

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Kristen Hannah's books!

    I am going to read all of Hannah's books! Good story with believable characters. Kept me turning the pages long after I should have turned out the light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Mystical Review

    Love the author! This is the 3rd book I have read of her's and love her style of writing. Keeps me wanting more after the book is done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Beach Read

    Kristen Hannah has done it again. She has delivered another family drama that is an entertaining read. I bought this book on vacation as a beach read after enjoying Hannah's Firefly Lane & True Colors. I finished the book in about a day and a half. I did fly through this book, but it kept me interested with tales of seemingly real life relationships. Hannah doesn't sugarcoat the emotions of this book. She deals with disappointment, shock, second chances (deserved or not), guilt and other no so happy emotions through a story that I think many could relate to. If you're looking for a good summer read, I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful and Touching

    On Mystic Lake is a wonderful and touching book, and makes one search inside oneself. Krstin Hannah is my new favorite author after reading this book and Winter Garden - both of which are very worth the reading! I recommend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    I have fallen in love with Kristin Hannah's writing. This book opens up such a great topic with loss and divorce. This is a very touching story about how people help each other with what is going on in their lifes and what love does to people when they have had a loss or going through a divorce.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    On Mystic Lake

    I kind of figured out how the book was going to turn out but the ending surprised me a little. I had figured out the just of it but didn't know specific details. All in all, I fully enjoyed it and couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Loved the book, but not crazy about the ending!

    This book was my first read from this author. The characters were wonderful and it definitely was a page-turner. The ending had me a little disappointed. Does anyone else agree??

    I look forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    A wonderful book ~ Hannah has an excellent style and really develops her characters - you feel like you know them personally. Great for book club discussion but also perfect for an enjoyable read. I loved Firefly Lane and look forward to reading more by Kristin Hannah!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    You will not be disapointed!

    Couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    RP?

    Ther shuldn't be rps here you sopos to be reveuing the book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Nebulakit to: Scorchstar

    "Yes, I am. Why were you gone for so long?" She asked.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17