Customer Reviews for

On One Condition

Average Rating 3.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

lOVED THIS READ!!!!!

I WAS HOME SICK AND LOOKING FOR A QUICK READ. I FOUND THIS AND SINCE I HAD JUST READ HER OTHER BOOK "RECLAIMED", I WAS SO EXCITED TO SEE ANOTHER BOOK BY DIANE ALBERTS.I LOVED THIS STORY FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST. MS ALBERTS HAS WON A FAN IN ME. HER CHARACTERS KEEP...
I WAS HOME SICK AND LOOKING FOR A QUICK READ. I FOUND THIS AND SINCE I HAD JUST READ HER OTHER BOOK "RECLAIMED", I WAS SO EXCITED TO SEE ANOTHER BOOK BY DIANE ALBERTS.I LOVED THIS STORY FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST. MS ALBERTS HAS WON A FAN IN ME. HER CHARACTERS KEEP YOU ENGAGED FROM START TO FINISH. THE STORY MOVES AND IS NEVER SLOW OR BORING AS SOME BOOKS CAN BE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH DIANES BOOKS IS ONCE I START ONE I CAN'T SEEM TO STOP. IF YOU LIKE ROMANCE YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE.I WOULD PUT IN MORE BUT YOU HAVE TO READ THIS FOR YOURSELF.LOVED IT AND YES I READ IT ONE SITTING. GREAT WORK MS ALBERTS.WAITING FOR THE NEXT ONE.

posted by Muffet on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not for me, but you may like it...

I really debated not reviewing this book because I wasn't sure what to do with it as far as my review goes. On One Condition is part of Entangled Publishing's new Ever After line. It's a very short read. I read it in a little over an hour. Unfortunately, I found it very...
I really debated not reviewing this book because I wasn't sure what to do with it as far as my review goes. On One Condition is part of Entangled Publishing's new Ever After line. It's a very short read. I read it in a little over an hour. Unfortunately, I found it very short on story depth too. This book read like the original Harlequin's that I used to read in the early 1980's (yes, I am old...hehe!)

The story line is an old classic trope...English aristocracy who has to marry within a short amount of time or else he loses his inheritance. The twist on this one was that it's a contemporary romance and his heroine is a kindergarten teacher. I don't mind old tried and true tropes, but I need to be able to connect a bit more with the characters than I was able to in this book. For me, everything in this book was just a little too easy and cookie cutter. Maybe that's the goal of this new line. Actions and reactions flow through the story, but the depth isn't there to explain why they react one way and then two paragraphs later everything is completely different and okay again.

I know that I am rambling here and probably not making much sense. I am just not sure what to make of this book. If it was meant to be a retro kick-back to the old-style category lines, then this book succeeded. But for me, I want to read a book that embraces those old story lines and kicks them up a notch into the modern world and writing. For me, this book just did not do that.

BUT, I am just one person with one opinion. This book is getting rave reviews on Goodreads, so if the book appeals to you, please don't let me keep you from buying it. It just wasn't for me. Go take a look at the Goodreads reviews for other, very different opinions.

posted by SmittenWithReading on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    EXCELLENT FOR A QUICK READ

    THE STORY WAS INTERESTING THE CHARACTERS WERE GREAT I KIND OF DISAPOINTED WITH ENDING. IT SEEMED RUSHED.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    easy read

    Its not a lot of fuss, but its a nice quick easy read. I liked it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Wonderful

    This is such a funny and good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I had so much fun reading this story! Johanna and Damon are fabu

    I had so much fun reading this story! Johanna and Damon are fabulous characters and their chemistry is simply sizzling. Right of the bat, I like where the story was going. Johanna is a take charge kind of a character, but also one with a soft heart. Damon is a perfect reflection of perfection (even with all his problems) and hotness (*le sigh). I loved watching these two interact, okay, fight throughout the book. Even as they get married out of pure need to help each other out, their relationship develops in a beautiful and real way. This books is a fun read, that lets you gleam the aspect of human relationships while still keeping it entertaining.
    Overall, the characters are fun and real. The plot is fast paced and exciting. I couldn't stop reading, needing to know what happened next. The only part of this book I didn't like is that it ended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Fun read

    Enjoyable characters with a bit of a Scarlett O'Hara/Rhett Butler kind of feel, worth checking out!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Fun

    This was a very cute story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    good read

    good read, really cute story... would recommend..

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ah! I’m in love. Joanne is a kindergarten teacher in her

    Ah! I’m in love.

    Joanne is a kindergarten teacher in her mid-twenties. She has a strong personality, and is pretty stubborn, but she has a huge kind heart. She also happens to hate Valentine’s Day to the core. So what happens when she wakes up on the very day with a man in her bed? A man she didn’t even remember bringing him the night before? What happens? She kicks him out, without as much as a look. Strong personality I tell you, and strong will to kick someone like him out.

    Damon Haymes is nothing more and nothing less than a freaking Viscount. A sweet and superhot one at that. Not to mention with the most amazing British accent ever. Can we say swoon, now? He’s caring, and in serious need of a wife. I’m free if you want, Damon!

    Clearly they don’t meet in the most ideal situation, considering Joanne doesn’t even remember their first night together. How could she, right!? But then they meet again, that same night at Joanne’s school charity auction. Guess who bits more for her? Yup, you guessed right! (Not that it’s a secret, it’s in the description, anyways!)

    Here’s when I turn into a giddy fangirl. I was already putty after hearing the words “British accent” –I’m a sucker for British men, and that sexy accent –so when he gets down on one knee and asks her to marry him… well, I was swooning. So what? Sue me! And to think we’re in the first few pages! Insane! I was already a goner, this book had my full attention since minute one.

    Back to the book. He asks her to marry him, right? Guess what she does? She says no! So silly of her if you ask me… So, she said no, but even if she tried she couldn’t resist Damon’s charm, no one can. He’s too damn good! You know what happens after that, they get married. (Again, I’m not spoiling it, alright? Read the description if you think so!)

    And this is when things get complicated.
    Joanne is intent on keeping things strictly business-like. Her trusting issues run deeper than she lets on, and trusting Damon not to hurt her is not an easy decision to make, even if her hearts tries to convince her that he won’t. And on the other hand, Damon is doing everything in his power to win her over. He’s set on making her like him, as if he needed to push much. But, mysterious Sunday meetings aren’t helping his case. Especially when it makes it seem he’s having an affair. Like she would trust him like that, right?

    That’s not the way life works, though. Things don’t always go as one plans, and sometimes (more like, most of the time… or always) you can’t help who you love and who you don’t. The problem is accepting those feelings and sharing them. When circumstances appear to push you against saying those words that could change everything, what do you do? You shut the hell up and wait. Or in their case, close down.

    On One Condition really made my heart ache. For them, for the relationship and feelings they didn’t want to accept. It made my heart beat faster with every shared kiss and some other steamier moments. But it also made my heart warmer, for their shared sweet and tender moments, for their laugher and smiles. And for fighting towards their happy ever after.

    On One Condition is a shot and enjoyable read. It will pull you down from the start, first you’ll be curious as to what things will lead, and then you’ll be rooting for this couple to find a way to be together and overcome their issues and the difficulties they’ll find in the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Quick Read

    Being a sucka for love I actually liked the book. Beginning to end. Quick read but worth it! (Sometimes a quick read is all you need!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Enjoyable light read

    Cute story, though predictable. I like happy endings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "On One Condition" by Diane Alberts was indeed a ente


    "On One Condition" by Diane Alberts was indeed a entertaining contemporary romantic quick read about a marriage of convenience. Starting with the "morning after the night before,"....which turns be very somewhat funny on just how these two people met and then this novel takes off from that... with Johanna Thomas who was a kindergarten elementary teacher that hated Valentine's Day. Why was this? Well, Johanna hated being alone watching other couples being so in love...and even worse was the annual charity auction held at her school for all the singles to have to go through... this being her third time! Now she meets this British Lord, Viscount Damon Haymes.... had she met him before? ... and OMG what happen? ...Damon proposals to her.....they marry and live happy ever after ...well .. you will find out from your reading just how Johanna's ex (Tim) and Damon's ex(Cecile) or ? always seemed to turn up. How will things turn out between Damon and Johanna? Now, this is the point of time where I say you must pick up "On One Condition" to find out what one condition is going on with these two people: Johanna and Damon.


    The characters that the author presents are really very interesting people....Johanna, Viscount Damon Haymes, Jeff, Tim, Cecile, Mr. Johnson and Sara. Each one really made this read exciting in their form of their words that was absorbed by the reader.

    "On One Condition" was a real cute quick read of the..."old story of a marriage of convenience that lead to true love." This was definitely a novel that would keep you wanting to know what was going to happen next. If you are in for a interesting heroine, lots of laughs, adventure, and a quick romantic read... I would recommend ..."On One Condition" novel for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2