Customer Reviews for

On Strike for Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Easy to relate to!

    I fortunately have a husband unlike most in the book. Mine helps me with decorations and yes...occasionally wrapping a gift! 'only small boxes'. Terrific and funny book to get you in the holiday spirit. Easy to relate to and an easy, fun read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funniest book I have ever read

    I couldn't put it down. I was reading at work and everyone kept asking what I was laughing at. If you have ever wondered why you are doing everything for the holidays and your husband is sitting around watching football not helping you have to read this book. It was too funny and incredibly accurate in its description of men and the holidays and what us wives wish we could teach our husbands. I highly recommend it, it would make a great Christmas gift for any women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book has me giggling at each chapter for one reason or another that relates to me, my family and friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    Wonderful and true to life story for a lot of women.  Lending al

    Wonderful and true to life story for a lot of women.  Lending also the poignant feelings of the women who don't have spouses and miss them brought some tears to the eye along with the hilarity.  Please read this story during Christmas time - if you get a minute between Holiday preparations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A cute Christmas read.  Why did I pick this book: I've read thi

    A cute Christmas read. 

    Why did I pick this book: I've read this book before and wanted to read it again. I also just watched Lifetime's movie adaptation and I forgot how the book went.




    Did I enjoy this book: I did but not as much as the first time I read it. The first time I got a big kick out of it. I laughed out loud and nodded my head in agreement. This time, some of the striking women just irritated me. I felt like some of the men...Christmas decorations and family traditions don't have to be perfect and they don't have to be exactly how the woman wants it. I do agree with the end...it should be about compromise and helping each other do the things that make your Christmas special together...not relying on one person to do it all.




    One of my favorite scenes in the book is Joy's family Christmas when Bob comes in. I really wish the author would have further developed this story segment. That would have been great!




    I also enjoyed Glen's adventures with his two young children. That was entertaining and I could see the scenes...especially the picture with Santa segment.




    Would I recommend it: Yes. It is a cute Christmas read.




    Will I read it again: Probably next Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    This was my first Sheila Roberts book and it left me wanting mor

    This was my first Sheila Roberts book and it left me wanting more. She's real, she's funny and I couldn't put the book down. Buy it, you'll LOVE it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Perfect Read for the Christmas Season!

    This is a fun, easy read that most people will identify with. Some women in town go On Strike for Christmas leaving the preparations and all things Christmas up to the men. I read it every year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    Cute story I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Hilarious! This is one of my favorite books!!

    Hilarious! This is one of my favorite books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Loved it and had a belly laugh

    This is a book to let you get lost in another world. I felt like I was right there in the middle of everything. I laughed andbheld my side because it hurt from laughing so hard. At times, I found myself rooting for the women. Then I would have pity on the men and be rooting for them. It is a fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Dining room

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A great read at Christmas or any time of year!

    This book was recommended by a friend of mine who read it last Christmas. It was our book club read for this month and I am glad I didn't read it until AFTER Christmas. I think I might have gotten all wrapped up in the women of Holly's strike and joined in myself! I do have to admit that it would have been really tough for me to carry out the whole strike...not buying presents and baking. I could have easily given up the decorating part though! Even before reading this book, I decided I didn't need to put every single decoration out this year and only put out the decorations that I really loved. That meant I had a lot less to put away!

    This book is a good read anytime of year, but especially around Christmas for that gentle reminder that what is really important is being together with those you love....and maybe a few cookies to share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    I loved it!

    Every woman can relate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    grat book!

    on strike for christmas by sheila roberts, wow this was me a few years ago when i was no longer able to see.

    I did go on strike and got a LOT OF help from my husband to help with all the Christmas chores. This is a very good book about how one woman can't take it anymore, doing it all for the holidays and her husband sits back and does nothing. she brings it to her knitting friends and they also want to go on strike for the holidays, make their spouses do it all this year.

    this is hilarious but sometimes serious when you understand the full impact of it all. the ending i could not believe it really happened for a minute. the woman all came together with one another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Every woman that "does" christmas will love this book.

    Laughed so hard that I was in tears. My tween age daughter kept asking me what was so funny (of course she didn't get it), couldn't put it down. I ended up buying 8 copies and giving them as gifts.

    With the right cast and screan play this would make a fabulous comidy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Cute story - must read during the holidays!

    On Strike for Christmas begins with Joy Robertson deciding that she is going on strike for Christmas because her husband Bob doesn't appreciate that all the baking and decorating she does makes Christmas... well Christmas. She is hoping that by not doing anything Bob will come around to her way of thinking. When Joy goes to her knitting group and explains what she is doing the rest of the ladies decide that they are going to go on strike too. To make things even crazier, the newspaper decides to do a series of articles following the movement.

    The fun thing about this book is that there are several story lines all going on at once. Different women have different issues with their husband and are trying to prove different points. Joy is an empty nester who wants her husband to be an active participant in the holiday festivities. Laura is a mother of two young children and her husband is a happy go lucky guy who invites all his friends and family over but what ends up happening is that Laura is doing all the cooking and cleaning. Then you have Carol whose husband died and she can't understand what these women are complaining about.

    I thought that this book was very entertaining to read and that a lot of women are going to easily be able to sympathize with the characters in the book, both the men and women. I really liked that not only did the men learn a lesson, but the women did too. I must admit that at the beginning of the story I was a little bit annoyed with Laura's character. I felt like she created her own situation by never asking her husband for help. I think that if she had just asked, Glen would have been happy to help out. The good thing is that eventually Laura comes to this realization. All in all this was a cute book that will put you in the holiday spirit. Oh and a bonus is that there are recipes in the back of the book that were mentioned in the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    On Strike for Christmas

    This is a feel good reading. I could not put it down. I am looking forward to her other books. Great Christmas story and I can relate to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Found this funny!

    I enjoyed this book b/c I could relate to the story. I found the characters humorous. It was light-hearted reading, and time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    On Strike for Christmas

    On Strike for Christmas, struck me as my life in print. I got such a kick out of the problems and solutions the characters confronted. Fun, light, and gets you into the holiday mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!

    From the moment I started reading I couldn't put this book down. Every page had some similarity to my life during the holidays. As I read it I remembered that my husband went on strike last Christmas but didn't have the decency to tell me! Needless to say I threw the book in his direction immediately after I finished it! It's still sitting on the coffee table...hopefully he reads it prior to December!!

    Totally recommend this book to every husband and wife that celebrate any holiday at their house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2