Customer Reviews for

On Thin Ice

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable romantic suspense

    Montana Veterinarian Lily Monroe thought when she married Sean that her husband was a nice guy. That changes from the moment they honeymoon as he turns out to be a shady character committing atrocities. When Sean became ill, Lily nursed him until he died. Rancher Derek Wright fell in love with Lily before she married, but stepped aside because he thought that she would be better off with Sean. He plans to marry her after they complete the Iditarod. Lily thinks the wealthy Derek is womanizing when he goes on frequent trips. She does not know is that he is not a skirt chaser since he met Lily and he works undercover for the federal Terrorist Force Logistical Assault Command.---- The Alaskan climate is not the only thing attacking the two as someone tries to kill Lily. Derek believes that he is the cause of her woes as a deadly terrorist has been reported in Alaska. Unbeknownst to him Lily may be in danger because of what she knows involving a fake breeding of a bull. What Derek does know is that he will risk his life willingly to keep his beloved Lily safe.---- ON THIN ICE is an enjoyable romantic suspense that uses the Iditarod as a backdrop, but the vividly descriptive race does not supersede the intrigue and the romance. The lead couple is a delightful pairing as Derek will move Mount McKinley if it means that Lily is his partner forever, but he also needs to overcome her concept of him. The attempts on her life add suspense, but the race serves as the center of a fine second chance to find love that eluded them the first time around.---- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Wondeful

    Wonderful and heart warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ah, Derek Wright. Only a true Cherry Adair fan can understand ho

    Ah, Derek Wright. Only a true Cherry Adair fan can understand how a character can be so real to you that they will argue with other fans on about who he “belongs” to. When you read On Thin Ice you can see why Derek is one of these characters and why Lily Munroe is his perfect match. As they compete in the famous Iditarod race, Derek and Lily are soon fighting something more dangerous than the frozen Alaska wild. You definitely won’t want to miss this great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Hunting grounds

    /forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WRIGHT BROTHER

    Who would've thought somewhere so cold could be so hot?! I instantly loved Lily and her dogs, Derek too! What a cool tale about the iditarod, the research that Cherry does in each and every one of her books simply amazes me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story might take place in ice cold Alaska, but it is scorch

    This story might take place in ice cold Alaska, but it is scorching HOT! In true Cherry Adair fashion it's full of action and hot romance with sexy TFLAC agent Derek Wright and veterinarian Dr. Lily Munroe in the middle of the wilds of Alaska's annual Iditarod race. Trying to uncover who is running the sale of illegal bull sperm on their ranch sends an assassin after Lily with Derek as her only protection and of course there's some terrorist that plant a bomb and they are the only two around to diffuse the bomb! I loved this book and it was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Wow...On Thin Ice was a book that I will be reading again and ag

    Wow...On Thin Ice was a book that I will be reading again and again.. I loved Derek and Lily and how she fights the attraction between the two and how Derek is always there for her. I love the winter weather so the scenery of the Iditarod was perfect for me. Cold and snow and hot sex...a perfect winter read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    A great read!

    I love Cherry Adair's books. This one is great fun, full of adventure and romance. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Loved this story!!!

    Lots of suspense & plenty of intense romance makes this story so easy to read (and read rather quickly for sure). The story is set with the famous Iditarod race as the backdrop and you'll feel like you're right there with the main characters, Darek & Lily. Loved the way the author wrapped up this final story with the Wright brothers, but will miss them and their sister, Marnie. My hope is we'll get to read more about them in future T-Flac books. I would have to say this was, so far, my favorite T-Flac book and I really did enjoy all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Good Fluff

    By the time I read this book, I'd been reading this author's work for a few days. The thing that struck me the most was how similar the characters seemed to be after the first reading. When I went back a second time to read more slowly/carefully, I found the the differences were subtle enough to not be obvious to me the first time and that disturbed me a little bit. Even now, I feel that they were, perhaps, just a little too much the alike.

    In many ways, I felt as though this book was fluff, which, when I bought and read it, was just what I wanted. I'm not sure if it was the story (as I examine my thoughts about the book, I'm not sure I can explain what was so fluffy about the book) or if it was just that my head felt a little fluffy after the pace at which I was reading the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Awesome

    This book was so full of adventure and romance. This is the first book that I have read of Cherry Adair's and I am so going to go read the rest. The Wright clan are an awesome bunch of men. Wish they had a single one for me. I could use some Wright romance. Y'all have to read this book. It is worth it and I love it. Derek and Lily are amazing people. Enjoy your reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Really liked it

    I am a avid reader,could not put the book down.(also burned the supper)I read her for the first time,I loved on thin ice,When I was done with her book, I order all her books,can't waite for her next. Keep them coming girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Thrilling-awesome -absolutely fabulous

    This my my fouth and last book of the Wright Brothers and again Ms. Adair did not disappoint. This book was action-packed and evenly filled with romance. I loved it. It probably was the best of the the Wright brothers books although I still have a soft spot for Hide and Seek and Out of Sight. Ms. Adair's books are not only action and romance but has humor and the characters seem so real. They are memorable - you think about them even after you have finished reading. I really enjoyed this book and all the others. Try them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    On Thin Ice

    The only love Dr Lily Munroe wanted was that of her patients, mute animals. Derek Wright, co owner of her ranch and constant thorn in her side, has a very different idea. He's wanted Lily since he first laid eyes on her and she ran the other way to another man and diseaster of a marriage. The upcoming Iditarod will give him the chance to change her mind. Needing her skills as a vet gives him an excuse to stay close as the power of nature makes the race perilous and an unseen enemy compounds the danger. Derek's secret life is forced into the open when he and Lily become targets as someone tries to kill them accidentally on purpose. Just when Lily begins to fall in love against her will, the safest thing Derek can do is keep her away from himself. **** The thrills of challenging nature combined with a battle against human evil makes for a thrilling novel, even without the added pleasure of a tense romance. Every level of that tension is kept at a high level, whether it is espionage, the race or sensuality, from beginning to end. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    FANTASTIC READ!!!!

    As usual, Ms. Adair writes a story that begs to be read in ONE sitting!Great characters non-stop suspense and a tender romance makes it a book you will want to keep.Bring on a rainy day and have at a few hours of page turning excitement filled with terrific visuals and sexy heros. A+++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Wonderful Romantic suspense

    On Thin Ice is an exhilarating story from beginning to end. Dr. Lily Monroe is trying to put her disastrous marriage to her late husband behind her. She is concentrating on her Vet practice and training for the Iditarod. Lily is also working on curbing her feelings for sexy rancher Derek Wright. Derek Wright sat back and watched Lily marry his friend Sean. Now that Sean is gone, Derek is hoping Lily will see that they belong together. Derek is also racing in the Iditarod and is planning on using the race to get Lily to see him as more then a friend. The race begins and mysterious accidents start to happen to Lily. At the same time Derek is informed a terrorist is lurking in the Alaskan wilderness. The tension and terror begins to mount, as does the passion. Lily and Derek¿s story is amazing. The suspense and the relationship grips you and doesn¿t let go. I couldn¿t read On Thin Ice fast enough. It was great to see the rest of the Wright family again. Cherry Adair deliverers an astounding story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Gonna Be Another Winner

    I have read all of the other books in this series (Kiss and Tell, Hide and Seek, In Too Deep, and Out Of Sight) All excellent. The series (if you haven't read it) deals with a family, 4 brothers and a sister, and how they find their lifemates. I feel Ms Adair did an excellent job of potraying both human emotion in the face of danger, as well as true love between two people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3