BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories about Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Great Book for Christian History lovers!

    The author of this book gives brief biographical sketches of 365 different men and women from Christian history. The stories are arranged in daily readings, one short story for each day of the year. The day of the year correlates with a significant date in the life of the person being written about.

    I really enjoyed this book, and learning more about a myriad of different men and women from history. While I wouldn't call all of the people mentioned in the book a "Saint, Martyr, or Hero" as the book claims, I did appreciate the vast majority of those he wrote about. It was great to have my memory refreshed about many faithful Christians that I have learned about in the past, and also to learn about new men and women who lived, and many times died, for Christ. Many of the stories left me eager to learn more about that individual.

    This book would be great to use along with your devotions, or as a brief reading to start or end your day. I read it cover to cover, but I think it would be more enjoyable in small portions spread over a period of time as was intended.

    Disclosure: I received this book free as part of the BookSneeze review program from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    On This Day in Christian History

    The book: "On This Day in Christian History" by Robert J. Morgan is a wonderful book for any person who loves to learn new facts and wants to learn more about history. This book features a day by day look at an entire year that notes significant events in Christian history. This book is filled with fun facts that any school aged child could understand.


    I would recommend this book to any homeschooler or child who is interested in history. This book is easy to read, but I would recommend older school age more than younger. This book is very interesting but is not one you sit and read cover to cover. It is more meant for reading each day, almost like a reflect or devotional.


    Please note that I received this book from Book Sneeze and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Faith Strengthening

    On This Day In Christian History
    By Robert J Morgan
    My interest in Christian history has increased more and more as I am drawn to the mission fields and living my life for the Lord.
    In this book Robert J Morgan lists 365 stories from Christian history about a Christian person and a snapshot of their lives on the particular day listed. Each day of the year has a different story.
    My faith was strengthened by reading this book. Learning of some of the hardships people have gone through because of their faith has made me realize that no matter what we go through because of our faith, there is always someone else who has been through more and did not waver.
    One of the stories told on Feb.7 is about a German church leader named Martin Niemoller. He was summoned by Adolf Hitler and berated for not supporting his programs. Martin explained that his only concerns were for the church and the German people. Hitler told him to confine himself to the church and he would take care of the German people. Martin explained to Hitler that as a Christian he had a responsibility to the German people, entrusted to him by God and that Hitler nor anyone else had the power to take that from him. He was closely watched by the secret police and eventually ended up getting his church bombed and he was arrested and taken to solitary confinement. His trial was Feb 7, 1938 and he ended up in a Nazi concentration camps.
    This book has such a great amount of information in it. It must have taken quite a long time to compile it. Because of these reasons I rate this book 5 stars of 5.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Faith Strengthening!

    On This Day In Christian History
    By Robert J Morgan
    My interest in Christian history has increased more and more as I am drawn to the mission fields and living my life for the Lord.
    In this book Robert J Morgan lists 365 stories from Christian history about a Christian person and a snapshot of their lives on the particular day listed. Each day of the year has a different story.
    My faith was strengthened by reading this book. Learning of some of the hardships people have gone through because of their faith has made me realize that no matter what we go through because of our faith, there is always someone else who has been through more and did not waver.
    One of the stories told on Feb.7 is about a German church leader named Martin Niemoller. He was summoned by Adolf Hitler and berated for not supporting his programs. Martin explained that his only concerns were for the church and the German people. Hitler told him to confine himself to the church and he would take care of the German people. Martin explained to Hitler that as a Christian he had a responsibility to the German people, entrusted to him by God and that Hitler nor anyone else had the power to take that from him. He was closely watched by the secret police and eventually ended up getting his church bombed and he was arrested and taken to solitary confinement. His trial was Feb 7, 1938 and he ended up in a Nazi concentration camps.
    This book has such a great amount of information in it. It must have taken quite a long time to compile it. Because of these reasons I rate this book 5 stars of 5.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Saints, martyrs and heroes

    The first week of 2011 is in the books, and if you're like me, it usually takes you a week to figure that out and about a month to stop writing "2010" on all your checks. Then again, who writes checks anymore?

    Anyway, if you haven't selected a devotional book for 2011 yet (like me), you might be interested in Robert Morgan's devotional entitled On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories about Saints, Martyrs and Heroes. As you can infer from the title, this devotional book provides you with daily stories about great historical figures in church history and also people you have probably never heard of. The time span of these stories ranges from the past century all the way back to the Middle Ages.

    The general format of the books are the same: a short 1-page story about the person covered that day with a Scripture reference at the end. If you want to find stories on a particular topic or theme, there is also an index at the end to help you out.

    The purpose of any good devotional book is to briefly discuss a topic in your reading for that day, give you a Scripture reference, and then give you a question to consider or some type of focus for your prayer. At a functional level, this is where the book fails. I suppose that the stories are supposed to help you draw your own conclusions about a particular topic and how that person dealt with the issue, but it would have been nice to have had some unifying element to tie it all together and give you a way to carry that into your day. Also, the Scripture references appear to all be in the Contemporary English, so if you have an issue with that translation, you'll probably want to tote your Bible along as well.

    Bottom line, if you're looking for a change of pace that will supplement your existing devotion, you can't go wrong with this one. The stories are short enough that they probably would only add 5 minutes or so to your time with God, and if you're iffy on church history like I am and don't know your Spurgeon from your Tozer, this can help you along. The majority of the people who are in this book don't seem to be on that level, but maybe that is the charm--that ordinary people like you and me are what comprise the majority of the church.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the [..] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Popes, Heroes, Martyrs and Saints!

    When I received my copy of "On This Day in Christian History" by Robert J. Morgan I immediately flipped open to the current date and read about an event that had happened on that day, sometime in the past. I was so pleased by what I read that I immediately added it to my list of devotionals. Now every night before going to bed I will read that dates entry and then either ponder the meaning of the story or pray for someone that it might remind me of.

    I have found the writing to be easy to understand, using modern vernacular, and quite fascinating to read. I was also pleased that Morgan doesn't restrict his articles to either Protestant or Catholic traditions but includes them both equally. The lives of Popes, Saints, and Martyrs alike are written about in fairly equal measures.

    The book is written in devotional format but it can also be read from cover to cover as a typical book might be. I chose to use it as a devotional, but everyone is free to make their own choice.

    I give this book my highest possible review and highly suggest it to anyone and everyone who is curious about Christian history.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my review. No other compensation was received. All opinions are 100% my own and may differ from others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Good Read

    On This Day In Christian History is a truly inspiring book, written by Robert Morgan. He did a tremendous job. It is a devotional about inspiring people from Christian history. It gives details of a wide variety of people including Martin Luther and Billy Graham. Although the book is laid out to go through a different person day by day, I could not put it down. Once I opened the package, I read about at least fifteen different people. The stories and descriptions were so vivid and made me feel like I knew the people. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, especial those who love history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Great book for the Doubting Thomas

    This author is becoming my favorite author, ahead of Max Lucado because of books like this book. He is not the most creative writer but he pulls out facts and makes wonderful straight line conclusions which are factual not speculative based.
    Some books feel like the writer is trying to talk the reader into something that they think..thats not my favorite type. Robert Morgan, instead, presents facts and points out trends and Historical data. His work is work and its inspirational.
    This book is the perfect gift for someone who feels like the world at large is propaganda and publicity based because it will give them Christian inspiration without leaving them feeling like they are being influenced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Easy read, fun and enjoyable!

    I've always enjoyed reading about some of famous men and women of God who have gone on before, getting to know a bit more about them and their day to day lives helps to bring them a bit closer. At the same time, I've felt somewhat limited in my knowledge and without the time I would like to have to read and know more about them. So when I saw this book it was just perfect with short, one page stories of Christians down through the ages - some famous, some not so well known but giving their lives for the Lord and for their faith none the less. I have enjoyed this book very much. It has a one page selected reading for each day of the year, with a Bible verse that goes along with the main idea of the story. I've used this as an addition to my family's time of daily devotions and read through the other pages myself. I enjoy the fact that it looks for and writes about stories and situations which may not be the most well known, so this makes it quite attractive. It's very easy reading, easy to understand and enjoyable overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    on this day in christian history

    this is a cool lil day by day... devotional i figure... has some interesting historical facts about different saints and marters, who have fowarded the gospel of christ and radically changed the the world... it is a informative read and am giving my copy to my paster who is in love with history... will be a great christmas gift idea for the history lover in ur life..


    (this was a free advanced copy give by thomas nelson inc. in return for honest review of material)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Good easy read on history, not for history buffs though.

    I have to say that I am really enjoying this book. I have read through many of the days. The book is set up to recognize an event in Christian history every day of the year. Some of the entries do stretch the notion that the actual event happened on that day. Each entry is very interesting. Let me give you a word of caution: If you are looking for an inspiring book that will challenge you each day to dig into God's Word, this is NOT the book for you. If you are looking for a book that has easy to read, short, and interesting entries, this IS the book for you. This is NOT a book for those history buffs who are looking for in depth examination of events in history. This IS a book for those who are casually looking to investigate events of old that have shaped, influence and encouraged many in the Christendom world today.

    I recommend this book for the average person just wanted a short, easy to read event description of Christian histories.

    I would not recommend this book for the student of Christian history looking to gain valuable knowledge in Christian history or the individual looking for a daily devotion that will be challenging and in depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    WRITING HISTORY WITH A TWIST!

    I am a history lover and this book comes in handy for me. The author has done a great job, writing devotional with a twist, making it into a historical journey that is. Some stories made me mad, some made me cry. Most of all, the reading inspired me very much. I must salute Robert J. Morgan for being able to speak so much with just a few short paragraphs of each personality.

    This book has indeed increased my appetite to know more about those saints of old. Someone said, "Those who ignore history are bound to repeat it" but I would say of this book, "Those who learn history from this book will be excited about the future with God."

    If you are looking for systematic history in this book, you will be disappointed. I believe the author just wants the readers to grasp a sense of God's working in history everyday. He ends every story with a relevant verse or verses to tell the world that God's Word still works today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    On This Day

    While this book is set up like a devotional, it is unique. Instead of just a Bible verse for each day of the year with an explanation, there is a historical moment captured on the page. Yes, there are Bible verses for each day at the end of the page, but they complement the stories more than just teach readers. Each reading is a page or less and is designated for a day of the year. It starts from January first and ends on the last day of December. What's really cool is that each historical reading actually took place on the day that is prescribed for the reader. To read history of Christians is one thing, but to have a significant date to read it is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    A great gift for a history buff!

    This would be a great gift for the history buff on your Christmas list! This book was very interesting -- providing historical accounts of things that happened within the Christian faith throughout history. I liked using this daily guide as part of my daily devotional -- it was simple to use my daily devotional and then look in this book to see what historical event happened on that particular date.

    I plan to share this book with other friends and family members who love reading about history. This is the perfect history book about the Christian faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Great Dive Into History

    On This Day in Christian History by Robert Morgan, who authored the Then Sings My Soul collection, presents just what the sub-title says: "365 amazing and inspiring stories about saints, martyrs and heroes."

    "From the Roman Empire to the Reformation, St. Valentine to St. Francis, Martin Luther to Billy Graham, On this Day introduces readers to a parade of preachers, popes, martyrs, heroes, and saints from 2,000 years of Christianity" (Thomas Nelson).

    This is a very wholesome, intriguing book, with plenty of information and discovery included. I enjoyed the "on this day" format; it makes it exciting to open the book to say, October 11, and find a piece of history that happened on October 11.

    This is a great book for family reading, personal exploration, or for-fun reading. It would also make a really nice Christmas gift, since it does start on January 1. I know that I will enjoy reading it again at the start of the new year, discovering more about Christian history, Christ-like living, and real people who gave their all for Jesus.

    (I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not paid to review this book, and Thomas Nelson in no way influenced my review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    Informative and Inspiring!

    'On This Day in Christian History' is a fabulous book. Each day throughout the year, there will be a brief devotion highlighting a hero of the Christian faith. The devotions are both encouraging and inspiring... a fantastic way to start your day!

    The devotions are in-depth and dive into the history of Christianity. It's a bit of a challenging read. Robert Morgan {pastor of Donelson Fellowship} does a fantastic job choosing new inspiring stories for each day. You won't regret how much you'll learn over the course of one year with this devotional. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great way to learn about Christian history

    On This Day in Christian History is laid out in a devotional-style format, with one page per day. I think this was a great idea for this book, as it puts the stories into short, easy-to-remember, bits. I also really like that each story has a direct tie to the day on which it is presented- whether its on the day in history on which an event happened or a famous person's birth day or death day or some other momentous event. Each day's entry is wrapped up with a Bible scripture that is relevant to the story presented that day.


    Since there is an entry for each day of the year, this book presents 365 different stories of saints, martyrs and heroes, men and women from different countries, lifestyles and points in time. Some of the people were people I had heard of before, but many were not. Reading these stories of people who gave up everything for their faith really made me stop and examine my own faith and how I show it in my daily life. Even though the stories are too brief to give much detail about the lives of the people they discuss, I thought the stories served as nice introductions to people and events that I otherwise may not have learned about. Now I'm inspired to learn more about some of these people and see more reading in my future!


    As the author quotes in the preface, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn once said "If we don't know our own history, we will simply have to endure all the same mistakes, sacrifices and absurdities all over again." This book is a nice way to help us keep Christian history fresh in our minds. I look forward to continuing to use this book as part of my own daily devotional time and think it would be a great gift or purchase for any Christian who loves history or who just wants to know more about the Church's past.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book through the Booksneeze review program. I was not compensated in any other way and was not under any obligation to post a positive review. All opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Daily History of The Faith

    I don't pick up history books enough. I should read them more. I enjoy learning about the past and how it shapes today. On This Day in Christian History reminded me of that. The book looks at the lives of martyrs, theologians, saints and other men and women who have shaped the faith and the world from Martin Luther to St. Augustine, from Mother Theresa to Eric Liddell.

    The book is designed to be read daily. Each one page story takes about five minutes to read but still provides interesting information within the quick read. Each reading also includes a short Scripture passage to go with the story. There is also an index of selected topics which could be useful for writing speeches or sermons.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Great!

    I really enjoyed reading On This Day in Christian History 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories about Saints, Martyrs and Heroes by Robert Morgan. It tells of the different people and their remarkable journies from being saved to giving their life to the Lord. It tells the stories of the persons who helped shape Christianity into what it is today and shows what many have forgotten about God. I really enjoyed how this book talked of the Saints, such as St. Valentine, and how it speaks of putting your faith in God when you are in need. I think this is a nice book to give as a gift for birthdays or Christmas to anyone the loves learning about history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Great Every Day Read

    When I got the book, I expected a lot of cheesy stores that were more sappy than interesting. However, once I started really reading through the days, I found that I was learning a lot about different figures of history that I would have never found in regular history books.

    Sometimes it's a bit of a stretch to connect the date with the figure. Maybe it's a wedding day or the day a voyage was started, other times it's a birth or death date. One way or another it will be connected somehow.

    The other thing that I liked about the book is that if you keep up with reading the book everyday, the stories can lead into the next day. Now I'm not one that can always keep up with daily activities like this, so don't let that scare you away. Each day is interesting enough on its own that you don't have to worry about missing a day.

    This would be a great gift for someone who likes daily inspiration in the stories no one talks about. My favorite day was February 26th, a love story that just needed someone to "man up" and profess his love. You'll just have to check it out and find out the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2