Customer Reviews for

On What Grounds (Coffeehouse Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great read - even for non-coffee-lovers!

I enjoy reading mystery novels, and I'm always surprised by the inventive settings and plots for murder and mayhem. Recently, while I was waiting for the latest book in my current mystery series, I decided to try something new. I was browsing the mystery shelves, before...
I enjoy reading mystery novels, and I'm always surprised by the inventive settings and plots for murder and mayhem. Recently, while I was waiting for the latest book in my current mystery series, I decided to try something new. I was browsing the mystery shelves, before sitting in the B&N cafe to have my morning hot chocolate and scone, when the cover with "Coffeehouse Mystery Series" caught my eye. I was intrigued, since, here I was at a coffeehouse, looking for a mystery series... Could it be fate? Apparently so! I picked up 'On What Grounds' to read in the cafe, and I was instantly hooked by the novel setting, the interesting cast, and the colorful writing style. I especially liked that it was written in 1st-person, so I felt truly connected with the main character. Of course, the descriptions of coffee-related beverages and food made my mouth water - and I don't even drink coffee! The recipes and tips, related to all things coffee, at the back of the book are a unique touch that makes this series useful as well as entertaining. I have already purchased the second and third book, and can't wait to continue reading!

posted by 6tessa9 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not much in the plot

The plot didn't move much. There were some "teases" but it didn't go anywhere with them. There were some interesting twists. Good information for those who love coffee. The average coffee drinker would say, "Neat information" and then hope to get on with the plot soon.

posted by nookbookworm on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read - even for non-coffee-lovers!

    I enjoy reading mystery novels, and I'm always surprised by the inventive settings and plots for murder and mayhem. Recently, while I was waiting for the latest book in my current mystery series, I decided to try something new. I was browsing the mystery shelves, before sitting in the B&N cafe to have my morning hot chocolate and scone, when the cover with "Coffeehouse Mystery Series" caught my eye. I was intrigued, since, here I was at a coffeehouse, looking for a mystery series... Could it be fate? Apparently so! I picked up 'On What Grounds' to read in the cafe, and I was instantly hooked by the novel setting, the interesting cast, and the colorful writing style. I especially liked that it was written in 1st-person, so I felt truly connected with the main character. Of course, the descriptions of coffee-related beverages and food made my mouth water - and I don't even drink coffee! The recipes and tips, related to all things coffee, at the back of the book are a unique touch that makes this series useful as well as entertaining. I have already purchased the second and third book, and can't wait to continue reading!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Murder with your Coffee

    If you are a fan of mysteries and coffeehouse coffee blends, this is a fun book to read.
    Clare Cosi is the manager of the Village Blend. A 100 year old coffeehouse in Greenwich Village, NY. Clare is running the Village Blend for her ex-mother-in-law and lives above the coffeehouse. The problem is Clare has to share this living arrangement with her ex-husband,Matt, who is the coffee buyer for the Village Blends specialty roasts and a womanizer. Joy,their daughter is in culinary school. What happens at the Village Blend next....you have to read for yourself. Follow Clare's curiosity at the events that surround her and the Village Blend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read!

    I really enjoyed this mystery, a great introduction to the characters and their lives in this book. It is a must read for someone who enjoys a light mystery and coffee! The story itself is well written with the reader believing that they are right there on the scene.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Hook, Line, and Sinker

    This was a nice introduction to the series. I was hooked right away and loved the incorporation of the different coffee recipies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Swing... We Have a Winner!

    Grab your chocolate. Latte. Cocoa. Chi. Chocolate liqueur. Kahlua® coffee liqueur

    Swing batter batter swing... We have a winner!!!

    I am not a coffee connoisseur, but the aroma of a heady brew gets my blood boiling.

    I love the potent bouquet that attacks my senses whenever I step foot inside a coffeehouse.

    *Sigh*

    I love to soak up the atmosphere ~ I sip on delicious hot tea, Poland water &/or grab a bite to eat ~ soup, panini... scones. Oh, those yummy desserts.

    I relax, read, listen to music, poetry or tune into people engaging in conversations ~ ok, eavesdrop... =Q

    I just like to settle in & marinate in the creative & energizing ambiance.

    Clare Cosi is an absolute delight. She is not one of those amateur sleuths you wonder, "where'd she go to school ~ KoKo Puffs U". She is a charming, intelligent & witty protagonist.

    Clare does not rely on anyone to be her superhero. Her cape is right next to the Sumatra in the storeroom.

    All of the the impressive characters leap from the page. Oh, Matteo...

    Joy, Madame, Matteo... *oops, back on track* Tucker, Detective Mike Quinn are absolutely compelling, expressive & irresistible.

    I love how the coffee info is scattered throughout the book. Some complain this is annoying, but I don't find it irritating or distracting in the least.

    On What Ground's is the 1st coffeehouse mystery & is a delightful, picturesque, sparkling, lighthearted cozy.



    Now, I'm in the mood to visit a coffee bar & order an iced raspberry, bottle of Poland & a lemon raspberry bar.

    Come to mama, baby.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    If you love coffee and riveting drama, this is the book for you!

    I took a chance and purchased the first two books of the Coffeehouse Mystery series, even though I was not familiar with the author, and I am glad I did. Taking on the running of a celebrated coffee bar owned by her ex-mother-in-law and finding out her ex-husband is part of the package was the first shock. Then finding one of her employees at the bottom of the basement stairs barely alive, complicated matters. Add in some shady characters and a handsome police detective, well, need I say more? Interspersed throughout this riveting story are tips for making the perfect cup of coffee and, at the back of the book, recipes you will want to try. Like the one for a Black Russian. This is a case where you should try it at home...and with a chair nearby! Can't wait to start series #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Great book

    Must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Loved it!

    Loved it! As usual a great read from Cleo Coyle. She is so detailed and really gets the reader entangled in the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I loved this first book in the fun cozy series. It combines two of my all-time favorite things -- coffee and mystery!<BR/><BR/>Clare Cosi has just come back to manage The Village Blend coffeehouse at the request of Madame, the wonderful, loving eccentric who just so happens to also be her ex mother-in-law.<BR/><BR/>When Clare arrives, it's to find the unconscious body of her assistant manager, Annabelle, lying at the bottom of the service stairs. What the police (led by hunky yet aloof Detective Quinn) assume is a tragic accident seems to clearly be foul play to Clare, and she sets out (with the help of her ex-husband, Matteo) to prove it.<BR/><BR/>I can't wait to read the next book in this series! I loved the information on coffee, and I really enjoyed the characters. This is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoy my first cup of coffee in the morning. The plot was interesting, with enough red herrings to keep me engaged in the story, and, while the ending could be predictable, I liked it. What I really liked though, was the main character, Claire Cosi and the writing style of Cleo Coyle. Clair Cosi is a woman who is trying to get her life back together after she is enticed into returning as the manager of the Village Blend, a famous coffee shop in Greenwich Village. She finds the body of her assistant manager in the basement and won¿t accept it as an accident. What I like about her is that even though she has conflicts, she handles them well without being self-obsessed or whiney. Claire is a woman I¿d like to talk to over a nice cup of coffee. I liked the writing style of the author as well because she gives just enough detail to allow the reader to flesh out the rest without going too far. She does not go into the painstaking detail (except for the coffee making lessons, which I found interesting) that so many authors seem to do. Coyle also handles the sexual tensions well. Overall, a good read. I will definitely read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    A Trash Can Clue, Coffee Grounds Trail, Final Step Halted

    She dances in the light a shadow stalks in the dark. A chillingly choreographed contrast between a stalker and a dancer was used as a mesmerizing opening in this novel the resulting effect was artistic in ambiance, rich with symbolism, and ridden with angst. It was almost too perfectly detailed, that essential difference between an approaching murderer, harboring cold-blooded intent and an unsuspecting victim, flowng through innocent routines in oblivious abandon. From the bone-freezing effect of this short prologue, which is truly a hard act to follow, the evenly-plotted story and sensually-fleshed-out characters move beyond the eerie mood. The concluding whole is one of the best culinary mystery pilots on the market. Ironically, coffee, in some ways, for many of us, is an ultimate 'food' and Coyle's Coffee how-to's are a great bonus, interspersed with just the right touch, just enough detail within the action machinations. The novel was exquisitely executed, and within that excellence, on pages 90 - 92 of the mass market paperback lies a hidden gem of a deeply touching segment woven into a few of the facts exposing NYC citizenry backbone of grit & shared generosity in response to the 9/11 attack on their city. Indeed, the spirit of this novel was like that hidden gem, rich & balsamic, yet lightened through simple strength sensitive to depth, yet uplifting through humor's lifeline, a necessity in the worst of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Pass the cream and sugar...

    A very enjoyable read from a new author. Characters are well-drawn and the writing style keeps the pages turning. Looking forward to the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    I Loved This Book!

    I loved this book! It is about a women who recently returns to a specialty coffee shop and takes over the running of it, only to realize her ex-husband is in the picture now too. Suddenly, a death occurs in the coffee house and Clare bans together with her ex and a cute cop to try to solve the crime. It is fast moving, witty, interesting and yet, there was intrigue. I read a lot of this type of mystery books and can honestly say this book is one of my favorites. I can't wait for her to come out with her next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    clever, witty and light-hearted cozy

    Clare Cosi loved her time managing the Village Blend Coffee house but was sick and tired of her husband cheating on her; she divorced him and moved with her daughter to the New Jersey suburbs. Now that Bay is grown, the owner of the village Blend, who happens to be her ex-mother-in law, wants her to manage the coffee house for a percentage of the profits. On the day she moves she finds the body of the assistant manager unconscious at the bottom of the basement stairs. <P>After she is rushed to the hospital, the police take a look around the premises and believe Anabelle had an accident. Clare thinks she met with foul play based on the fact that the garbage can is out of place and coffee grinds are on the floor. She starts making inquiries of people close to Anabelle and ends up finding herself almost ground to death on the wrong end of a gun. <P>This is the first coffeehouse mystery and it is a clever, witty and light-hearted cozy. Clare¿s mother-in-law is playing matchmaker giving her beloved ex-daughter-in law and her son shares of the building and joint tenancy of the suite above the business. The two-ex-spouses are at the mercy of a woman they both love and it makes for some truly hilarious moments. Cleo Coyle is a bright new light in the mystery horizon. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2