Customer Reviews for

On Which Side of the Road Do the Flowers Grow?

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meditations

An enjoyable and eye-opening series of vignettes illustrating lessons learned by a Cincinati pastor from his years of service in an inner city church.

posted by GerreK on August 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple but real

The author seems to end nearly every vignette with the death of one or more of that chapter's characters. It was rather predictable and lost impact. Also, in the epilog, which is a parable, pages are missing. Of course, this detracted from the intent of completing an...
The author seems to end nearly every vignette with the death of one or more of that chapter's characters. It was rather predictable and lost impact. Also, in the epilog, which is a parable, pages are missing. Of course, this detracted from the intent of completing and summing up the author's book. Some closer editing would have made this 4 stars.

posted by Nanci37128 on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Meditations

    An enjoyable and eye-opening series of vignettes illustrating lessons learned by a Cincinati pastor from his years of service in an inner city church.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Heart-warming stories - great read

    This is a collection of true stories about people helping people in
    all sorts of circumstances and needs.
    Many tearful moments and words which bring peace, joy and
    warmth to ones inner feelings.
    If you tend to be an emotional person, which I am, you may want to read in the privacy of your own home.
    This is a book I will probably reread over time.

    Neleh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Quick pick me up

    What a delightful book. So easy to read and find inspiration in each story. Helps renew faith in humanity and our power to grow with the circumstances we have. Should have more of this on the news.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Inspirational point of view

    Found the perspective from a pasto's view eye opening. Would recommend to anyone questioning diversity within their church community. The stories were compelling and heart warming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Simple but real

    The author seems to end nearly every vignette with the death of one or more of that chapter's characters. It was rather predictable and lost impact. Also, in the epilog, which is a parable, pages are missing. Of course, this detracted from the intent of completing and summing up the author's book. Some closer editing would have made this 4 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Insirational short stories

    Inspirational short stories. Well written. Religious.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Uplifting short stories

    Need encouragement? This book does that. Good role models in this book. Pastor discusses people that have led complicated, but fulfilling lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Sweet stories

    Excellent read!A true life collection of stories from a pastors point of view. Amazing people that anyone can relate to. Great reading for those of us that sometimes need to be reminded of our own blessings in life. Also to give those of us who need it,hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Book starts off slower than I expected but once I got used to th

    Book starts off slower than I expected but once I got used to the writing style & story format, I really enjoyed it. A wonderful example of people reaching out to their community and welcoming / loving people who needed help (church school bus, visitations, hugs). Some very memorable people are in these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Enjoyable book

    A good read and has a good moral for those who can see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Inspirational

    Different, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Put a smile on your face

    Very light

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Exceptional Book! I absolutely, positively loved reading this bo

    Exceptional Book!
    I absolutely, positively loved reading this book. It made me laugh, cry and think really hard about this life and the wonderful people that have passed through it. I can identify with the people that were written in this book. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Excellelnt book

    I really enjoy reading this and could get into it and love the writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful book with simple stories that are easy to read. I enj

    Delightful book with simple stories that are easy to read. I enjoy books that are real and about real people. This book is definitely one of them. I do feel that the stories should have included more details and some of the chapters ended far to abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    good

    I enjoyed reading the stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Quite interesting

    A quick worthwhile read. Great spiritual insights. We should all learn to water the flowers in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    great read

    loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Recomment this book

    Very good book, inspiring, easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Very good book...inspirational.

    If you've been a church member for any length of time, you have seen everyone of the author's examples in this book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2