Customer Reviews for

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Average Rating 4.5
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(306)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 306 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen King starts On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft with snaps

    Stephen King starts On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft with snapshots of his life growing up and how it related to making him the writer he is today. On Writing is not told as your typical How-To book, it's not full of exercises or speech on how your dream of becoming a writer will happen with ease. Stephen tells a story about writing and what it takes to become a writer. He explains what skills you will need to have in your “tool box” and gives you ways to get and ways sharpen those tools to give you the best possible chance to become a good writer. He also gives examples on how to get an agent and how to get your work published. One of the most interesting parts of the book for me was the section on editing your work and improving the flow of the story. His most important advice in the book is that if you want to be a good writer “YOU MUST READ A LOT AND YOU MUST WRITE A LOT!”

    By the time I got done reading this book I had a real sense of how much work and dedication it takes to become a writer. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to become a writer.

    I'm more than a little embarrassed to admit this, but this is the first book I have read by Stephen King, although, I have enjoyed many of the movies that have been based on his books. However, I am confident that by the end of the year On Writing will not be the only book I have read by Mr. King.

    Personally I have never had a desire to become a writer though I have taken a couple writing classes (for fun) and I also participated in National Novel Writing Month in 2012 (and succeeded in writing a book in the month of November). NaNo was also something I did for fun, though it was less fun but more satisfying than I thought it would be. NaNo is something else I would recommend to everyone, wannabe writer or not.

    After reading On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft I have a realistic view of what it takes to become a writer (if I wanted to). So I give a tip of my hat to Stephen and to all the other writers out there that write the books that transports me to all those wonderful (and horrible) places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Stephen King is definitely one of the greatest writers of all ti

    Stephen King is definitely one of the greatest writers of all time. I enjoyed this book that exposed the secrets that lie in his dark and twisted mind. King offers guidance on proper linguistics and how to generate ideas and plots for stories to young prospective writers like me.

    “The only bad writers are the ones that don’t get paid.” Is the one of the most practical suggestions that he stated in his book. He explains how to realize when you are succeeding in writing and when to quit. As discouraging as it may sounds, he still advises that one should not discontinue writing creatively only after being rejected sixty times, but after the rejections multiplied into the hundreds and thousands then is the time to reconsider another hobby or profession.

    “Write a lot and read a lot.” King advises that it’s the only way to become familiar with the market. I feel that reading massively develops a strong vocabulary as well as exposes different types of writing styles. Reading influence ideas and help generate rhythms and has help me become aware of what’s appropriate for the present story and the type of writer that I want to become.

    I recommend this book as a guide to anyone with the desire to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Excellent Tips from One Who Knows

    Although there wasn't anything earthshakingly new in this, it was still an excellent review and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Stephen King's "On Writing" is a brilliantly crafted c

    Stephen King's "On Writing" is a brilliantly crafted combination of memoir and guide for aspiring writers. Although it doesn't focus on the technical or logistical aspects of writing, that's never been King's style. The book focuses first on his early life as an aspiring writer, then offers a few tips based on his experience, and then concludes with the description of an incident that occurred later in his life (which I won't spoil, it's quite moving). I look at parts I and III as examples of the tips that King offers to writers in part II. He never creates explicit guidelines, either; in true King fashion, he says that good writing is only two things: 1) a good grasp of the fundamentals, and 2) having the right instruments. Combining these two things will always lead to good writing, and as King mentions, he will call a writer "talented" if he has written something that will pay the bills. This memoir has done more than pay bills for King with an intimate account of his early life and very good insights for writers everywhere to follow! Whether you're a casual writer, an aspiring professional, or someone that's just curious about the craft ... pick up this book. King is as entertaining as ever, and is writing about two of his favorite subjects: himself and writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Interesting and helpful- highly recommended!

    This was a really good book, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I am not a big fan of Mr. King's genre of writing, but I do recognize skillful writing when I see it, and so was interested to see what advice he had to give.
    The book is divided into two sections. The first is an account of how he became a writer, from his first written stories as a child to the many books he has published today. His personal anecdotes are really wonderful, and his tales of success and defeat as he pursued his craft are an inspiration to aspiring writers. The second section deals with the nuts and bolts of writing, and includes specific advice for effective communication of your story.
    I found this book to be entertaining as well as highly instructive. I highly recommend it to anyone who is writing, as well as anyone interested in Stephen King and how he arrived at his amazing success as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Sorry

    Story in next result

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Dragon role play

    Rp (role play) a dragon at mythical creatures result 1

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Nightmare Wishes(part1)

    "JESSICA!"shouted Calia"wake up you lazy piece of bones." "Leave me alone I was having a good dream,"she mumbled into her pillow. "You have to wake up we have to go to school,"Calia protested. "Oh crap,I forgot about school"she said while getting up,"get out so I can change." Calia got up left the room and shut the door behind her. A couple miniutes later she ran out of the room down stairs and then into the parking lot just as the bus arrived. "God,where were you,you almost missed the bus."Calia said with a flat out scowl. I just rolled my eyes and sat down and thats when the bus driver Eli made me move because he wanted us to have signed seats which was horrible,and what made it worst was I had to sit by John the most popular guy in school and I hated to listen to him talk on and on about basketball and all those other sports. "Eli do I have to sit by him?"she said in a strangled voice. "Yes"he said. "Fine"and she sat down and tuned everyone out.

    (PART TWO) next result

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Swirlkit

    Great story!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Auther of mudshadows path to stormpatch

    ( call me blackfrost ;) ) I LOVED it! :D Stormpatch's story was Great! *u* Also try to make the chapters longer! ( not complaining or anything, but it would be a good improvement :) ) please make more!
    | read my story at mud all results! Thanks | ~Blackfrost

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    To stormpatch's story

    I liked it. It was rushed though and could be longer. Try sevrn pages next time and read my story at golden girl(the golden cat) results two and three and also my other story nightfall's job at qu fourtg and fifth result. Ask questions about the golden cat at qu second result and ill answer it in qu third result. No rude comments and if you didnt like something about it say what i should do better. I like your story! Please make more and make them seven pages! Great! Love the names! The auther

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    The Last Light - Prologue

    Fawnpelt the Riverclan medicinecat looked up at the stars when Dewstar walked up. "Any signs from Starclan Fawnpelt" Dewstar asked. Fawnpelt shook her head "No not since Silverstar died" she meowed as she said that a shooting star passed. She look up in a trance then she noded "That was a sing from Starclan saying 'before the last light burns out one with a pelt of flame will save the clans from the blood that will turn the lake red.'" (Please tell me if i should write more in res two - Candycrazy)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Moonlight: review to Ninjakit

    It's amazing! I really liked it. I can't wait to read more. There weren't any typos for me to spot and that impresses me greatly!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Stormpatch's story chapter one

    "Wake up Stormkit! Clawstar is going to make you an apprentice & you don't want to be late!" My mother, Fangheart, was nosing me viciously. "Okay, okay! Im awake!" I said sleepily. I sat up, gave my fur a quick lick, then ran out of the nursery to the Bonehill, where Clawstar, the leader of DangerClan, was waiting for me. All the other cats in DangerClan were there already. I ran up & joined Fangheart around the Bonehill. Clawstar stood up & everycat was quiet. I wondered how he would proceed since we all knew that Clawstar didn't believe in Starclan. "Stormkit, please step forward." I glanced at Fangheart then stood up & walked in front of the Bonehill where all of DangerClan could see me. "Stormkit, do solemnly promise to learn all that your mentor will teach you & never question any of his commands but instead do them without complaint?" Clawstar gazed steadily into my face. "I do." I replied. "Then from this day forward your name will be Stormpaw, until the day i deem you worthy to become a warrior." After the cats had chanted my name Clawstar silenced them with a flick of his tail. "Scarheart, you will mentor Stormpaw. Pass onto her all the knowledge you have gained." Scarheart, a huge brown tom with a scar down his back & massive gray paws stepped forward. As i touched his forehead i felt a shock of electricity shoot through my body all the way down to the tip of my tail. "Meet me at the entrance to camp at dawn tomorrow." Scarheart hissed in my ear. "Dont be late." 'Dawn!' i thought, shocked. 'Scarheart is crazy!' Out loud i said"yes Scarheart. I wont be late." "See that you arent" he snarled as he walked away. Later that night as i settled into my nest in the apprentice den i couldnt help but feel that somthing was terribly wrong with my clan. I fell into a restless sleep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Person

    Describe ur eyes as sparklung

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Simmerstar's narrow path Book1 is at

    'Stal ' all esluts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Is it weird that i want to marry him?

    Soooooooooooooo delightfully wonderful. I thoroughly enjoy Stephen King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    This book is the s***!

    There are no dignified words to describe the greatness of this book. Just pick it up and read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    My secret yugioh story

    Yugi woke up and yawned. Yesterday had been Joeys birthday and they had stayed up practicly all night having fun. He checked the time and nearly jumped out of his skin!! It was 9:00!!! He always got up later on saturday but not this late!! He grabbed his puzzle pulled it on and rushed down the stairs. Granpa why didnt you wake me up??!! He said acusingly. Because if had you would have been grumpy and snapish all day and you needed to sleep. Granpa replied. Oh. Yugi said all the wind out of his sails. Go eat breakfast then get dressed before its time fo you to go. Where? Yogi asked. Why,dont you remember? You and your friends are going out to eat for Joeys birthday. Oh no!! Yugi cried. I dont have a lot of time before i have to go!! He ran upstairs pulled on some clothes ate breakfast and was out the door. Pharaoh you should have woke me up. He complaned. Well you didnt ask and i wasnt really paying atintion. He replied. Grrr! Yugi said and ran faster. To be continued.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Part Memoir, Part Writing Instruction. Loved this book. I orig

    Part Memoir, Part Writing Instruction. Loved this book. I originally thought this to be a purely instructional book but was pleasantly surprised by Mr. King's in depth memoir, which I enjoyed immensely. It enriches this book and explains a lot about his writing style. He also speaks about the horrible accident (during the writing of this book) which almost took his life. I admire his courage. I definitely would recommend this book to anyone pursuing a writing career, because it is filled with insight and wisdom from a hugely successful writer. Get the nitty-gritty straight from the source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 306 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16