Customer Reviews for

On a Wild Night (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another great book in the Cynster series! I wish these men exis

Another great book in the Cynster series! I wish these men existed in modern times or is it just that men nowadays don't have a clue about how to court and seduce a woman!? I really don't understand some of the negative reviews about this book. There is a huge differ...
Another great book in the Cynster series! I wish these men existed in modern times or is it just that men nowadays don't have a clue about how to court and seduce a woman!? I really don't understand some of the negative reviews about this book. There is a huge difference between how women thought and were treated in the olden days compared to the modern woman and I think that's part of the probem. As a modern woman, we would never tolerate certain treatment but we must remember, ladies, we cannot judge these stories by our present-day standards! Also, these books are fictional romance. Loosen up! Enjoy them for the sheer pleasure and escape they offer! Knowing what I know now, I'd sure like to spend just one night with one of these heroes!

posted by atzbech on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

typical

Here are my problems with all Stephanie Laurens Cynster books: 1)they are all long, not because of interesting plot twists or details, but because of pointless babble; 2)she gets what she feels is a good description of a character, and then uses it REPEATEDLY until you ...
Here are my problems with all Stephanie Laurens Cynster books: 1)they are all long, not because of interesting plot twists or details, but because of pointless babble; 2)she gets what she feels is a good description of a character, and then uses it REPEATEDLY until you want to beat yourself in the head with the book (in this book, it is the word 'lion' to describe Martin); 3)what is the deal with all these men being unable to say they love someone? It makes me so frustrated. The Cynster series had been getting better, until this book. The storyline had a lot of potential, but was ruined by an obvious mystery (I was thinking, are these people stupid? Do they REALLY not know who the murderer is? I figured it out - as anyone with an IQ over 50 would have - as soon as they mentioned the murder), and boring characters. I couldn't wait for it to end.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book in the Cynster series! I wish these men exis

    Another great book in the Cynster series! I wish these men existed in modern times or is it just that men nowadays don't have a clue about how to court and seduce a woman!? I really don't understand some of the negative reviews about this book. There is a huge difference between how women thought and were treated in the olden days compared to the modern woman and I think that's part of the probem. As a modern woman, we would never tolerate certain treatment but we must remember, ladies, we cannot judge these stories by our present-day standards! Also, these books are fictional romance. Loosen up! Enjoy them for the sheer pleasure and escape they offer! Knowing what I know now, I'd sure like to spend just one night with one of these heroes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read for entertainment.

    Amanda Cynster is a wild twin who wants to find a husband outside of the usual boring "ton". She goes on a hunt and meets Earl Dexter who has just returned from exile. Amanda goes to a seedy gambling club with a friend and finds herself in a challenging predicament. Martin, or Dexter, comes to her aid.
    The tale is all about her seduction of Martin? Is she the one that is seduced? They go on a wild merry-go-round of trying to find each other and true love.
    There is much sex in the contents and gets a little boring. There isn't as much trilling action as some of the other Cynster series. This is all about girl meets boy.
    I did not enjoy this reading of the Cynster Series as some of the previous reads. It was too predictable!

    Cherry Blossom

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    typical

    Here are my problems with all Stephanie Laurens Cynster books: 1)they are all long, not because of interesting plot twists or details, but because of pointless babble; 2)she gets what she feels is a good description of a character, and then uses it REPEATEDLY until you want to beat yourself in the head with the book (in this book, it is the word 'lion' to describe Martin); 3)what is the deal with all these men being unable to say they love someone? It makes me so frustrated. The Cynster series had been getting better, until this book. The storyline had a lot of potential, but was ruined by an obvious mystery (I was thinking, are these people stupid? Do they REALLY not know who the murderer is? I figured it out - as anyone with an IQ over 50 would have - as soon as they mentioned the murder), and boring characters. I couldn't wait for it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Good One

    Stephanie Laurens is wonderful. Another good Cynster book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    I fell in love with the Cynster men. They are strong, supportive and noble men. Not to mention sexy. This book however was a disappointment. Amanda spends the first half trying to get the guy to propose and the last half refusing. All the women are all stubborn, unrealistic and completly unworthy of a Cynster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Riviting

    I always love her books.This one was original and very interesting. The characters are strong and riviting. The plot is very sexy, exciting and refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Very romantic...

    I loved this book and couldn't read it fast enough. The hero was actually worthy of falling for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    very very boring

    To begin with, the characters and their actions are so unbelievable. They were so dull. Too many love scenes. I haven't even finished the book and never will. I probably won't ever read Laurens anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    bored

    This is my first book by Stephanie Laurens and my last. I found myself skipping through a lot of the book just to be done with it. Amanda has Martin wrapped around her little finger throughout the majority of the book. I wish Martin would have called her bluff and stand up for himself. All in all boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Too Many Love Scenes

    This is an OK book, Laurens is an OK writer. There are too many love/sex scenes, even for a romance novel. The whole book could be cut by 25%. When there is action or plot going on, it is better. I got annoyed by how Amanda kept refusing Martin's proposals, no man would put up with that. Her rationale for turning him down so much was unconvincing. But overall, not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    I really enjoyed this one...

    This is my second favourite behind Devil's bride for sure. I really enjoyed it from start to finished. I liked that Amanda was a strong character who could really think for herself. Overall a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    NOT THE BEST BUT OK

    This book was okay I wasn't crazy about it and at times it got on my nerves. I didn't like how Amanda was sweating the hero. I guess she never heard the phrase'hard to get' she was very forward and I didn't like that. The plot was good but I think it had so much more potential. This is one of the better books that I've read by Stephanie but it's by far not her best work.....not sure if I will read the sequel though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Another winner in the Cynster Series

    Amanda¿s story is truly unbelievable. Of course, a gently reared woman (even a Cynster) would never really behave the way that she does in this book. But as a piece of lively fiction, this is one of the best! As usual, the relationships between the characters are well drawn out. Family, honor, real love, and passion are uppermost in importance. Laurens writes the best love scenes out there ¿ steamy but never degrading or gratuitous. One teeny complaint ¿ Laurens has always had a wonderful way with dialog, but it turns a bit turgid here ¿ all seething passions and what have you. For those who insist on ranks and comparisons, I¿d say that this rates about 3rd or 4th as my favorite in the entire Cynster series. And we find out a teeny bit about who Amelia has her sites set on and he looks very, very interesting ¿ I can hardly wait for May!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    engaging Cynster tale

    In 1825 England twins Amanda and Amelia Cynster discuss the hopelessness of finding a worthy male to love for a lifetime as no one in their circle measure up to the high bar set by their relatives, the six Bar Cynster brood. The siblings agree to never lower their standard even if it means a spinster¿s life. They also concur that they must widen their horizons. Amanda will venture into the shadows while Amelia will journey beneath the lights of the chandeliers. <P>Amanda begins her hunt at Mellors a popular but dangerous gaming hole and an unacceptable place for an unchaperoned unmarried woman. She meets Lord Martin Fulbridge back in England after a decade of exile because his father refused to believe he did not commit a murder. Martin protects Amanda, and soon they share sex. He offers to do the honorable thing, but she rejects his marriage proposal, as she will only wed for love. <P> ON A WILD NIGHT is an engaging Cynster tale starring a wonderful couple whose repertoire is amusing and sensual. Though Amanda¿s quest seems inappropriate for her class in that era, fans will enjoy her exploits. The story line is fun to follow due to the dueling duet. A subplot in which the amateur sleuths try to solve the decade old murder ties back to the prime romantic theme though historical mystery readers will not relish the rapid resolution of the case. Stephanie Laurens provides her audience with a strong tale that leaves fans anxiously awaiting Amelia¿s trek to find the light of love. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4