BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

On the Beach

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    amazing thriling book review

    I enjoyed the book On The Beach I loved the suspense in this book it made you want to read more and more. I liked how the characters in this book didn¿t know if they were going to live or die. The book was teaching you a lesson to enjoy life because you don¿t know when the world is going to end. If you like mysteries if you want a book that keeps you wondering you should look into reading this book. The plot of this story could actually happen, with all these countries with access to nuclear weapons. Even though this book is old it has a modern day Idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    fabulous reading!!

    i read this book YEARS ago but couldnt remember the name of it--it was mentioned on a news program the other day and i couldnt wait to find out if it was still available to read again!! it left a definate impact on my opinion on nuclear war--this book is more real than we would like to believe.........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Loved it!

    This book was recommended to me by my english teacher and he said 'If you want to read a phenomenal book read On The Beach by Nevile Shute' I started it thinking I wasnt going to like it but it is one of those books that once you get into it you all you want to do is read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Could this happen today?

    This is an excellent book. It should be required reading for all college students. Nuclear war is something we think could never happen, but in today world the reality of this does exsist. To many third world countries have nuclear weapons and would like to control the world. After reading this book my feelings have changed, and I strongly believe all countries should dissarm including our country. I hope whoever as the opportunity to read this book will also benifit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    JET Student PSTCC

    This book could come true in any time in our history, people can see what the out come could be, if you are a si-fi person this is one you want to read and then see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    IT COULD HAPPEN!!!!

    On the beach was a great reading experience for me. I thought it was very relistic and very close to home. It could have became a reality if the cold war had not have ended when it did. The book kept my attention from the first page and the characters personalities are very easy to pick up and get into. This book should be required reading for government leaders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    On emotion, grammer, and the end as we perceice it.

    I first read On the Beach many years ago when I was young. I found it to be very profound. Impressionable I was and found myself immersed in the book and quite relating to the characters, their lives, and fate. Feeling as I had, I asked myself the question that many of us have probably have asked ourselves; what would I do if I found myself in that situation? I found the behavior and actions of the characters most plausible. Not unlike the day when Nevil Shute wrote this book, the concept of nuclear war carries the connotation of flash, bang, mushroom cloud, duck-and-cover. The instant where everyone dies in a horrible catastrophe . No running, no hiding. Even post cold war duck-and-cover generations of today with the smallest inclination could describe the devastation that would occur. The freeze frame and end. But the book painted a different picture. There was no flash. No bang. No duck and cover. It was life and people. Coming to grip with what terrible understanding of what had occurred. And through no fault of their own, understanding, or action they could take could escape it. That realization is what made an impact on me. The human element of how each character came to terms with their fate is the power that makes this book so powerful. To paraphrase: ¿The world doesn¿t go out with a bang. It goes out with a whimper¿ - This is a must read on many levels. Emotion as well of those of politics, I didn¿t touch on the last, but it speaks volumes. Cheers. Read. MJP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Not So Far Fetched

    Louise obviously has never been in the military, or sat through hours of NBC (nuclear, biological, chemical) warfare training. There is probably not a whole lot of background in sociology, either, based on her comments. I was in the military and I did take numerous Sociology courses in school. The really awsome and awful part of this book is how it DOES realistically portray one scenario of what COULD be the fate of the world in the event of an all out nuclear war. Not every corner of the earth will be scorched and mangled. But everyone will suffer. Of the survivors, those that turn to anarchy and complete all out emotional and spiritual insanity are relatively few, compared to those that once the shock of what we did to ourselves settles in, begin to make peace with what world and time they have left. You bet, the world of science that is still alive is going to be fighting tooth, claw and nail to try to find a quick solution to the radiation - and to date, there is none. And many WILL kill themselves, either before, or when suicide medication is provided. Many, like me, will not, regardless of how sick we get because to us suicide is not the answer. Even under those circumstances. Though we will not judge those that choose it. Because we'll WANT to choose it too. At the time this book was written, we didn't have all the technology. We didn't have a Neutron Bomb. Who needs radiation when you have a bomb that simply dissolves all organic matter. People should never underestimate the power of the human to destroy ourselves, or the power of our spirit to rise beyond our stupidity, even if its only for a couple of weeks or months. This world will not end. Those of us who are Christians believe this. Many people do believe that the world intself will cease to exist. However we believe, we all agree that the world, AS WE KNOW IT, will end. Because of war, most likely, whether accidental, or on purpose. Everyone, Christian, Jew, Muslim, Buddist, Indian - all of our religious teachings know this. Even the Atheist, Agnostic and Satanist knows it. Fortunately for you and for me, it hasn't happened. Yet. So the writer didn't have the frame of reference of a world gone entirely insane. However, from the science and social standpoint - I don't think this dude was too far off the mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    What is a classic?

    I belive that there is too much 'hype' over this book. It took a long time to get into but thats where the treat was. You begin to feel imence empathy for the chracters in the end. Even for the Dog that was only mentioned at the end. I found it difficult to say who the main character was, it seamed to shift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Amazing book, If you can understand it

    Louise (louise_girl@hotmail.com), you have never been more wrong: this book was amazing, if you know the history and implications of actual nuclear weapons, and the danger we face now, the book can teach you a great deal. A town in far off australlia, with a will to survive and a love of life, a curiosity for the rest of the world who manage to survive and live lawful lives, not as easy as one might think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    excellent book

    nevil shute's novel 'on the beach' is one of the best books i have read in a while. it is a classic undoubtedly. it is a real tear jerker towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    My Favorite Book

    Shute has produced a masterpiece. This is the best book (out of many) that I've read, and I go over it again at least annually. While the book has important political lessons for citizens in today's tenuous international environment, its real beauty is in its characters and messages about the value of life and living- until the last moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    A big let down

    I was tremendously dissapointed by Nevil Shutes novel. The book is considered to be a classic, but I found it to be boring, poorly written and unrealistic. Shutes writing was often repeatitive and not colourful enough. His take on how people would react to the end of the world was not at all realistic. In this day and age people would not just sit around awaiting fate, they would try to survive, a natural instinct of most humans I know. Another irritant in the novel was the fact that the novel was obviously written by a man. The sexism was unbearable and the constant referin to the baby as 'it' was also quite annoying. Overall the novel was a big let down and I do not recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    best book

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Page Turner

    A definite must read for all twentieth history and modern english buffs. I have read this book at least twice, and I found it to be a shocking glimpse of how our lives could end. It makes you think about how you would spend your last days on this Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    disapointed

    I thought that the way Shute made his characters, and how he made them talk created a great lack of interest for the readers. The beginning is extremely slow, and you could say it picks up, but it is not drastic enough to make me want to keep reading the book. I thought about what would happen if this became reality, once or twice, but again, it was not enough to keep me interested. I was expecting an exciting, suspenseful book, but Nevil Shute was not able to satisfy me. I give this book one and a half stars, for lack or development, to much navy talk, and writing an uninteresting book; however a large number of people seemed to like it, for that reason I gave it some points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2001

    Sept. 12,2001

    This could happen maybe not with nuclear bombs, but what happen on Tue Sept 11, In this book it was small groups,or country's that did this, that started this war.What can we did to keep this from happening. We need some good answer's. And SMART people. And I think we have them in Washington. Lets all Pray they do the right thing. I recommend this book to everyone I meet to read it or lisen to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2001

    What Would Happen IF...

    What would happen if more nuclear bombs were dropped in previous wars??? This book really makes you think about what would've happened and it really is a scary thought. I really enjoyed reading this book and i would strongly recomed it. On The Beach gets 4 stars in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Suspenseful

    I loved Nevil Shute's On The Beach. He may not use the best grammar and sometimes his sentence structure makes no sense, it does not take away from the book. The book is very suspenseful. I didn't want to put it down, I read it in 3 nights! The reader is able to feel the character's emotions. You feel almost as if you are the one experience the fear or radiation. Great book, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Gets you thinking

    This book starts out slow, but picks up as the story progresses. By the end of the book I couldn't put it down. What would have happened if there were more nuclear bombs dropped during World War II? This book is about one of the options if this occured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5