Customer Reviews for

On the Beach

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Boring?? Not.

    Those who have read this book and find it "boring" have managed to miss the whole point and flavour of the book. This was not written as an instant gratification, blood and guts flying around thriller or action piece. It was written as a warning. It was written from the perspective of the most likey survivors of such an appalling scenaro. Those deep under water, deep in a cave under ground, those in the farthest reaches from the initial blasts and shockwaves would be the survivors.......for a time...anyway. A principled military commander would behave as the main male character did. Australians, as I have known them, would for the most part behave as if life were going on as normal, and be polite, cheeky, playful, generous and caring of each other until it was their time, as individals to face and accept the innevitable. A world wide nuclear event isnt going to be an exciting, suspence filled thriller. Its going to be a horror with any survivors in post traumatic shock and with little else to do except keep on keeping on, until its time to decide whether to quietly crawl off and die alone, or quietly lie down to die with the people and things around them that they love the most, or to go out singing and fishing at their favorite fishing hole.

    I, for one, have understood the potential of a scenario such as that described by the author because I am, personally, a military Veteran; the great great, great, etc...grandaughter of Veterans, the daughter, sister and wife of Veterans, and the mother of a multiple deployment, currently serving soldier.

    So if you are looking for cheap thrills and vicarious heroics and action.........dont read this. If you want something that provokes thoughtfulness about how you hope you will behave in a post nuclear situation that leaves you only a little time left to make peace with your life, your loves, yourself and your God.......then this book will not "bore". It might actually save that most important part of you and allow you to behave with kindness, compassion and dignity in some hopeless and helpless situation you may find yourself enduring someday.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Should be required reading for anyone in charge of launching nukes.

    The headline says it all. On the Beach is a chilling example of what could happen to the inhabitants of our planet, if the outbreak of a global nuclear war occurs. On The Beach is one of those books that is a page turner, but also one that you have to put down every so often before reaching the end, because it's so heartwrenching.

    The story follows the last days of mankind, and the months leading to them. 37 days of nuclear war have wiped out all life in the northern hemisphere, and while it appears that Australia, South America, and South Africa have gotten a freepass from the total destruction that rained down upon the rest of the world, their deaths will come in months from the radioactive fallout that is steadily coming their way.

    The main focus of On the Beach is on a few different charecters. One is US Navy Captain Dwight Towers, who lost his family in America during the war. They either died in the blast (if fortunate) or died of radiation sickness, and he must come to grips with them being dead. The other is Moira Davidson, a 24 year old who is drawn to Capt. Towers and dealing with the fact that with death coming via radiation, she will never get to do the things she wanted in life. There is also a scientist who uses the time he has left to live on the edge so to speak, and finally we come to the most painful story in the book, Peter, and Mary Holmes. They are a young couple with a baby (possibly born or conceived during the war) who must cope with the fact that they must poison their child, and kill her to spare her from the painful death that is radiation sickness.

    While Nevil Shute may have had some trouble constructing dialougue, and I find people's reaction to impending doom a tad too calm for the overall direness of their situation, he did convey a message that we are all living on borrowed time, and we have choices when it comes to facing death. As I said in the headline, On the Beach should be required reading for anyone, whether it be leaders of nations that have nuclear weapons, or the military personel who initiate launch sequences.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Very highly recommended

    This novel is a timeless classic. I first read it in high school 40 years ago and I just knew I had to read it again. I discovered that the story is as relevant today as it was then. My kids are in their 20s and I am pleased to say that they were as enthralled with it as I was 40 years ago.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Something old but something new

    You start reading "On The Beach" and from the first page, realize that you are going to have a different relationship with this book. It was written in 1957 and yes, there was a movie made, but the writing and story telling is as pertinent today as ever. The grace of the characters, the love of the time and the integrity of decisions as each person faced the end makes this a keeper for my library. To consider that it could all come to an end, but have the sense of it's the beginning ... what a gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    read in one sitting

    I read this book in one sitting. i couldnt leave it alone. the story of the survivors of WWIII is touching and painful. if you want to know what the last days are really going to be like, here it is

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Read it just for one time...

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone to read. I do not really like to read fictional story, but the connection between the characters in this book do not let me to put it away. I like the title of this book because every thing in this book happens on the beach and ocean. I am recommending to anyone to read this book because it will make you to think about how you will spend the last day of your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Great book with a great ending

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone to read. I¿m not a big reader but this book really got my attention quick. This book was hard to put down. I just couldn't wait to find out the ending. I didn't expect the outcome. I liked how the characters in this book didn¿t know if they were going to live or die. The book was teaching you a lesson to enjoy life because you don¿t know when the world is going to end. If you like mysteries and you want a book that keeps you wondering you should look into reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    You must read

    Wow!A great book. I am not really big on reading about navy war, but this book was hard to put down. This was interesting. The book was well written. The characters were well thought of. I just couldn't wait to find out the ending. I didn't expect the outcome. Well I did figure the major part, but the one about the baby I didn't suspect. I am happy how the story did fold. Eveyone must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Wonderful book awesome movie

    I am a 13 year old girl who has read about WW2 all her life. I believe this book is one of the greatest "It could have happened books ever written".If you love that type of book look no further and then check out the movie which has Eva Gardener and Gregory Peck,two phenomenal actors!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Depressing... But deserving of being called a classic

    This is one of the most depressing books you will ever read. Seriously, it makes "The Road" by Cormac McCarthy look like happy fun time. But at the same time it is incredibly well written and one of those books that goes down in only one sitting. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Excellent! Makes you hope for humanities survival to the last page.

    I read this while on an actual submarine patrol in the North Atlantic in the 70's. It is a powerful book reminding us that there are no winners in a nuclear war, thank goodness it never became reality. Yes, my fellow shipmates thought I was nuts to read such a book while underway, perhaps they were right?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Haunting

    This is a book that we need to make sure our children appreciate. The one best word I can use to describe it is "haunting". When reading it, I constantly find myself thinking along the lines of the characters - "No need to do this, since there's little time left". This is a fantastic book to show the next generation what it was like to live with the potential of a superpower nuclear war, even if the science is dated.

    One of my all-time favorites - I wish the ebook version was priced more reasonably, but for now I'll be satisfied with my 1957 (bought used) original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    The reason Why I Chose this book

    This book is truly amazing book to read. The author really describes each character and what they are like. He also lets you know what is going on in the story, but you have to figure it out yourself. I would reccomend anyone to go out and read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    shocking and possible!

    I just finished this- as this was voted one of the top ten scariest books written.. at first it did not scare me- but by the end I had many sleepless nights and dreams of radiation sickness! SCARY!! It is scary- because the way the world is going in its crazy direction, may one day leave all to consider the time we have till we open the red box with our loved ones at hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Really boring. I kept on reading up to page 100 hoping it would

    Really boring. I kept on reading up to page 100 hoping it would take off and it never did. This book starts after nuclear war has allready happened and takes place aboard a submarine out of Australia looking for suvivors elsewhere. It never gets going and is just absolutely boring and uneventfull. If you're looking for a good post-apacolyptic novel i would suggest "One second After" and "Alas, babylon".

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Genius

    One of the best post-appocalypse books of all time.I started reading and could not put down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Well written but slow

    It was a great read, but incredibly slow. I ended up reading On the Beach and another book at the same time. On the Beach was slow but written wonderfully. If you are looking for a challenging but wonderful 1960's future fiction, this is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    The Beach in' ?

    Let me just say after carefully reading the book 'On the Beach', I was completely lost in the very beginning. The entire prologue of the first introductory was absolutely bland. I mean, come on. After reading each chapter there was nothing to support it's already existing story-line. I strongly suggest that anyone who decides to read this fascinating book should take note: Do Not Read !!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone it reccommended to me by my professor and I just loved every bit about it. Im not a big reader but this book totally got my attention and quick. It has great moral to it so if you get the chance to read this book i would reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    amazing thriling book review

    I enjoyed the book On The Beach I loved the suspense in this book it made you want to read more and more. I liked how the characters in this book didn¿t know if they were going to live or die. The book was teaching you a lesson to enjoy life because you don¿t know when the world is going to end. If you like mysteries if you want a book that keeps you wondering you should look into reading this book. The plot of this story could actually happen, with all these countries with access to nuclear weapons. Even though this book is old it has a modern day Idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5