Customer Reviews for

On the Beach

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Should be required reading for anyone in charge of launching nukes.

    The headline says it all. On the Beach is a chilling example of what could happen to the inhabitants of our planet, if the outbreak of a global nuclear war occurs. On The Beach is one of those books that is a page turner, but also one that you have to put down every so often before reaching the end, because it's so heartwrenching.

    The story follows the last days of mankind, and the months leading to them. 37 days of nuclear war have wiped out all life in the northern hemisphere, and while it appears that Australia, South America, and South Africa have gotten a freepass from the total destruction that rained down upon the rest of the world, their deaths will come in months from the radioactive fallout that is steadily coming their way.

    The main focus of On the Beach is on a few different charecters. One is US Navy Captain Dwight Towers, who lost his family in America during the war. They either died in the blast (if fortunate) or died of radiation sickness, and he must come to grips with them being dead. The other is Moira Davidson, a 24 year old who is drawn to Capt. Towers and dealing with the fact that with death coming via radiation, she will never get to do the things she wanted in life. There is also a scientist who uses the time he has left to live on the edge so to speak, and finally we come to the most painful story in the book, Peter, and Mary Holmes. They are a young couple with a baby (possibly born or conceived during the war) who must cope with the fact that they must poison their child, and kill her to spare her from the painful death that is radiation sickness.

    While Nevil Shute may have had some trouble constructing dialougue, and I find people's reaction to impending doom a tad too calm for the overall direness of their situation, he did convey a message that we are all living on borrowed time, and we have choices when it comes to facing death. As I said in the headline, On the Beach should be required reading for anyone, whether it be leaders of nations that have nuclear weapons, or the military personel who initiate launch sequences.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Very highly recommended

    This novel is a timeless classic. I first read it in high school 40 years ago and I just knew I had to read it again. I discovered that the story is as relevant today as it was then. My kids are in their 20s and I am pleased to say that they were as enthralled with it as I was 40 years ago.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Something old but something new

    You start reading "On The Beach" and from the first page, realize that you are going to have a different relationship with this book. It was written in 1957 and yes, there was a movie made, but the writing and story telling is as pertinent today as ever. The grace of the characters, the love of the time and the integrity of decisions as each person faced the end makes this a keeper for my library. To consider that it could all come to an end, but have the sense of it's the beginning ... what a gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    read in one sitting

    I read this book in one sitting. i couldnt leave it alone. the story of the survivors of WWIII is touching and painful. if you want to know what the last days are really going to be like, here it is

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Read it just for one time...

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone to read. I do not really like to read fictional story, but the connection between the characters in this book do not let me to put it away. I like the title of this book because every thing in this book happens on the beach and ocean. I am recommending to anyone to read this book because it will make you to think about how you will spend the last day of your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Great book with a great ending

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone to read. I¿m not a big reader but this book really got my attention quick. This book was hard to put down. I just couldn't wait to find out the ending. I didn't expect the outcome. I liked how the characters in this book didn¿t know if they were going to live or die. The book was teaching you a lesson to enjoy life because you don¿t know when the world is going to end. If you like mysteries and you want a book that keeps you wondering you should look into reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Excellent! Makes you hope for humanities survival to the last page.

    I read this while on an actual submarine patrol in the North Atlantic in the 70's. It is a powerful book reminding us that there are no winners in a nuclear war, thank goodness it never became reality. Yes, my fellow shipmates thought I was nuts to read such a book while underway, perhaps they were right?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    The book On the Beach by Nevil Shute is a great book for anyone it reccommended to me by my professor and I just loved every bit about it. Im not a big reader but this book totally got my attention and quick. It has great moral to it so if you get the chance to read this book i would reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    amazing thriling book review

    I enjoyed the book On The Beach I loved the suspense in this book it made you want to read more and more. I liked how the characters in this book didn¿t know if they were going to live or die. The book was teaching you a lesson to enjoy life because you don¿t know when the world is going to end. If you like mysteries if you want a book that keeps you wondering you should look into reading this book. The plot of this story could actually happen, with all these countries with access to nuclear weapons. Even though this book is old it has a modern day Idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Loved it!

    This book was recommended to me by my english teacher and he said 'If you want to read a phenomenal book read On The Beach by Nevile Shute' I started it thinking I wasnt going to like it but it is one of those books that once you get into it you all you want to do is read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    JET Student PSTCC

    This book could come true in any time in our history, people can see what the out come could be, if you are a si-fi person this is one you want to read and then see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Page Turner

    A definite must read for all twentieth history and modern english buffs. I have read this book at least twice, and I found it to be a shocking glimpse of how our lives could end. It makes you think about how you would spend your last days on this Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2001

    What Would Happen IF...

    What would happen if more nuclear bombs were dropped in previous wars??? This book really makes you think about what would've happened and it really is a scary thought. I really enjoyed reading this book and i would strongly recomed it. On The Beach gets 4 stars in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Suspenseful

    I loved Nevil Shute's On The Beach. He may not use the best grammar and sometimes his sentence structure makes no sense, it does not take away from the book. The book is very suspenseful. I didn't want to put it down, I read it in 3 nights! The reader is able to feel the character's emotions. You feel almost as if you are the one experience the fear or radiation. Great book, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Gets you thinking

    This book starts out slow, but picks up as the story progresses. By the end of the book I couldn't put it down. What would have happened if there were more nuclear bombs dropped during World War II? This book is about one of the options if this occured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    On the Beach

    I enjoyed this book. The first chapter seemed to just be a filler, but as you read on, it really does get interesting...it really is worth the wait. I enjoyed that the plot was realistic and involved more than one or two people as main characters. This novel really makes you think about what life might be like after a nuclear war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Interesting

    This book makes you appreciate life. Although the beginning and build up is a little slow and dull in the making, the climax and ending teaches each reader to appreciate what moments they have to live for. It shows the brutality of war, and the consequences that result. Nevil Shute forces his readers to reflect on what they value and appreciate that they don't have to face what the characters face. Shute has done well as On The Beach is a well written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    On the Beach

    Though it starts slow, once you get into it On the Beach offers a great view of a post-nulclear holocaust from a realistic point of view. In this book, there is no magic escape and the inevitable happens, but through the way the characters live out their last days Shute paints an inspiring picture of human nature. Easy to read to read and well worth it, On the Beach gets 4 stars in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Great Book!

    I had to read this book for my school book report, at first i didnt like it but then i couldnt stop reading it. it's suspenseful because you don't know what's going to happen at the end. The book didnt start out so good but the last 2 chapters made up for it. IT was very suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2