Customer Reviews for

On the Day You Were Born

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    A great gift for a new baby!

    Love this book for a new baby! I am sure it will become the favorite to read to the baby for years to come. In the back of the book, the author has explanations of each of the parts of nature that she mentions happening on 'the day you were born' ~ it is quite sweet!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    One of my favorite books for kids

    If yuu want to make a child feel special, this book is a must.
    I read it for my son when he was 3 years old and we both loved it.
    We still read it once in a while and every time we finish the book, my son always smiles. He thinks this book was written just for him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    This is a favorite book to give as a baby gift.

    This is one of my very favorite books to give as a baby gift. We received it as a baby gift for our daughter and it became a much-loved book right away. I prefer the hard back book verses the board book because it gives educational information in the back. However, the board book is still a great book that will be enjoyed for years. The message is beautiful and so welcoming to the new addition to the family. It celebrates the child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Great baby gift!

    Some good friends gave us this book when my youngest son was born in 1994, and for many years it was a tradition to read it on his birthday (and many times throughout the year as well!) Now I give it as baby gift, along with the idea of the tradition we started and it's always very well received. <BR/><BR/>It's a beautiful story that helps us all realize that we are an important part of God's world!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Great for New Parents

    Beautifully Written, a must for the new parents to be.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book.

    This is my current favorite book for gift giving for new babies and small children. I am so happy that it now comes as a board book. The hard back is definitely worth the price for a permanent collection, but small children love to hear this and look at the pictures over and over, so the board book will get lots of use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Great book!!

    I got this book by chance. I had gotten some books as a baby gift and had to return some that I already had. I picked this book up off the shelf and quickly paged through it before deciding to buy it, not having any idea how great it was. I bawled the first time I read it to my newborn son. It still brings tears to both my husband and my eyes EVERY time we read it to our now 10-month old son. I highly recommed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    I Still Cry When I Read This

    I received this book as a gift when my now 5 year old daughter was born and I still cry everytime I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    still brings tears to my eyes...

    i read this while i was pregnant with my long awaited first child. i got so emotional i put the book down and left the store- i was so embarrassed! i chalked it up to hormones. however, as i read this to my daughter each day i still get a lump in my throat. the miracle of her birth in relation to the miracle of the earth we live in continues to put life in perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    A Must for New Babies

    If you have a new baby in your circle or family and friends reach for this book or the companion "On the Night You were Born" as the perfect gift for a child. Both are books they will grow up enjoying hearing read aloud. I first read this book while I was teaching first grade. It was always gratifying to see how enthralled they were listening to a book that celebrated them. On the Day You Were Born celebrates the birth of a child with the entire universe. All the creatures of the Earth rejoice with the birth of a child. The text is poetic and the illustrations a re masterful! I love giving this book to new moms to read aloud to their babies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    Wonderful children's book

    I have given this book so many times as a gift for a newborn baby. Story is so wonderful. Everyone that has received it has given it rave reviews. You won't be sorry if you purchase this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Better than all the others for newborns!

    I have given this book (and now book & CD) to all my friends who are new moms and their little ones. Usually I personalize the book because Frasier makes it easy to do! the story is the most heartwarming for young and old and the CD is a gentle lullaby. All the others are very darling newborn books but this is truly a treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Baby Gift!

    I bought this for my newborn niece as a special book to commemorate her special day. It is a very sweet, charming book that she will cherish for years to come. Her big sister will soon be able to read the story to her, which is pretty neat. I would recommend this book and author to anyone who is looking for a gift for any child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Tear-jerker

    Hard to get through this one without crying! Conveys a very "You are special" message through its descriptions of all the animals, plants and people that welcomed your child into the world as they were born.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book

    This book is a wonderful. I like the fact that it talks about the beauty of the world around us and how each baby should feel welcome in this world. It is very personal to you and your baby. Also a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Every new mom should have this book.

    I cried the first time I read this book after the birth of my first child. I buy it often for the birth of people's children. Talks about how glad the earth is to have the new baby here. Adorable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Tell Someone Their Special

    This book is sweet and poignant. While it is a wonderful work to read to children, it need not be limited to newborns or small children. It makes a nice gift for adult friends, just to say, "You're Special". The prose and the pictures are artistically paired. I have given this book as a gift on many occasions and recommended it to friends often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I choke up every time I read this

    I got this as a gift when my youngest was born and have given it to every new baby of a friend since.

    It is a book that is wonderful when the baby is brand new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    On the Day You Were Born

    This is a must have for every new parent! As you read it to your little one, you can really convey to them how important they are. It is so heartwarming while at the same time it teaches several science lessons. I love to give it as a baby shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    A weird book for hippies

    I bought this book online because it got such good reviews and the concept seemed really nice. But when I received it I found it to be VERY WEIRD! I returned it. I don't want to read my daughter a story about her "slithering out of the birth canal." It was repulsive. A good idea poorly executed in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2