Customer Reviews for

On the Down Low: A Journey Into the Lives of Straight Black Men Who Sleep With Men

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scary, confusing and extremly sad.

As a nurse this book angered me to the point of total disgust, because I see the end results of AIDS and how many lives are completely wasted behind hedonistic pleasures,but I commend Mr. King for coming forward and doing the responsible thing by trying educating EVERYO...
As a nurse this book angered me to the point of total disgust, because I see the end results of AIDS and how many lives are completely wasted behind hedonistic pleasures,but I commend Mr. King for coming forward and doing the responsible thing by trying educating EVERYONE about this wreckless behavior of a few selfish people. The scary, confusing and extremely sad part is, that I will always wonder if every brother I encounter is on the DL until they prove that they are not. The book is powerful wake up call to those of you on the DL to come clean and be honest.

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

DISGUSTING!!!!

First off i want my money back for this so- called expose! THIS IS GARBAGE!!! I cant even bring myself to read past Chapter 3...Thank The Lord. It upests me to know that he can profit from hurting so many people with his lies. What a horrible person. Yes I know know the...
First off i want my money back for this so- called expose! THIS IS GARBAGE!!! I cant even bring myself to read past Chapter 3...Thank The Lord. It upests me to know that he can profit from hurting so many people with his lies. What a horrible person. Yes I know know there is no one in this world that is perfect, but what he did was no different than a RAPIST. He raped his wife of her ability to trust in a mans true love for her and her families well being. Not to mention the other women he lied to, just to protect his image. These men are hiding behind the purity of Gods love and using it to shield who they really are. Thank you Father for being a healer, because these women will need it mentally & spirtually. He and the rest of the "demonically possesed" liars will never have a true peace with life. And, I dont care that he has openly come out as a GAY man now. Why not back then? Shame on him hiding behind the cloth of God to find his next fix. SICK BASTARD!!! I WANT MY MONEY BACK B&N!!!! (I only gavee this one star because i have to in order to post. Otherwise big fat Zero)

posted by BrownEyeQ on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Every women should read this book.

    I love this book it wad hard for me to put the book down . This book was amazed .every every women should read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    TABOO SUBJECK

    THIS BOOK IS ONE THAT ALL SHOULD READ. THE AUTHOR HAS BROUGHT OUT A TABOO SUBJECT THAT MANY PEOPLE DON'T WANT TO TALK ABOUT OR DISCUSS. THIS SUBJECT MEN SLEEPING WITH MEN IS ONE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN BROUGHT TO LIGHT SOME YEARS AGO. THERE ARE SO MANY MEN WHO LIVE SECRET LIVES ALL THE TIME. THERE ARE THOSE WHO CHOOSE TO HIDE THERE FEELINGS AND MARRY. BUT LO AND BEHOLD THOSE FEELINGS ARE GOING TO COME OUT SOONER OR LATER. I FEEL MR. KING CHOSE TO STAND UP AND BE HONEST WITH HIMSELF.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Well Done, brother!!

    I just read the entire copy and I am a hetersexual woman, mother, and wife. I couldn't have wrote it better myself, I appreciate anybody that would take the time out save the lives of others in this day and age. I forwarded a quote from your book to majority of the black women in my email address book to try and give them some perspective on the subject and do you know not one of them responded back. As if they are afraid to imagine that their man maybe on the Down Low? It is always a possibility and I have always paid attention long before your book was published. So, thank you from a real sista who believes in networking to keep us alive. Tewanda Kinchen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Hit home!!

    I saw a lot of men I know in this book as well as other's on the DL. The intentions of the book was loud an clear, even though so many mist it!What other explination can you give for married women that don't fool around coming up with the HIV virus? The books purpose was not to point another finger at the black men America, or to put them down. it was to reveal a hidden life that some live. Maybe he could have mentioned men in general,of all colors, but it's the black man that has the fastest growing rate of HIV cases. No,we are not the blame for the wide spread of this disease, but we are contributing to the spread. King gave his on experience as well as the experience of other men on the DL. what more could he do. the book hit home!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    Eye-opener!!

    After seeing him on Oprah I just had to read this book. I appreciated J.L.'s concern for African-American women and their health. I read this book in four hours. I truly enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    A book for ALL WOMEN!!!

    Down low men need to be exposed!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Thanks for the truth

    I read this book and it opened my eyes to a lot of things about MEN in general. May-be if more men told the truth in the beginning may-be more 'black' families would be still together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Good Information

    I read this book in 1 day! As I was reading it I got angrier and angrier at the irresponsible behavior of so called educated brothers. However, it was an eye opener and as I think back, I dealt with a DL brother. He would befriend men at the mall while shopping for model cars. Since it was 'man talk' I would walk away and go shopping, not knowing that he was making his DL connection. Fortunately, I am STD free but I still live like a wreck, thinking of what could have happened to me. I want to thank the author for opening my eyes to a world out there that is worse than terrorism. These men behave selfishly and want people to understand that they are not gay? Give me a break, you're as gay as they come. I respect gay people that are open about their sexuality and are not trying to fool anyone, which by the way, most gay men I know are very careful and use condoms. Yes, read this book, it's an education and a lesson on awareness of what's out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    This is truly an informative book....

    I was truly moved by reading this book. I plan to pass this on to my daughter so that she can also read this book. It is so hard to truly know if your husband or boyfriend is on the DL. I'm thankful for not contacting HIV or the virus. What an eye opener for me. Great book and excellent reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    A MUST READ!!!!!

    This was a big eye openner!!! Thank you Mr. King!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Fascinating

    I am a white female and had no idea this behavior of being 'on the down low' was happening in the black community. I applaud this author for shedding light on the subject and wish him the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Right On Point

    This book is outstanding. I am originally from the West Indies and I have worked as an engineer in aerospace for years in Florida and Connecticut. I work with mostly men and what you say in your book is so true. Now I know that the attraction is mutual. I was once married with kids but I realized that this was not the life I wanted to live. Because of this book I no longer feel alone. I am liberated. Thank you Mr. King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Excellent Book!

    I really liked this book, I respect Mr.King for his honesty. I know that telling the truth about his hidden lifestyle had to very difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    A key to men

    I'm 15 years old , when i read this book i thought it was a way to basically define men . I would recommend this book to those men who are living a double live. I would do this Because these men need to know how they are hurting the women who they are cheating on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Down Low is Right Up There!

    ON THE DOWN LOW: Excellent Insight! What a great novel about what has been a 'hidden life' in our society. Very well written and well recommended! This is a subject that bears further exploration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Surprise, Surprise!

    I gotta give props to Mr. King for lettin the cat outta the bag ... guess what, not every man who has sex with other men is 'GAY' (and white and skinny and teaches 'straight' men how to dress). I hope the real world will pick up on the bottom line message of this book: peoples' sexual behaviors and the labels they use to describe their behaviors and identities often do not match. You gotta be open and honest or you gotta deal with the consequences. Furthermore, lots of people are gonna get freaky behind closed doors and NOT talk with anyone about it so protect yourself accordingly. Gee I wonder if the 'heterosexual' AIDS epidemic in sub-Saharan Africa could actually be driven by 'heterosexual' DL men who have sex with men too? (I've actually heard people say 'they don't do that over there.') It sure wouldnt surprise me if they DO it and don't talk about it with the gay white university researchers who fly in, collect shotty information, and spit out all the 'facts.' You go J.L. Keep it real bro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Know Your Man or Men

    T READ THIS BOOK IN 4 HOURS. COULD'NT PUT IT DOWN ONCE I STARTED. KIND OF LOOKING AT MY MAND DIFFERENTLY!!!! This book was AWESOME!! Told the real story. I am a black female married for over 20 years and know my husband very well. After reading this book, I had to look at him and say Uh..... But I know that he is a one woman man with no men allowed. At least I pray that is the case. After reading this book, you just can't be sure. Had to really put this book out of my mind and concentrate on the trust and love that I have for my man. You single women and women who husband's cheat on them, you better listen. You life is to too short to ve caught off guard. Gave this book to my 29 year old daughter, who dates quite a lot of men, and her response was, 'Damn Mom, this really makes me think about my relationships now and me an my friends at work after hours read the book out loud and had a girl session on their men. Ha Ha. Staying Safe in Houston

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Wonderful Book

    I thought that this book was great! It gave a lot of information that I didn't really know nor understood. It also shattered the myth that EVERY black man is on da low. What it did do was open my eyes and mind. Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    ABOUT TIME!!!!

    It is about time that someone had the couraged to step out and expose this lifestyles that is crippling our black community. The book is very insightful and had a lot of important information. You can tell that the writer put so much of his heart into it. I have to applaud J.L. King for writing this book, even though I believe it was God who wanted this information to come out. It is difficult for someone to control their own fate, if the person who gave them HIV/AIDS is their husband or longtime boyfriend. And with this information you can take it for your own benefit and warn your children or ignore it and live a life of lies and deceit, that J.L. King is trying to prevent from happening. I know that God will bless J.L. King for coming out and warning his people about this corrupt lifestyle that is killing innocent people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    I Just Read The First Chapter And I Was Hooked!!

    I just read the first chapter and I was hooked and very amazed. I've been reading many articles on this D.L. lifestyle that Black Men are living and it scares me. I'm just happy that Mr. King took the time and wrote this book to try to educate,just not the women this infect,but the men too that is on the D.L. to relieve what they are doing to the black community by not coming out of the closet. I recommend this book to everyone in the black community and mainly to the youth the teenagers,it have to stop the cycle can not go on. We have to educate the youth about using protection at all times because like my dad always told me and my sister 'One Night Of Pleasure Is Not Worth Dying For'. By me reading just the first chapter going to have me make a few phones calls on how to start a program in my community about things like black men on the D.L. and also getting information and educate about using protection and to let the men know it is okay to tell the truth and not lie! I again would like to thank Mr. King for this book it open my eyes and touch my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2