Customer Reviews for

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure, Peril, Lost Jewels, and the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love it!!!

I have read all three of Adrew pedersons books and love them i have 1 book sighned by him. I like adrew pedersons songs and books my siblings and i enjoy the ballad of matthew begots and the song that goes with it. I sighed up for a contest last year that andrew pederso...
I have read all three of Adrew pedersons books and love them i have 1 book sighned by him. I like adrew pedersons songs and books my siblings and i enjoy the ballad of matthew begots and the song that goes with it. I sighed up for a contest last year that andrew pederson held it was a drawing contest and you draw a picture from the story and send it to him. It was really fun.

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

I love this book!!! I actually got to meet Andrew and get my book and CD autographed. I'm only 12 so thats my opiniin and statement about this book.

posted by 11294713 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Better than Hunger Games

    I read the whole sega and im surprised thet havent made a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great Read Aloud!

    I just finished this as a read-aloud with my daughter (7 1/2) and son (5 1/2). We all absolutely loved it! There were some tense/scary moments, so read it with caution if your kiddos are younger. you know them best and what themes they can/cannot handle.

    One thing more, please don't let this review think this is merely a child's story. I loved it just as much as they did, and I think my husband might pick it up next. This is a novel for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I love it!!!

    I have read all three of Adrew pedersons books and love them i have 1 book sighned by him. I like adrew pedersons songs and books my siblings and i enjoy the ballad of matthew begots and the song that goes with it. I sighed up for a contest last year that andrew pederson held it was a drawing contest and you draw a picture from the story and send it to him. It was really fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    At the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

    Everything was great in the land of Skree no children were taken away by the black carriage and the land was peaceful until the fangs and their ruler Gnag the Nameless took over. The fangs are like humans except for their snouts, scales, fangs, claws, and tail. In the book At the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness the Skreeans have to fill out a legal document just to borrow a gardening tool, so, as you can see the fangs have a lot of control.
    In this story three children named Janner, Tink, and Leeli are living a normal life of a Skreean which, by the way, wasn't very good until they are caught by some fangs and then rescued by a mysterious figure. Later that day, Janner hears his mother Nia and his grandfather, Podo, talking about who the figure was. When he hears this, he wonders who the figure is and what else they are hiding. If you want to find out what happens next, you'll just have to read the book.
    Andrew Peterson the author of At the edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness has a wife two boys and one girl. He is also a musical artist. Another book by him is the Ballad of Mathew's Begats: An Unlikely Royal Family Tree.
    When I read this book I was reminded of my own siblings and how we go on adventures of our own just like the three children in the book.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure, peril, and mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Incredibly enteraining.

    This book is excellently written and contains an enourmous amount of wit. I would highly suggest buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Its lik Great book

    Its like the series of unfotunate events

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    READ READ READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read all three they are so gooood. The third one leaves you hanging cant wait for the fourth one!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Awesome

    This is the greatest book ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

    'On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness' by Andrew Peterson is a wonderfully crafted tale! The characters are so well written that I connected to them immediately. The story moves at such a fast pace, that I was able to this book in one sitting. The 'Jewels of Anniera' are mentioned all throughout the book and I kept wondering "What do they look like?" and "Where are they?". When I reached the end of the book, I finally found out where they were and why they were so important.

    There were a couple of times that the story was a bit slow. It is for this reason that I didn't give it five stars.

    Though Fantasy isn't a genre that I usually read, I found this book to be very enjoyable and will definitely be reading the next book 'North, or be Eaten'. I think that this is a book that all ages can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great book!

    I am half way through and this is a great buy! Good story, good plot, and great characters! Andrew Peterson is a good singer/songwriter as well as a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good series

    Kinda like Lord of The Rings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Delightfully Entertaining

    I was surprised to find myself enjoying the book because I originally thought it was going to be another disappointing children's story. On the contrary, it was an entertaining book which was well though through and pleasantly written. It's easy text and exciting plot make for an enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Andrew Peterson- The C.S. Lewis of This Generation

    Andrew Peterson has truly outdone himself in this gripping, and imaginative tale- woven with humor, danger, and a tender love that will appeal to the whole family.
    High on the cliffs overlooking the Sea of Darkness, in the land of Skree, the three Igiby children- Janner, Tink, And Leeli- are sent sprawling head-first into a world of unimaginable danger and adventure. Harassed by the Fangs of Dang, and hunted by Toothy-Cows and Horned-Hounds, the children are faced with questions about their past- their absent father whom the can't remember, and the 'lost Jewels of Anniera' that their mother and former-pirate-grandfather only speak of in whispers when the children are supposed to be asleep- these are hard questions for curious children to simply leave unanswered. With cheesy-chowder in their bellies, an ancient map in hand, and their faithful dog to protect them, what could possibly go wrong?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

    Enjoyable read. Keeps you reading to see what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who Knew He could write books too?

    I loved both books in this series! I found several characters that I could use in lessons I teach, I found some lessons that kids and pre-teens could use that were already spelled out!
    I actually found myself anxious to get back to the book just to find out how the next adventure was going to end! What were they going to do to get into trouble, and what else could possibly happen to make it worse?! They were truely good books that pretty much anyone could enjoy. They may have been written for children, but, children of all ages can get something out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderfully witty new voice in teen fantasy

    The Igby children, Janner, Tink, and Leeli, manage to anger a vicious Fang and are thrown into jail. Janner is certain that they will be taken away in the Black Carriage, forever slaves of Gnag the Nameless. But before the carriage arrives, their mother bails them out with a handful of precious jewels.

    Janner is curious where the jewels came from, and he's not the only one. The Fangs come after them again, this time seeking the precious Jewels of Anniera they are certain the Igbys are hiding. The chase takes the Igby family far into Glipwood Forest where toothy cows and horned hounds abound.

    This book was a big-and pleasant-surprise. Andrew Peterson has a wonderfully witty voice. He reminds me of an easier-to-understand Douglas Adams with his satirical style of writing. The book is interesting from the start, though it takes a while to come to the plot. The ending was full of great stuff that made me really excited to read the next book in the series. I really enjoyed this one a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Amazing Story

    Andrew Peterson is, in addition to my favorite lyricist, a fantastic storyteller! It's great to read from someone who has the same love of God and love of a great story that was shared by C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Tolkien and Lewis, meet Andrew Peterson

    Andrew Peterson has created a wonderful tale full of action and humor. The fake footnotes scattered throughout the book really draw the reader into the world of Aerwiar. I highly recommend this book to everyone, both young and old. I'm going to put the Wingfeather Saga on my bookshelf right between 'The Chronicles of Narnia' and 'The Lord of the Rings.' I can't wait until the next one comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    An amazing songwriter writes a fantastic first book!

    Andrew understands sub-creation like Lewis and Tolkien did. This is a wonderful first novel with great characters, lots of humor for young and old. I loved the fake footnotes. I will be reading this for the Grandkids and buying several copies as gifts! Thanks Andrew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3