Customer Reviews for

On the Far Side of the Mountain

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Good children's book which is a sequel to the first book. Who do

    Good children's book which is a sequel to the first book. Who doesn't love hawks?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    An excellent book for reluctant readers and a great book for gif

    An excellent book for reluctant readers and a great book for gifted students who want to explore the many techniques used by Sam in the wilderness. My sixth grade students love this book and seek out the final book in the trilogy. Jean C. George paints a vivid picture of adventure, suspense and love. My students love this book and learn a great deal about resourcefulness and life in the wilderness. A classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    a reviewer

    this book was about a fourteen year old boy who tries to live off the land. it inspired me and i really would like to try it. it was outstanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    LOVED IT!

    On The Far Side of The Mountain is the sequel to the book, My Side of The Mountain. My side of the mountain is mainly when Sam moves to the Catskills and tries to adapt, the things in this book are easy to read, even if you haven't read the first book. The first book is about him trying to adapt to his new home, and about the first few years on the mountain. The first book is about how he survives, learns to get food, and how he gets Frightful, his bird. I really enjoyed reading On The Far Side of The Mountain. It is an exciting book about a boy who learns to survive in the wilderness. If you like reading about survival, then you will love this book. This book is about a boy who has been living on the mountain for two years now. His sister Alice lives in a tree house that is near Sam's tree. The book gets exciting when a conservation officer confiscates Frightful, which is Sam's bird, which helps him get his food. Sam goes on a hunt to find Alice, and searches the Catskills to try and find her. Will he find Alice? Or will something happen to him on his trek through the Catskills. I would recommend this book to someone who likes outdoor scenes, and likes to see how people can live off the land, and do everything themselves. Its also more enjoyable if you can continue reading when something sad happens, because there are a few scenes where sad things do happen. It also has quite a bit of suspense, where Sam thinks hes found where Alice is... but it turns out she's already left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sam Gribly is a 14 year old boy.He lives with his peregrine falcon Frightful and his sister Alice who lived with him for about 6 months in a big hemlock tree. One day a conservation officer saw Sam with Frightful and had to take her.Later on in the fall Alice decides to leave with her pig Crystal.Sam and Bando(Sam's friend)decides to follow them.This book makes you think about working together to achieve goals.I enjoyed this book because I like the outdoors and it reminds me of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is full of suspence but in the end, it is least expected that something amazing will happen. Read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    What a good Book

    This was a very interesting book. It shows how much Sam really cares for Alice and how much Bando and Zella care for them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    SO UNAUTHENTIC!

    Ever heard of authenticy? George gives this story no spice and alot of unreal material; I hope i never read this book again. This book was supposed to be ver ygood; I expected much out of it after reading My Side of The Mountain. A complete disappointmeny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Read this book

    This book is just as good as the 1st

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2001

    You thought the first one was good.

    On the Far side of the Mountain countinues the story were My Side of the Mountain left off. It makes you think of working together and what it is to love you family no matter what they do. It also shows that you can't hold on to something forever even if it has changed your life Sam as portraed shows how a boy became a man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    ISAAC BURNS JAN 19 2000

    IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GOOD BOOK TO READ THEN YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Adventure book for all ages

    Sam Gribley, age 14 and his peregrine falcon, Frightful have been living in a hemlock tree for two years. His sister, Alice also has been living with him for about six months. One day a conservation officer climbs up the Catskill Mountain where Sam's house is. The officer confiscates Frightful. In the fall, Alice decides to leave Sam's mountain with her pig named Crystal. Sam and his friend Bando are curious of Alice's sudden departure. They come to a conclusion that they should follow Alice and Crystal. Sam and Bando may have a rough road ahead of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1