Customer Reviews for

On The Fringe

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Bittersweet and Imaginative

    Claire was still alive although she died for a little while on her 16th birthday. She was still in the phase of mourning for the death of her childhood friend and love, Daniel. I was amazed with the depth of her emotions for Daniel. But I knew what it was like to have someone’s face and someone’s voice in your head for a very, very long time so I could relate to how she was feeling. When she realized that Daniel could possibly still be on earth, Claire started to hope.

    Daniel was dead. But somehow he hasn’t moved on to the other world. He was attached to Claire but mind you, he barely remembered or even realized this, not until he was dead. Daniel’s experiences as a ghost were intriguing. I liked how the creativity and imagination that the author showed through her concept of traveling and reliving memories. It was a common idea that when people die, they see a flashback of their life surging in their heads. Walker took this idea to the next level by integrating it to ghost life. Daniel was living ‘on the fringe’ and there, not every ghost was as harmless as him.

    They were a cute couple albeit an unconventional one. Their relationship was fueled by the second chance to be together. For them, every minute was important. It was justifiable since the two have been friends since childhood and they knew each other well. They have seen each other’s best and worst and I suppose that made it easier for them to be close. Their relationship was a combination of the sweet and nostalgic quality behind the relationship of Grace and Daniel from The Dark Divine by Bree Despain and the complication of Amelia and Joshua’s relationship from Hereafter by Tara Hudson.

    The author did a good job with the action, scary scenes and tension-filled scenes in this novel. The flashbacks and the jumping from past to present were smooth, vivid and well-done. Overall, On the Fringe was enjoyable but I felt that there’s still room for improvement on the thrill and unpredictability department.

    On the Fringe is what I imagine would be the baby of The Dark Divine by Bree Despain and Hereafter by Tara Hudson. Bittersweet, tragic, imaginative and against-all-odds, On the Fringe will appeal to paranormal romance readers! I recommend this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Nicely Written

    I didn't realize that it was a young adult book when I bought it, but I enjoyed the book just the same! There is one person who has left this life that I wish I could spend time with each evening...if only for a few minutes as in this book! That was my favorite part... :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Loved every word of it!

    From start to the end, it kept me turning pages, but not so fast that I couldn't enjoy every word and sentence! I know teenagers and YA will love this because of the wording and exciting story, but I'm 67 years old and I loved the story and how it was written. I hope she writes more. Really enjoyable and suspenseful. I was surprised right up to the end, but the author didn't leave me wondering how it ended! The characters are so real!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Many readers categorize this book as Paranormal but though it di

    Many readers categorize this book as Paranormal but though it did have ghosts and the paranormal element. I found it more about a book with a moral about friendship and how it’s one of the greatest things in this world. 




    Claire is part of a group of four, her older brother, his best friend Daniel and Daniel's little sister. The four are childhood best friends and were inseparable. Until the day Daniel is murdered and their troupe of four shatters as Claire’s older brother drowns himself in College work, and Daniel’s sister finds it hard to look at Claire without crying about Daniel. 




    One day, Claire finds herself drowning and dies for a few minutes before Daniels ghost saves her. This lets Claire into a place they call “the Fringe” where she can see things that weren’t there before. In her struggle to fight the loneliness and the loss of her secret crush and best friend, Daniel. She is haunted by his killer. 




    The book itself, isn’t the in depth paranormal type with a back story about how ghosts came to be or anything like that. This is the mildest form of paranormal and comes with a beautiful story about overcoming a best friends death and the hardship of going back to the way it once was. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    It was ok

    Sucked me in at the beginning but started to lose steam for me about half way through. Plot was weak to me. Didnt end the way i wanted it to. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great read

    Made me want to start running, so complicated, drama filled teens... glad i dont have a daughter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Almost five stars

    Sweet, sad, scary, enduring, and surprising...all are words to describe this book. A story of first love and tragic loss, i was sad to read the last pages knowing the characters had to learn how to feel and live again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Live To Read

    Most children have a childhood crush, Claire has a crush on her best friend's brother, Daniel. She has what appears to be a deep, abiding love for him. Childhood love can't last forever, though Claire's is torn from her in a way that is far from typical. Daniel is at a party when he is shot...in the head. Claire is crushed, the author does a great job of portraying Claire's emotions sincerely during this part.



    On Claire's 16th birthday, not long after the murder, she finds herself drowning. Somewhere in that in between time, when Claire touched death, she sees Daniel. After Claire is pulled from the water, she finds she can still see Daniel. Claire doesn't want to give up this newfound joy, the story takes off from here.



    As a character, Claire is easy to like. The reader can tell her love for Daniel is real. She is a sympathetic character, she lost her love at a young age and is having a hard time. She is a nice character, is willing to help even when the going is tough. Daniel is much the same, it is easy to see why Claire would like him so much. The other secondary characters are fun to get to know, especially Claire's best friend.



    The events in this book were fast-paced and exciting, the author describes the events, especially the drowning, in vivid detail. The ending was perfect, the reader won't be able to imagine it any other way. This book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really good young adult book...

    Reviewed by Ellen H. for Readers Favorite

    Teenaged Claire was just starting to realize her feelings for her best friend's brother when he was killed. Daniel was not only Addie's brother but he was Claire's brother Matthew's best friend too. Claire just can't seem to get back to life after Daniel's death and then on her 16th birthday, she got drowned. After a few minutes Daniel's spirit was able to revive her. From then on for a few minutes each day Claire was able to see and talk to Daniel. But, there was another spirit at work and this one meant Claire harm. Aden blamed Daniel for his death and wanted revenge by haunting and hurting Claire. Together Claire and Daniel have to unwind the truth about what happened when he was five and deal with Aden once and for all.

    Very interesting concept for the book. It is told from both Claire's and Daniel's points of view. Each chapter deals with how Claire and Daniel each sees what is happening between them and around them. Even though there are sinister undertones with the character Aden, it mainly deals with how both Claire and Daniel cope with his passing. Enjoyed all the characters in the book from Claire and Daniel to their siblings, her parents and her dead aunt. The story grabbed me from the beginning and I had to keep reading to see what was going to happen. I really love a book that does that. The title is an excellent choice because who knows what waits on the fringe. Really good young adult book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Enjoyable teen romance with an element of suspense

    Fun teen romance with an interesting twist. When a group of friends are torn apart by one of their deaths, everyone copes with it in their own way. The main characters, Daniel and Claire, were believable and likeable, as well as a little quirky. I really enjoyed the development of their relationship, and there's a dark supernatural component that keeps it suspenseful. I was happy with the ending, which reflected the characters' maturity. Overall a fun, quick read, with slightly more depth to the relationships than is typically found in this type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    AMAZING story about friendship & falling in love with an afterlife twist!

    One of the things I liked best about this book was how much the characters stayed with me. I kept thinking about Daniel and Claire when I put the book down, and now that I've finished it....I'm still thinking about them! I loved the way the story was told from both Daniel and Claire's perspectives. The nonlinear narrative was so effective in revealing layers of how their relationship developed and in uncovering the questions about Daniel's death. I also really liked the relationship between the brothers and sisters (Claire/Matthew, Daniel/Addie) and best friends (Matthew/Daniel, Claire/Addie). The sort of deep connection that develops when you have a friendship that endures from childhood. The way that people you are closest to are sometimes the one you can't be around when you are grieving. I especially appreciated how the four of them all rescued each other in different ways. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Loved!!

    Great , easy read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Captivating love story with a ghostly twist

    I loved this book. More specifically, I loved Claire and Daniel. The love story in this book is one of the sweetest, most captivating loves I've read in a long time. Why? Because the two main characters, before realizing they were in love, had known each other almost their whole lives. There is something so infinitely romantic to me about having a person in thousands of your memories, having stored up good times and bad times, pranks and adventures, over twelve years and then one day coming to the realization that this is the person that makes your heart race and the one you don't ever want to live without. For all of you YA readers out there who can't take one more bout of the dreaded "instalove"---On the Fringe is about as far from that as you can get. I was completely smitten with these two. They were really just two very normal kids, not stunningly beautiful or extraordinary, Claire is even described as a little uncoordinated and awkward.

    On the Fringe is both heart-wrenching and hopeful. You can feel each characters emotions, especially Claire's, but also the other characters as well, no matter how they handle it, show it, or bury it. The story being told alternately from Claire's and then Daniel's perspective, really gave us the full story from all sides and that worked for me. There are some great emotional scenes between Claire and her best friend, Addie, and for Claire and her brother. I really enjoyed all the shifts in each relationship throughout the story. I also loved how present Claire's parents were. There are also some very spine-tingling moments, as well as plenty of excitement and danger, thanks to a very insane and angry spirit looking for revenge.

    Mostly, it's about what you would give, what limits you would go to for that impossible second chance. It's about being surprised by love and how powerful it can be. It's also about missed chances, remorse, misconceptions, and revenge. On the Fringe is an excellent debut, and I'll definitely be on the look-out for more from this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1