Customer Reviews for

On the Island: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 626 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(442)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS

I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS when the characters are 16 and 30, it takes place over many years.

posted by 13689644 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

A love story about a 30 yr old and a 16 yr old sounds more like

A love story about a 30 yr old and a 16 yr old sounds more like a disturbing news headline rather than a fun summer read. The very idea has me creeped out!

posted by 10983112 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS

    I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS when the characters are 16 and 30, it takes place over many years.

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    I can't stop thinking about this book. I was skeptical when I s

    I can't stop thinking about this book. I was skeptical when I saw that this was about a 30 year old woman and a 16 year old boy. I almost didn't buy it because of the taboo age difference. Thank goodness a couple of reviewers pointed out that NOTHING happens between the couple until they are both consenting adults and their story spans over the course of several years. This is not a trashy, poorly written, pornographic e-romance. The author develops the characters wonderfully and the story draws you in. Once you start, you won't be able to put it down. I found myself dreading the last few pages because I didn't want the story to end. The only problem, I have no idea what I'm going to read next because I'm sure nothing else will compare.

    36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Easily one of my have reads from 2012

    I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down once I started reading. I was curious to find out if the 5-star ratings on other sites would love up to it and it did! On the Island was such a wonderful story about two extraordinary people who find love while living and surviving through an incredible journey. I honestly cannot think of one thing to dislike about this book. To me, this novel was perfection and it's totally going to be on my favorites shelf.

    Anna and T.J's journey is long but totally worth reading about. On the Island is just one of those romance books that leave you happy and satisfied at the end. This will definitely be one romance book that I will recommend to all my book friends who just love a good romance story. There are not enough words to describe how much I loved this book. I'm so glad that I took that leap of faith by picking it up. I swear to you that you will be left as satisfied as I was. This is just a MUST READ!

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Beautiful story

    Captured my interest from page one. Could not put it down. Would highly reccomend.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I loved everything about this book. It catches your interest rig

    I loved everything about this book. It catches your interest right away. It was never slow or plodding. It is one of those rare books I didn't want to put down, didn't want to end, and can't wait to read again!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was a great read. I would tell anyone to read this book 13 years old and older. This book has unsuspected twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. I am not a fastreader and i finished this book in 3 days because i couldnt put it down. You simply have to read it. It is truely amazing.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great Book

    This book by a first time author is a great read! I couldn't put it down and read it on my nook in 2 days. You won't be disappointed.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Excellent book from a first time author

    A captivating survival/ romance book. Not for children. SOME SEX SCENES and other adult situations. I finished it in two sittings it was very hard to put down.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Buy it!

    Read it within 24 hours. Could not put it doen. Loved it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    More than you think...

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Perfect for a summer read. More than your average boy/girl on abondoned island romance story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Anonymos

    Page turner. Couldn't put it down til i was done. Good story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    Could not put this down. I read it in two sittings.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great fast read

    Very heartwarming, could put it down till i finished it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Easy read that was hard to put down. Loved it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    A love story about a 30 yr old and a 16 yr old sounds more like

    A love story about a 30 yr old and a 16 yr old sounds more like a disturbing news headline rather than a fun summer read. The very idea has me creeped out!

    5 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    BUY IT!!!

    Buy it!!! Such a fun read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    loved this book!

    loved this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    This is a good summer read particularly if you are headed for th

    This is a good summer read particularly if you are headed for the beach or some other vacation spot. It reads fast. When all hope is lost...hang on!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    WASTE OF MONEY & TIME .....

    ...boring and extremely predictable!! Two thirds of the book was spent droning on and on and on about everyday, boring & mundane details of being stuck on an island. Then the last third of the book is the BEYOND predictable, SAPPY happily ever after, unrealistic ending of the two island lovebirds getting married and having a family. Blahhh....BLAHH ..snooze...SNOOZE...waste of time & money.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32