Customer Reviews for

On the Island: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(442)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS

I loved it! Also, just wanted to say that while the book BEGINS when the characters are 16 and 30, it takes place over many years.

posted by 13689644 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Avoid!

This book is geared toward teenage girls. Filled with melodrama ...anything that could happen to them on that island does, and then some: PLEASE!

posted by 2744223 on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    More than you think...

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Perfect for a summer read. More than your average boy/girl on abondoned island romance story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great fast read

    Very heartwarming, could put it down till i finished it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Easy read that was hard to put down. Loved it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    loved this book!

    loved this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    This is a good summer read particularly if you are headed for th

    This is a good summer read particularly if you are headed for the beach or some other vacation spot. It reads fast. When all hope is lost...hang on!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great Book!

    Easy read, kept my interest all the way through! Definitely would highly recommend! Can't wait for her next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Good book

    Read it in 1 day. Kept me interested but some parts were just to unbeliveable. Enjoyed it,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No more to say!

    The reviews have said it all. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Didn't expect to like this book, but found the story engaging.

    I thought this might be a Blue Lagoon story and it was in part, but the adventures of these two on the island made for some suspenseful reading and the ending was satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anna Emerson is traveling with T. J. Callahan to a tropical isla

    Anna Emerson is traveling with T. J. Callahan to a tropical island for several months. He's on vacation after recovering from cancer treatment, and she's there to tutor him for the schooling he missed during his illness. As she's bored with her Chicago life and unsure about the guy she's dating who refuses to even contemplate any type of commitment, this strikes her as a chance for something very different as well as some space to think about what her future holds. It turns out she's going to have more than a brief interlude to contemplate her future.

    Things begin to go awry when she notices the pilot popping anti-acids, sweating profusely, and occasionally rubbing his chest. Sure enough, he has a heart attack but manages to land the plane on water but so hard the aircraft begins to fall apart. Clutching remaining pieces and eventually each other, they finally manage to float and swim to a sandy shore, an island with no other inhabitants.

    What follows are three-and-a-half years of growing intimacy and harrowing, life-threatening experiences with disease, jellyfish, storms, and more. Just learning how to get enough food to survive is an extraordinary strain, not to mention the toll it takes physically on both of them.

    At first, TJ is the one whose hormones kick in because of this tutor who he begins to appreciate as a woman, but it's Anna who refuses to cross the line for a long, long time. How will they reconcile their growing intimacy with what they know people will say about their ages and what would be seen as an older woman seducing a much younger man, even a teen. And really, at this time, it doesn't seem as if they will ever be rescued.

    The plot sounds fairly simple, but the way the author crafts the story keeps the reader intensely interested, enjoying the humor, feeling the tension, and rooting for the well-being of these engaging characters. Some may say it stretches credibility but such tales of solitary island living have occurred in reality. On The Island is a heart-wrenching, adventurous, and passionate read on so many levels - all in all a great summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    A must read!

    Terrific storyline. You get so involved with Anna and TJ that you have to keep reading! I read this book in 1 day and was so sad when it was over.

    Would make for an interesting film!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Enjoyable summer read

    Good story. Finished in a weekend. Light and well written. Easy to read without being too predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wonderful story.

    Such a great summer read. I wouldn't say it was the best book I've ever read, but it was heartwarming. ++++

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I was skeptical after reading the overview, but read based on th

    I was skeptical after reading the overview, but read based on the customer reviews. This was a great read and I'm glad I listened to those who gave it good reviews. This is by far one of the best books I've read in a while. The character development is excellent. You'll enjoy the journey of Anna and TJ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    This was a good book. I was skeptical at first, but I got right

    This was a good book. I was skeptical at first, but I got right into it and didn't want to put it down. Really enjoyed this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good book!

    Book was good, finished it very quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Enjoyable easy read

    Such an easy read. I simply couldnt wait to finish it. Very enjoyable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Loved this book. Had a hard time putting it down.

    Loved this book. Had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Amazing Story!

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I can't stop thinking about the story of how it was formed and end results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    a wonderful story of what real love is

    I throughly enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I actually finished it in one day (stayed up all nite). The story kept my interest and I wondered how I would have done under the circumstance that occured. I loved the flow and touching way the author wrote this story, I actually was sad that it ended. Highly reccommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7