Customer Reviews for

On the Loose: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Amazing must read

    Soooooooo good finished in 2 days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was the best book in the world. I would stay up every single night reading this and literally read until i fell asleep so every morning i wouldnt ever find it. Iwould recommend this book to pretty much everybody

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Can't get enough of Katie Parker!!!

    loved the book "On the Loose"!! Seriously, where has this writer been all my life? I caught myself laughing out loud. It was a really fun book to read, I am super excited that there will be a 3rd book in the series. Buy this book, you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Lend me?

    Is this a lend me book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    In Between is a hysterical read.

    I haven¿t laughed so hard from reading a book ever. Jenny B. Jones¿ debut novel, In Between, is a hysterical read. Katie Parker¿s mom is in prison, and Katie is shipped off to live with pretend-o-parents, James and Millie Scott in the small town of In Between, Texas . When Katie discovers her new foster dad is a pastor, she dresses Goth for the first day of school, certain Millie won¿t let her out of the house. Her plans backfire and Katie is not only forced to go to school with black fingernails, but ends up sitting at the Goth table at lunch, seeing as that¿s where she looks to fit in. Unfortunately, a couple of her new friends are not the best influence, and Katie unknowingly is recruited for a midnight vandalism jaunt to the local vintage theater. Katie is the only teen nabbed by the coppers, who take her down to the station and inform her that the Scotts are the owners of the theater. Humiliated, Katie waits for her foster parents to send her packing. They don¿t, however, and Katie experiences some awesome tough love for the first time in her life. Katie struggles to adapt to her new, strange world, which includes church, smart friends, a massive dog, and a crazy foster grandma who rides a bicycle built for two. She tries out for the school play and falls for a cute and troublesome senior guy. Her new friend doesn¿t approve, foster granny doesn¿t approve, but Katie¿s of the opinion that what the Scott¿s don¿t know won¿t hurt them. It¿s a good thing God is watching out for Katie Parker, even though she doesn¿t have a clue. It¿s one comical situation after another with Katie Parker, whose fun, sarcastic voice keeps you turning the pages so fast they catch fire. This is a must read for teen girls¿and girls of any age! Looking forward to book two. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I thought In Between was the best YA novel I'd ever read (other than my own - LOL), but I was wrong. On the Loose, A Katie Parker Production, Act 2, was even better than In Between! Katie really grows a lot over the course of these first two books in this series, and toward the end of On the Loose, I was wiping tears from my eyes. I love Katie as if she was my own daughter (I have a 16-year-old son) and even though she's a fictional character when her heart broke, so did mine. When I wasn't laughing my head off reading On the Loose, I was wiping tears from my eyes. I drove my husband up the wall by asking him if I could read him just one more page. This story is read-out-loud funny. Seriously. I couldn't help sharing the humor because it was so zany and tongue-in-cheek, yet insightful and deliciously entertaining. I can't say enough great things about this book or this series. Jenny B. Jones is a favorite author, and this book makes me even more sure of my decision to rank her my #1 favorite YA author of all time. I'm reading every book she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life In Between

    Just like the first Katie Parker book in the series, I totally had a blast reading this book. It brought me back to my high school days (not necessarily a good thing lol). I think Katie is one of the best characters for teen readers these days. She is going through everything a regular teen faces and she handles them totally realistic. I laughed over the scenes with Charlie and his girlfriend because I know exactly how it feels to be in Katie's situation. I can't stand guys who are blind to their girlfriend's faults and can't see when a girl is using them. Chelsea really got on my nerves because Katie reluctantly did try to befriend her but still got the cold shoulder from her. You can bet I was rooting for Katie at the end of the book. I was really glad to see the Scotts' final reaction to Amy's behavior. If it had been anything less, I would have been severely disappointed in the characters. But I was pleased to read about their decision and I supported them completely. I also understood about how Katie felt during this whole situation. I thought that her foster parents could have been a bit more understanding but it's also easy to see why there was a lack of communication. This is one of the best YA series out there and I would definately recommend it as an alternative over the highly secular Gossip Girl books. Looking forward to reading my copy of the 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Not The Girl Next Door, But You Love Her!

    What a delightful read! Jenny B. Jones has done it again with her second Katie Parker Production book. Katie Parker moved in with her foster parents, James and Millie, six months ago and has adjusted well. Life is finally settling for her. Then a tornado hits her town of In Between and leaves more than just debris and broken houses in its wake. Immediately after the tornado, Katie's world is invaded when Maxine her eccentric foster grandmother, moves in with them temporarily. Maxine's apartment was damaged by the storm. Maxine invades Katie's bedroom, space, privacy and life. As Katie tries to adjust to that, the family finds out Millie has breast cancer. The rattles Katie's already weakened sense of security. Will James and Millie want her around as they deal with this cancer? Or will they send her back to the children's home? Add to these circumstances, relationship issues at school between Katie and her best friends, preparations with her drama classmates for a school show, the school science fair, a bully girl named Angel, her own attraction to the school's version of Prince Charming, and Katie's life becomes worse than the tornado that hit her town. Can Katie find her way through the whirlwind of her life to the things that matter most and realize the love and family she always wanted is truly right at her fingertips? Jenny Jones wrote a most entertaining book. Katie is a likeable teenage girl and your heart will be drawn to her life. As you read this book you will laugh out loud one minute and wipe away tears the next. I highly recommend this book for teens and up. Wait until the end when you realize you have fallen in love with Charlie Benson, too. I look forward to the next Katie Parker book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    A compelling read.

    I enjoyed reading Jenny B. Jones second novel of the Katie Parker series. It's hard enough to be a teenager. Fifty years ago I entered the teens and I can testify it's not for sissies. I appreciate the realism of the cast of characters. Although it's a YA novel It's not filled with only teens. I enjoyed the antics of Katie's foster grandmother, Maxine. Since I've been a teenager and am now a great grandmother I got a kick out of the interaction between them. Laughter is the best medicine and you can't read this book without letting out a chuckle now and then. But it's not all fun and games. Katie's foster mom is fighting cancer. The long lost daughter comes home. A girl who is dearly loved and who Katie feels she can never live up too. And as if that isn't enough, high society, Chelsea tries to win Prince Charming. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    On the Loose was a great book to read. I would recommend it for girls of any age. This author is really funny and I caught myself laughing out loud. I can't wait for the 3rd book in the series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jenny B. Jones continues the dramatic ups and downs of Katie Parker

    Katie Parker is still adapting to living with her foster parents, Reverend James Scott and his wife Millie after living with a drug dealing mom who had no time or inclination to raise her. The teen actually finds she likes having rules and discipline she enjoys the antics of her foster father who shouts at the TV and even the over the top antics of her foster mom, the ultimate obsessive person who wants everyone in her circle contented including Katie even if it means driving them to distraction. In other words Katie has had a taste of genuine adult nurturing and wants more of it.--------------- However, the newly formed family has not faced a test of their relational bond until a tornado hits the town of In Between hitting the Scott home. Millie is hurt from flying glass and taken to the emergency room where they learn she has cancer. Katie is stunned that God would take away a loved one just when she finally has met someone to cherish. At school, trouble also occurs when Katie is blamed for stealing, which costs her the role of Cinderella in the school play. Katie with the help of her loving foster grandmother Maxine turns to God to praying mostly for Millie to be okay.-------------------- Jenny B. Jones continues the dramatic ups and downs of Katie Parker (see IN BETWEEN) as the teen begins to feel comfortable with her foster family only to have several setbacks make her wonder if God is abandoning her. Katie is terrific as the prime focus of the character driven story line as she struggles with the issue of why bad things happen to good people. Teen readers will appreciate her doubts while enjoying the antics of James screaming at Simon of American Idol and Granny having a dude on the side. Of course there is always Einstein to make relationships happen.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1