Customer Reviews for

On the Night You Were Born (Board Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 384 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What a beautiful night to be born...

This is a wonderful story. My daughter and I read it almost every night. Believe me she knows how special she really is - all the bears dancing for her. And, every morning when we see "Luna" she tells me she has to give her a smile. Lovely illustrations.

posted by 584843 on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

reading to me stinks on this one

the version I downloaded was a read to me and it skips and stutters all through the reading process not very happy with it.

posted by DGPD on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    What a beautiful night to be born...

    This is a wonderful story. My daughter and I read it almost every night. Believe me she knows how special she really is - all the bears dancing for her. And, every morning when we see "Luna" she tells me she has to give her a smile. Lovely illustrations.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    AN ALL TIME FAVORITE!

    I love this book~I gave it to my newest grandaughter when she was born and read it to her the night she came home from the hospital. I chose a time when just the two of us could be quietly alone in her nursery to read it to her for the first time. It was a VERY special time for me and one I will never forget. The story and words are beautiful~I know I will read it many many times over in coming years. I love it so much that I gave a copy to friend to read to her grandbabies and she loves it also. I keep another one at my own home for when the babies visit. I recommend this precious book to all grandmothers, parents and even friends.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    We love this book!!!!

    Our baby was born at night and this book says everything you wish you could say but cant find the words.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Wonderful

    This book conveys the emotion of a new baby, the wonder and magic of a tiny human being. I have given it as a gift to new parents and grandparents.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'YOU ARE THE ONE AND ONLY EVER YOU'

    How reassuring, empowering, and life enhancing for a child to be told that he or she is so very special that 'You are the one and only ever you.' This is precisely what Nancy Tillman does in her beautifully illustrated picture book for the very young. Each page and full page color painting reenforces the idea of how unique and wonderful each person is. Ms. Tillman opens her narrative with 'On the night you were born, the moon smiled with such wonder that the stars peeked in to see you and the night wind whispered, `Life will never be the same,' Because there had never been anyone like you...ever in the world.' As we reach the closing of this heartening story we are reminded that the world has never known 'a you' and it never will again. On the Night You Were Born is a celebration of our uniqueness as well as a validation of our worth. A wonderful reminder for all! - Gail Cooke

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    This charming book is a must have

    Books really are friends to treasure and this one stands out at the top of my list. It is not only beautifully illustrated, but every page holds an important message for all children: they are a special miracle. I initially purchased two copies as Christmas gifts for my new grandsons. I was so impressed and touched by the book that I purchased another copy for us. My husband found the book so touching he suggested we give this book as our standard baby gift for co-workers. I truly love this simple storybook and think it's the best children's book I've seen in years.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    reading to me stinks on this one

    the version I downloaded was a read to me and it skips and stutters all through the reading process not very happy with it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Adorable!

    This is so cute to have for a newborn. And great for gift giving.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Love this book!

    We are an OBGYN office and purchased this book as a gift to our mothers on the day of their delivery. It is very heartwarming!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Sweet Book!

    I highly recommend this book and author to anyone looking for a very cute and sweet story for any child. It is a wonderful story and has beautiful artwork. I purchased the board book version as I was giving it as a baby gift, but the hardcover version is equally as nice.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Beautiful Book

    I was given this book after delivering my son in the hospital. He is 2 years old and we still read it! The illustrations and message are beautiful. He loves to find the animals in each picture. I always give this book to friends after they have children. The message is all about how animals, the sun, and the moon all are celebrating "you". It says, "The Polar Bears danced until dawn the next day" (..on the night you were born). So, if they seem tired at the zoo, it's because they were dancing for you, etc. The unique illustrations have details in them that really entertain my son.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    On The Night They Were Born

    With two sons, my mind does seem to always go back to their birth. What a wonderful time. This book captures a lot of the feelings I have but could not put into words myself. It's one of the boys favorites and reminds them of just how special they both are. No second thoughts at all in recommending this book for your home library. Cherish it and your kids!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Great gift book!

    I've purchased several copies of the book as baby gifts. Definitely a book to cherish and reread often to remind children of how unique and precious they are.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    touching and heartfelt

    This is a must have for new parents. It emphasizes the love parents have for their children. Would make a great shower gift.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I have purchased at least 4 copies of this book in the last year. It's a wonderful baby gift. Beautifully written and illustrated. I keep a copy on hand at all times for gift giving.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    On the Night You were Born

    Excellent book and great illustrations. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to buy a book for a parent to read to their child.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    WONDERFUL BOOK

    I bought this for my daughter for her first Christmas. She is 11 months old, and she loves to hear the words and look at the pictures. I think the story line is beautiful, and the lesson goes deeper than most children's books. I highly recommend this as a baby shower or any "1st" gift. This is the type of book that reinforces how special your child is, and what parent wouldn't love that.
    The illustrations are absolutely amazing, and I believe I enjoy reading it as much as she enjoys hearing it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    Wonderful!!!

    This is a wonderful book, very calming, and perfect for bedtime. The words will make any child feel special. Very few words on each page makes either a quick read or lingering over the lovely graphics. Holds toddlers attention. My grandchildren are each captivated, and listen patiently waiting for each page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Enchanting yet spiritual story with beautiful artwork.

    This book was such a pleasant surprise. The artwork is so beautifukl, I'm tempted to frame it. The story is spiritual and enchanting. I love reading it to my son who was 3 months when we first read the book. He is 4 months now and loves it every time we read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I love this book!

    A must for any baby. I try to read it out loud to my son but cry every time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20