Customer Reviews for

On the Night You Were Born

Average Rating 4.5
( 385 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What a beautiful night to be born...

This is a wonderful story. My daughter and I read it almost every night. Believe me she knows how special she really is - all the bears dancing for her. And, every morning when we see "Luna" she tells me she has to give her a smile. Lovely illustrations.

posted by 584843 on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

reading to me stinks on this one

the version I downloaded was a read to me and it skips and stutters all through the reading process not very happy with it.

posted by DGPD on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    It is so sweet and rhythmic - I read it to my 3 month old and I swear he listens and loves it as much as me :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I love reading this book to my daughter. She is 1yr. and she sits still the entire time I read this. I love the message it has for the little ones. This is a must have for your child's library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    A beautiful book

    I have given this book as a baby gift to all of my friends since we first received it. The most stunning illustrations and beautiful message. No child could help but feel special after having this book read to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    this book

    Fantastic book ! I bought this book for my wife and she cried.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Sweet, colorful and self-affirming

    I bought this for my new grand-daughter. I can't wait to read it to her over and over again. I love how the story relates the birth of a child to the rest of the world. It celebrates the joy of a new baby with humor and charm. I know it will make her feel special and loved and a part of the big wide world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    Way to boost self esteem

    This book is absolutely fantastic and just what every child needs. It is a story about how the world stopped to acknowledge their birth. It is a great gift to give any mother to be or any young child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Beautiful book for wonderful memories

    I Purchased this for my soon to be grandchild. I fell in love with it after just one page. The wonderful scentiment written to make each and every child to feel special, just overwhelms one's soul.<BR/>I can't wait to read it to him or her!<BR/>I will pass this gift suggestion on to anyone looking for the perfect gift for both baby and parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, friends, etc.<BR/>In fact I already have!<BR/>Please don't miss this one, for that special someone, a great keepsake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    touching

    What a sweet bedtime story. This has become one of my daughters favorite books. It truely conveys how special each child is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Wonderful

    I bought this for my grandson just after his birth this year. My daughter and son in-law worked so very hard to have this child and when I read this book thought it would convey to him just how much he was wanted and is loved. I loved the book when I read it the first time and will always cherish the message it tells children. They are fearfully and wonderfully made.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    A Warm, Touching Story

    On the Night You Were Born is a touching story that's appropriate for all children. It will be read over an over again, for its warm, loving message. Great as a bedtime read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Beautiful Book...Perfect For A New Baby!

    I recently attended a baby shower and the invitation requested that in place of a card, guests sign a new or gently used favorite children's book to start a library for the baby. I ordered this book and it was perfect. It is a celebration of the birth of a baby and will make each child feel very special and loved as it is read to them over the early years. The illustrations are lovely. I think the idea of starting a library for a baby is wonderful and hopefully will help raise a generation of readers who will love books. I think every baby shower should do this! And this is a perfect book for a shower, new baby or birthday gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Cute book for little ones

    Gave to my great-granddaughter for 4th BD...She loves it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    My in laws bought this for our newest addition, our 2nd daughter

    My in laws bought this for our newest addition, our 2nd daughter. It's such a wonderful story. She's 11 mths old and will sit and pay attention to us reading it to her. Says a lot since her attention span is that of a gnat lol. We plan on buying more books from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly recommended. A life time keeper! Will remember to buy this book again for new baby gift or 1st birthday gift.

    see above

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    amazing books love all of them

    amazing books love all of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Beautiful book

    This is my favorite book to give to give expectant mothers. It is wonderfully written with beautiful illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    On The Night You Were BornĀ is a recipient of the prestigious Mom

    On The Night You Were Born is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    The cutest . . .

    Love it! Christmas gift for my grandson - just awesome! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Must Have book!

    My 7 year-old daughter reads this one over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The 411 by Maria: A stunning reminder of how unique and wonder

    The 411 by Maria:

    A stunning reminder of how unique and wonderful we all are, in our very own way.
    On The Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman is a poetic, masterpiece of how unique everyone is and how the universe loves you even when you forget just how amazing you are.

    The colorful pages create a dreamy, beautiful world around the loving words that any parent feels for a child but also to everyone who lacks self esteem.

    When I read this to my children, I had to force my voice not to quiver, as the words expressed my deep, undying love for them.

    The book I received also had a CD containing the story set to enchanting piano music adding to the beauty of the story.

    Look for this book and more on my Holiday Gift Guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14