Customer Reviews for

On the Road

Average Rating 4
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Voice of an Era

The most useful purpose On the Road serves is not as a great character exploration - which it is - or as a wild adventure story - which it isn't - but as for better understanding a generation of people inspired by it. In some ways, it's a book about nothing, a book abo...
The most useful purpose On the Road serves is not as a great character exploration - which it is - or as a wild adventure story - which it isn't - but as for better understanding a generation of people inspired by it. In some ways, it's a book about nothing, a book about drifting... which sometimes makes for an aimless narrative, but does capture the way so many have wandered after.

The most appropriate thing about this nook version is that you can take Kerouac's classic on the road with you:)

posted by GeorgyPorgy on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

What's all the hype about?

Okay, Kerouac was a talented writer. That is plain to see, and anybody who doesn't see it I feel sorry for. And while On the Road was an enjoyable read, one that I don't regret nor ever will, I still can't help but feel disapointed. This was supposed to be meaningful...
Okay, Kerouac was a talented writer. That is plain to see, and anybody who doesn't see it I feel sorry for. And while On the Road was an enjoyable read, one that I don't regret nor ever will, I still can't help but feel disapointed. This was supposed to be meaningful...where is the meaning? Generally, I'm better than most people at finding allegories within works of fiction, being a nit-picky satirist myself. I can give you symbolism for every event in Vonnegut's Cat's Cradle. I can give you the moral, philosophical points of Burgess' A Clockwork Orange. I can decode the works of Burroughs. But 'On the Road' left me feeling like it was pointless...a good, enjoyable read, but...pointless. So here's my advice: Read the book, don't believe the hype. Enjoy the story, but don't expect it to be life-changing, intellectually charged, and allegorically moral, like so many fans want you to believe.

posted by Anonymous on October 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    To Define A Generation

    This is a fantastic book that has so much and so little going on at the same time. The story is told through the eyes of Sal, which is the main character that is living in the beginning of what was called the 'Beat Generation'. Sex, drugs, Jazz, and a good time were what they were out for. The so-called 'beats' do what they want when they want to prove they are still alive. They live for the moment and the adrenaline that pumps through their veins. It is the kind of book you just cant put down. The writing, imagery, and tone are outstanding and really draws you into the plot. I chose this book to read for my senior english class research paper and I¿m very happy with my selection and would highly recommend everyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    My Favorite Book

    I love this book, it has so many quotable quotes and you really sort of get what Sal is thinking the entire time and the recklessness fo the 'Beat Generation'. I'd recommend this to anyone who considers themselves 'artsy' or anyone who wants to read a fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Roadtrip

    I just read On the Road, and it made me want to hitchhike across America, which sounds oh so safe, but terribly exciting. This book is awesome. It makes me think 'Why am I not more excited about life, like Dean was?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    In the Top 5 of America's Greatest Novels

    This is my favorite book of all time. I first read it when I was 12 years old, and it changed me for the better. I began to look at the world as much bigger than I had seen it before. The writing is excellent and the characters are developed to their furthest extent. Read this book. It is fun, exciting, and Kerouac is a genius. What's not to love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    It drifts--but that's the point

    This is really more of a time capsule than a novel. It wanders/wonders, much like the author did, and fits perfectly in with the 'beat' poets and that generation of 'finding yourself' persons who tried drugs, hitchhiked, and shunned 'the establishment.' Still, there's beautiful writing in this now-classic piece of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Plan to read it

    I haven't read this yet, but plan to very soon for all the great reviews it gets- I'm putting 5 stars. Does it have a very complex vocabulary?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    WOW

    I absolutly loved it. I had to read it for an english calss this summer and wasn't looking forward to it at all but it turned out to be one of my favorite books ever. Now i wan't to hithc hike accross america. Every one read this it will chang u.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    On the Road is paradise...

    As a student preparing to leave home for the first time Jack Kerouac's On the Road is truly an inspiration. Kerouac's seamless story-telling has the ability to itch its reader, to make them want to get up and get on the road. He manages to write with an accessibility that conveys the tangible quality of a life spent on the road. This book is not only a figure head of the beat generation but I have no doubt it will inspire many beat generations to come. On the Road is the quintessential good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    The Creation of a New Generation

    The Beat Generation, the creative group of bohemian libertines, is a term brought to life by Jack Kerouac and portrayed in his incredible novel On the Road. The story follows Sal Paradise on his hitchhiking journey through America unaware of how he¿s getting there, he does know where he¿s going- somewhere new. His disregard for danger, his obsession with adventure and his curiosity of the unknown map out Sal¿s journey for him: ¿The whole country (was) like an oyster for us to open and the pearl was there, the pearl was there.¿ When Sal first meets Dean Moriarty- an ex-con with a thirst for learning- he¿s instantly fascinated. When Dean meets Carlo Marx- the intellectual poet with a hunger for the unpredictable- fireworks instantly result, a deep friendship forms: ¿A tremendous thing happened when Dean met Carlo Marx. Two keen minds they are, they took to each other at the drop of a hat¿ Their energies met head-on¿¿ As Dean and Carlo make plans to travel to the west, Sal decides to follow them. Along his way to join Dean in the West with nothing but a few possessions- a bit of loaned money from his Aunt and excitement in his heart-, Sal encounters countless extraordinary characters from Chad King, the silent, intellectual with an interest in history to Rickey, a wild drunk who is the brother of one of Sal¿s short loves, Terry. His first journey to the West won¿t be Sal¿s last, however. After meeting up with Dean, he continues west, and on his return to New York, he leaves once again, this time going even farther. On the Road is one¿s entry to an unpredictable life, one that any free-minded spirit wishes for. Not only an amazing read, On the Road is a way of life, one that will leave everyone who has read it completely transformed and invigorated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Makes you Think

    On the Road is a novel that comes along once in while with such rich detail and versatile characters. Sal always goes with Dean on trips even though he knows what will happen in the end just to have the experience. After reading the novel you want to have the experiences just like Sal (Kerouac) and Dean did in On the Road.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Oh wow!

    This book is amazing! It made me totally think about my lifestyle and whether I am getting the most out of life. I love Kerouac's writing style he is one of the most beautiful writers I've read. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Life Changing

    a book as real as real life, this novel shows us the way to think,live and breathe.you travel the states with him and all his thoughts and feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    a stunning literary work only squares despise

    I was obligated to read this book for my English class, and when i started reading, I pretty strongly despised this book. However, after obtaining a small amount of context and finding more time to enjoy the book (as opposed to hurriedly reading 90 pages at 11 at night the night before those pages are due), I began to love this book! It flows wonderfully and I love that Kerouac emphasizes the journey and not the destination, because the book doesn't ever truly end. Also, the thought that the characters were actual people only makes the whole book so much more awesome. I would highly reccommend this to anyone who isn't so narrow-minded to turn their nose up at this book for the high (Kerouac did write the book while he was high) long sentances and profound ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    One of the best books anyone can read.

    This book made me look at life differently. I found myself totally agreeing with Kerouac's life philosophies in the book the entire time I was reading it. I could relate so well to his emotions, and I found it so amazing how well he was able to put down his thoughts and dreams down on paper. This book made me see things differently and made me value life so much more. I found myself in such a similar mindset to Kerouac's, though I've never been into drugs or drinking. Kerouac's message is universal, because all decadence aside, he wrote to inspire life, and his writing has always entertained me and always will. This book is my favorite book and I recommend it to everyone who is trying to figure out how they want to look at life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    ON THE TOILET?

    Jack Kerouac has something to offer everyone: to throw off all their socially conditioned responsibilities and learn to live like a hobo (with or without the smell is a matter of personal preference). I have to admit, Kerouac has a style startling, one that will grip you like the flu and not stop shaking you until you're coughing out ashes like some serrated supernova. It's influenced my writing, to say the least. I'm not going to go into the plot of On The Road, because, like some members of the canon, there really isn't one. After all, there are two types of writers whom we fashion worthy: those who have a way with words (Hemingway for example) and those whose words have a way with us (Schopenhauer or any of the Graeco-Roman poets/historians). Kerouac is a blend of both. He has this effect on you, almost like Dostoyevsky, that will make say 'Adieu!' to everything that is and was. He'll make you want to live, in whatever way that is for you. To scream emote, shattering sweetly the sadness of things closed, as you head off openly into the wild American expanse. Whereas hitherto, unheard of, this way, lost in the hoi polloi, you never knew what it meant to be free. To experience, this, which was meant to be. And for that, Jack Kerouac, will always be a remembrance of things past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    if there was a choice for +5...

    lets just put it this way... for the rest of my life, the only books i will ever need are those written by Kerouac - simple as that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    This is where the 60's started....

    Even today it's fascinating to read this bible of the 60's, especially when bearing in mind that Kerouac wrote it years before the 'flower-decade', and had great difficulties in getting it published. A classic piece in American literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    A Classic

    This is one of my favorite novels. The chracters are interesting, even the minor ones. The plot, while not as fast-paced as the best-selling thrillers, is still compelling. The ending hits the mark, unlike the endings in many other novels I've read. On more than one occasion I've picked up my copy of On the Road and re-read random passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    True, red-blooded Americana

    The destiny is where we all go eventually. This classic stirs emotions when you feel and believe in the characters of Sal and Dean as if they are your own bretheren. We all share similar feeling even in a past that is portrayed with such vivid imagery it consumes us today, in the essence of now. Along the road we all will travel and on that road, any and every road, we find ourselves among the confusion. If you can dig loving life, dig this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    On The Road is a great book that defines the Beat generation and continues to inspire us today.

    Jack Kerouac's poetic writing style and beat language keeps the story flowing smoothly. It is easy to follow and fun to read as it keeps you interested throughout. On the Road is an adventurous story that depicts Sal Paradise's struggle to find his place in society through nonconformity. He goes on an endless roadtrip, hitchhiking, his way across America. Along the way he meets many interesting characters who represent American's diversity. This book is a classic and a must read for anyone interested in adventure and the Beatnik generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9