Customer Reviews for

On the Run

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed thriller

    Ruthless Middle Eastern business mogul Marvot demands the best and will do anything to achieve his objective. Though he hides his full agenda from Grace Archer, he orders the talented horse trainer to train the ¿Pair¿, lethal Arabian stallion and mare, but she refuses. He kills her host, the owner of an Alabama horse farm, and plans to abduct her beloved eight-year-old daughter to force her cooperation. --- On the run, Grace knows she needs help, but has doubts about turning to her ex-spouse, former CIA commando Jake Kilmer, as she blames him for the death of her father and the end of her career. Jake is willing to die to keep his beloved two females safe while Marvot is more than willing and able to accommodate him. --- This action-packed thriller starts at hyperspeed and never stops for a breath, if anything it goes even faster. The second chance at love aspects are deftly imbued into the plot as safety remains the top need of the Kilmer-Archer hierarchy. However, the key to the tale is Marvot, a malevolent villain willing to kill anyone in his way yet plays chess with his beloved son. The schism between Jake and Grace seems off kilter especially when they heat up the sands, but fans of Iris Johansen will appreciate the faster than light-speed ON THE RUN. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Tioon damaris wright

    This book is very entresting and knows how to change subjects. It went from a guy running to a girl winning a horse compatiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Over the last few years, when I've seen an Iris Johansen book I've automatically assumed it would be an Eve Duncan thriller. I was wrong about ON THE RUN, but I'm still glad I picked it up. A quick read full of passion and suspense, this book is written in the typical Iris Johansen style and is still a really good read. <BR/><BR/>Nine years ago, Grace Archer worked for the CIA under the direction of Jake Kilmer. Their job was to infiltrate the compound of Marvot, an evil kingpin who ruled El Tariq, Morocco with an iron hand. Disappoint the man once, and he might give you another chance. Do it a second time, and you'll end up dead. Jake's job was to recover something from Marvot that he prized more than anything--the Pair. Known collectively as a single unit, the Pair consisted of two white Arabian horses, a stallion and a mare, with blue eyes and destructive personalities. Their mission failed nine years ago, and Grace left the CIA--alone and pregnant. <BR/><BR/>Now she's found a home for herself and her daughter, Frankie, on a horse farm in Tallanville, Alabama. Frankie is devoted to horses, but she's also a child prodigy when it comes to playing the piano and composing. Grace, who hates to be compared to horse whisperer even though she does have a remarkable affinity with horses, is content with her new life. Until the forces she's feared for nine years, Marvot's men, come to town and tear her world apart. <BR/><BR/>Suddenly, Kilmer is there, whisking Grace and Frankie away to a farm far from Alabama, and Grace finds that the old passion is still as strong as ever. As Kilmer tries to keep his former lover and his daughter safe, he plans retribution upon Marvot--which is brought to a halt when Frankie is kidnapped and blackmailed into going back to El Tariq to work, once again, with the Pair. <BR/><BR/>ON THE RUN is a fast-paced read with lots of suspense. I agree that some cliches are used in this story, but that doesn't make it any less of an entertaining read. Iris Johansen's writing style reminds me a lot of that of James Patterson. Although Johansen's chapters are novel-length compared to Patterson's two or three-pagers, the action hurries along at a fast clip. <BR/><BR/>If you enjoy romantic suspense, you'll like ON THE RUN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Quick, Suspenseful Read

    Over the last few years, when I've seen an Iris Johansen book I've automatically assumed it would be an Eve Duncan thriller. I was wrong about ON THE RUN, but I'm still glad I picked it up. A quick read full of passion and suspense, this book is written in the typical Iris Johansen style and is still a really good read. Nine years ago, Grace Archer worked for the CIA under the direction of Jake Kilmer. Their job was to infiltrate the compound of Marvot, an evil kingpin who ruled El Tariq, Morocco with an iron hand. Disappoint the man once, and he might give you another chance. Do it a second time, and you'll end up dead. Jake's job was to recover something from Marvot that he prized more than anything--the Pair. Known collectively as a single unit, the Pair consisted of two white Arabian horses, a stallion and a mare, with blue eyes and destructive personalities. Their mission failed nine years ago, and Grace left the CIA--alone and pregnant. Now she's found a home for herself and her daughter, Frankie, on a horse farm in Tallanville, Alabama. Frankie is devoted to horses, but she's also a child prodigy when it comes to playing the piano and composing. Grace, who hates to be compared to horse whisperer even though she does have a remarkable affinity with horses, is content with her new life. Until the forces she's feared for nine years, Marvot's men, come to town and tear her world apart. Suddenly, Kilmer is there, whisking Grace and Frankie away to a farm far from Alabama, and Grace finds that the old passion is still as strong as ever. As Kilmer tries to keep his former lover and his daughter safe, he plans retribution upon Marvot--which is brought to a halt when Frankie is kidnapped and blackmailed into going back to El Tariq to work, once again, with the Pair. ON THE RUN is a fast-paced read with lots of suspense. I agree that some cliches are used in this story, but that doesn't make it any less of an entertaining read. Iris Johansen's writing style reminds me a lot of that of James Patterson. Although Johansen's chapters are novel-length compared to Patterson's two or three-pagers, the action hurries along at a fast clip. If you enjoy romantic suspense, you'll like ON THE RUN. But I do hope Ms. Johansen's next book is an Eve Duncan thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    I absolutely LOVED this book!

    This was my first introduction to Iris Johansen. I have since been gradually collecting many of her others. She writes with such passion, and this book reads like a good movie! I thought the 8-year-old girl's dialogue was a bit advanced for her age, even though Iris touted her as 'gifted', I still thought she spoke more like a teenager than an 8-year-old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Sweet!

    I love Iris Johanson even if i'm a little young, but nontheless. This book definatly wasn't her best, but it was up there. First off might i point out that in every book it's practicly the SAME plot! 'NO ONE TO TRUST' and 'Countdown' both very similar! But every book the characters differ. Plus with this one if she was such bad a-word why did she not kill them all when she had the chance!? I mean she flaunts every thing, but when it's time for the real action what does she do... NOTHING! She waits for her man friend to come help her! Jeezz! It's annoying every time! But i'm too much of a sucker to stop reading. After the first 3 pages i'm hooked. What can I say? i'm a book lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    One of Johansens Best

    I am a fan of Ms. Johansens and I have read most of her books and I must say this one is one of her best! This book starts off with a bang and holds your undivided attention until the end. I felt like I had been on the run when I finished it. The characters are well developed and believable and unlike some books I have read lately you learn to care what happens to them. I rate it high on my list of must reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Disappointed

    I am an avid reader and a fan of Iris Johansen. This book was a disappointment and I struggled to complete it. It was too unbelievable. An eight year old child played a main role. There are child prodigies but this was ridiculous. Not only was the child brilliantly talented but, her powers of communication, abilities of deduction and her level of thinking and problem solving were too unbelievable. The entire story line was 'way out there.' I think I will take a rest from Ms. Johansen for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    On the Run

    This was the first Iris Johansen book I read. It truly had me reading until the wee hours of the morning. This book is unpredictable and it has a great story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    On the Run

    This book was breathetaking. This was the first Iris Johansen book I read. This book will make you loose your mind if you have to put it down. Grace Archer is a single mother/horse whisperer, and has a chid, frankie. Frankie is an exceptional child, she has a very wide range of knowledge and can sense feelings in all people. When they become endangered, frankies father, Jake Kilmer, decides to step in. Grace is very hesitant about Kilmer. He stepped out of their lives before Frankie was born. Grace and Frankie are now constantly under supervision because Kilmer has something that a very lethal man, Marvot, needs. Grace will have to sacrifice what she wants to keep her daughter safe. After hiding, they are attacked Frankie is taken by Marvot. Grace has gone to get her, but Kilmer is desperately wanting to help her. Once Grace gives Marvot what he wants, they go to the Sahara. They are depending on a sirocco to help Grace anf Frankie. If the sirocco doesnt come. Kilmer and Grace are afraid since they will no longer be needed, he will kill them both. I hope Iris Johansen comes out with a sequel soon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Clearly Johansen's Worst.

    As a fan of her previous books, this was a tremendous disappointment. Repetitive, predictable and at times just plain boring, this is not worth the time to read. I feel guilty giving the book away knowing that someone will waste their time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Breathless suspense novel!

    This was the first book i read by Iris Johansen and immediately fell in love with her writing style. As soon as you set down to read you are sept away with the story line and characters. In a witness protective program Grace Archer and her daughter soon relize its not that 'protective'. Soon a loved one is killed and another comes in to take there place. On a hidden away farm are they truly safe? Read and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Loved it!

    This book is my favorite! I couldn't put it down. I was up till 6 in the morning reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ABSORBING LISTENING

    Accomplished actress Jennifer Van Dyck has numerous stage, film, and television appearances to her credit. On Broadway she was seen in such hit plays as Hedda Gabler and Dancing At Lughnasa. Her TV roles include those on Law & Order, Ed, and Spin City. Woody Allen wanted her for Bullets Over Broadway and now, luckily, we can enjoy her sterling narration of On The Run. She limns the dogged determination of a mother who will do whatever is necessary to protect her child, and the courage of a woman forced to stand alone against evil. When horse trainer and single mom Grace Archer and her daughter, Frankie, find that their cover is blown, Grace is faced with some daunting options. After having been under CIA protection on an Alabama horse farm, she finds that the CIA wants payback - using Grace and Frankie as bait to capture Marvot, a thoroughly evil Middle Eastern kingpin. Now, Grace isn't simply a horse trainer it's almost as if she has a bond with the equine world. She doesn't call herself a horse whisperer but she is capable of teaching horses to do some pretty marvelous things. And, that's exactly what Marvot wants her to do - teach his Arabian stallion and mare to take him to desert hidden treasure. Grace has nowhere to turn except to Jake Kilmer, a former commando and Frankie's father. But, can she trust even him? Johansen has fashioned a wide screen suspense story that makes absorbing listening. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2